We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting the WOW factor right now.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Newark
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Getting the WOW factor right now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at this location quite a number of times and they are really improving this location with amazing service, nice rooms with wi-fi now. However the wi-fi is not free which is always a disappointment for me. They have renovated their lounge and restaurant very nicely, with excellent food. I had the classic French onion soup which is a meal itself. The staff are extremely friendly with fast service. If you're just overnighting in Newark I would recommend this Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    163
    69
    19
    15
See reviews for
88
78
36
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We checked in late to the Marriott Newark Liberty Airport hotel on Sunday night. It was past mid-night and both our 5 and 4 year old were asleep. Somehow JQ awoke long enough to walk in on her own, but we had to carry YV.

Since it was so late, I parked the rented SUV up front and told the check-in lady that I was going to do a couple of trips to get all of our stuff up to the room, and then go return the car. She said it would be fine to leave out front for a while.

We had a spacious double full bed room, and they had already pre-set up the crib we requested. I placed YV in the crib and she just kept sleeping away! That was tremendously helpful of the hotel staff... if we had to wait for someone to bring in and then setup... that might have awoken her.

The rental car (Avis) return center was just a short drive from the hotel, and no one else was returning a vehicle. One reason I like to do things really early in the morning or extremely late night is because it all goes so much faster! A quick Air-Tram ride back to Terminal A... and I was ready to get to the Marriott hotel shuttle. But it was a bit confusing with the signs pointing arrows back up above the baggage claim area for "hotel shuttles"... so I ran out to the Taxi stand, and asked an attendant... who was extremely helpful. I pointed to the Marriott hotel across from the parking lot and said that's the shuttle I need. To wit: he replied that I go down one level via a narrow staircase, and then walk out to the curbside where there are signs for the Marriott shuttle.

A call, and quick few minutes response and I was back on my way to the hotel again.

In the morning... I woke up the family around 4:30 am... and we went back downstairs, and already the shuttle was in full force! That's another great thing about this hotel... the 24 hour shuttle bus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I got stuck here, instead of the Marriott coming back from a trip to NYC. I took a late train from Penn then a early flight back to San Diego and stayed here overnight. This place is another good value. I'm astonished at how well Marriott has gotten these places tuned up. Per another review I just posted the consistency in the Marriott properties is pretty amazing. I have stayed at Fairfields in the past and this one felt a bit more upscale. Coffee and croissants pretty good. Now if they could only get EWR to fly faster!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was extremely difficult to find. My iPhone GPS could not find it. There are very confusing entry ramps to freeways all the way around Newark and the hotel is behind another hotel with zero signs showing it exists, excluding tiny road signs evident in the daytime only. I called the hotel and a very helpful gentleman stayed on the phone with me the whole time. That made things much easier for me. He said, he had to do it all the time. The rooms were interesting. All suites with small living rooms and separate bedrooms. It would have been useful if traveling with a family. The sofa made into a bed. The bath was okay. The towels were below average, but it was very clean. The sheets were not as soft as I like, but there were decent pillows, a good TV, and lots of space. This hotel has no restaurant, except for an okay, free breakfast bar. I had to order pizza from some place in Elizabeth? I think that was the city. It took an hour and the person on the phone was extremely rude from the first words he said. The hotel needs to let someone else have that business. This hotel would do better if they had signs - BIG signs, anywhere before the turn to their location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Fairfield Inn three times a year. This is a great location and easy to get to. It is convenient to Newark and the airport.
The staff is always nice. I usually check in late at night, and they make the end of the long day enjoyable.
The rooms are your typical FI rooms, but still very nice and they have a good work space and desk.
The breakfast is included in the room rate. They keep the breakfast dining room very clean and well stocked. The waffles are great.
The parking lot is a secure lot. You are in Newark....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a free shuttle bus from station P4 at Newark airport. Use it!! If you are on a fly drive, renting a car from the airport, make sure you research the exact route in advance. The address could not be found on the sat nav. You can see the hotel from the roads around the airport, it's really not far, but the route is via an extremely complex system of feeder roads, one way roads, highway intersections and round an old scrap yard. All this, in the dark and for the first time, can be intimidating. We visited the hotel for a second time (because it was very good) from a slightly different direction, during the day, and still found it very hard to find. If you miss one single turn, you can be miles away before getting to turn back!!

That said, what a budget priced gem of a hotel when you get there. Very clean, modern standard rooms, dark conditions and quiet. All you need really in an airport hotel. For £68 we had a family of four room and as much breakfast as we could help ourselves to in the morning. There is even a spa and pool, but we didn't get a chance due to time constraints. We really were amazed at the price. Also, we used this place to park our car while we spent a weekend in NYC at another hotel in Manhattan. It was only 15 dollars a day, compared to the stress of driving into NYC and parking at as much as fifty dollars a day.

However, do not take the taxi from the hotel. Not directly a hotel employee, but he fleeced us for a one way trip of 100 dollars. Ok, there are toll charges but still, terrible value. Go instead to the airport and get the train to Penn Station and thereafter the subway. Much cheaper. 12 dollars 50 cents per person one way.

Above all, I would stay here again if I was using Newark airport.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Even though this hotel is close to Newark Airport, it's difficult to find - more so at night. Take the wrong turn and you will end up in downtown Newark. And using GPS did not help us navigate here either. Hotel staff had to verbally walk us through how to get here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.