We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again at this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would stay again at this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than planned and checked in early with no problems. Room was quiet, neat, & clean. I left my favorite nightgown at the hotel. I am very happy that their housekeeping department saved it and it is on its way back through FedEx. Thank-you Jackie!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    167
    70
    20
    15
See reviews for
91
81
40
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong at a Marriott. They just upgraded TV sets to all HD Channels. finally. VERY DIFFICULT to get to. In plain sight, but confusing roads. Very comfortable bed. Polite staff, problem with AMEX. Manager came out and solved problem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel must have been carpet cleaned recently as the smell was very strong in both the reception area and our room.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

This hotel is not close by Jersey Garden Mall and requires to take a shuttle back to the airport (P4) to then catch a shuttle to the mall.

The shuttle to the airport is scheduled to leave every 30 minutes. However, that day the bus driver was not reliable when we needed to go to the airport to catch our flight (and we had booked the departure with the shuttle the night before). On Aug. 26, we had to wait 45 minutes for him and this made our international travel extremely stressful. The front desk staff call him repeatedly and were as helpful as they could be. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! Clean and comfortable. Right across the street from the airport yet I never heard any aircrafts taking off or landing. All 3 Marriott hotels (Courtyard, Fairfield Inn and Suites and Springhill Suites sit side by side. Each have their breakfast buffets but the on site bistro was located in the Courtyard. A small walk beautiful urban style lounge. Spacious and inviting. Flat screen tvs, Internet access, really nice ambiance. The food was pricey but delicious. The rooms have an urban design and could accommodate 2 adult, 2 children or 1 more adult in a roll out bed. If you have a car I strongly suggest you drive to Newark Penn Station and park in the public garage. $20 all day and staff is on duty watching your vehicle. If the garage doors are down when you return to you car, don't panic *as we did* go around to the side door on Raymond Street and ring the door bell so you can be let into the parking garage. Secured building. Get a bus card for the PATH, 2 or more people's fare can be or on one card. Scan it, walk through, pass your card back to the next person. The PATH will take you to Journal Station where you can transfer to go to Penn Station New York, or you can stay on the train and take i it to the WTC. This is the best way to travel to NYC if you have a car. The downside of this hotel. ... getting there off the Highway. Atrocious! No markers to say exit at such and such. You are driving and your gps will suddenly say "your destination is on the right". WT....? I had to swiftly cut across 3 lanes, slow down into oncoming traffic from the rear and exit. Risky and horrible! Took me 2 days to train my brain to get it right on the 3rd try.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

took the shuttle from the airport. good room, comfortable enough. sitting area. microwave in room.
what was woefully lacking were restaurants. there were I believe 3 or 4 similar properties, ours had an express shot selling frozen fair. we took 2 pizzas for the microwave for lunch, they were dreadful.
at one of the sister properties they had something more for serving dinner. it was a little better. but very limited selection. the seating was to the side of the lobby.
hindsight being 20/20 we would have ordered in from another restaurant.
it served the need. we took a cruise after the one night from the bayonne dock. the shuttle driver solicited us for the drive to the airport. he charged 45.00 but worked out fine. traffic bad over the bridge.

Room Tip: nothing specific. breakfast good however seating was limited and very very crowded, it was include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When we arrived we went to check out the room before unpacking. I thought I had booked a room with a fridge and microwave and there was not either in the room, so I go to the desk and they tell me, only their suites have a fridge and microwave. The man at the desk says " not to worry, we will put you in a suite for the same price as the first room." Great! When we woke up the next morning, I noticed a few ants on the desk where I was sitting, so we hull everything out of that room and load it in the car. On our way out, I stop at the desk again and tell them of the ants, the girl was very good, and says " we have another suite available, we will move you to that one." The third we had was perfect, no problems at all. The breakfast was amazing, hot and cold food to choose from, very good coffee! Pool and hot tub area very nice too. Hotel shuttle was very good... Nothing bad to say. Everyone at the Fairfield Inn & Suites at Liberty International was very accommodating and very friendly and helpful.... Would stay again! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Marriott hotels are on the top of my list for a lot of reasons. This was a unplanned stop over, it was easy to check in, large, clean room and right at the airport for an easy exit the next morning. The bed was excellent compared to the hotel the previous night.

Room Tip: Stick with one chain as much as you can, you will reap the benefits!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience whether staying 1 night, before or after your flight, or several nights as an alternative to the New York City high prices. Boasting 162 Guest rooms with 80 suites, you are bound to find the right room to meet your need. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet that waffles, eggs, breakfast meats yogurt, and much more. Let's not forget the coffee service available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer commentary Wi-Fi, and a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. When you arrive at your room, you will greeted with colorful rooms that are well appointed and offer you a flat screen TV that allows you to review over 50 channels from ESPN to Showtime and much more, an in room-coffee maker, large desktop workspace and a comfortable bed to relax and recharge yourself for the next day. If you are looking for a little exercise, check out our on-site fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights and our indoor pool and spa. Additionally the hotel can assist you with a safe area to jog if you need to run in the open air. If you need to do some laundry, we have 2 options for you. We offer both valet laundry and we also offer self-service laundry on our 1st Floor. And if you need a snack or a soft drink, check out "the Market" next to the front desk. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. If you are traveling to the area for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport is the place to stay for a great nights rest and even better service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.