We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Airport Fairfield - another great value stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another Airport Fairfield - another great value stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

To be honest, this was deja vu with any other fairfield i have stayed at near other US airports, but that is not a bad thing. When looking for a single night stay before or after a trip, knowing that i am going to get good value comfortable accomodation is very helpful.

For this hotel, they have a free shuttle pick up every 30 minutes from the Airtrain (at 15 and 45 past the hour on the day I arrived), and back to the airport at the same frequency 24 hours (on 00 and 30). I was particuarly impressed by the driver on the way back who spotted a big traffic jam and found an alternative route to avoid the delays.

The front desk check-in was easy, the room clean and large, and the bed comfortable. It was perhaps a bit noisier than some other hotels (close to the freeway), but nothing that was a problem for me. All in all a very good option considering it was 50% of the price of other airport hotels

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    172
    72
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
85
43
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night flying out of Newark. This is a no frills hotel but met our purpose as a place to park our car, sleep & take the shuttle to the airport. The rooms were clean, property up to date and the staff was very nice. As other travelers have mentioned it is very difficult to get to, our GPS took us to a totally different area but reading others reviews I expected that it might happen. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel was an exceptional value if your trying to stay near New York or by Newark airport. I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival and it did not disappoint. Very spacious and clean and the complimentary breakfast was tasty as well.

I would like to also note how great and helpful the staff was. They were helpful in guiding me to the hotel (as its a trek to get to) and local eateries.

A great, great experience overall!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is excellent. Breakfast area not quite large enough, but one finds somewhere to sit. There is not an address that can activate a GPS and there are several quick turns to make on the highway, but the desk staff was great about guiding us in when we called, the first time we stayed there. We have stayed several times since, and it is really a pleasant place and good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had to stand for over half an hour in the cold waiting for the hotel shuttle. One lady had had to wait 45 minutes. In the time we waited there were 2 shuttles for each of the 2 hotels next door, Courtyard & Spring Hill Suits. When it did come the driver was surly and unhelpful. he desk clerk was not much better.
The hotel is clean & comfortable with an adequate continental breakfast. The suite was very well designed. It had one flat screen TV in the lounge area & another in the bedroom area. In the evening there is food available to purchase & which can be heated in the room microwave but if you want to eat in a restaurant you have to go to the Courtyard hotel next door. Their Bistro closes at 10pm. Now that I know that I could get any one of 3 Marriott shuttles I would definitely stay there again.I would have given it a good rating if not for the Shuttle problems.
I would not leave a car there because of the poor external security.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Although this hotel is not within the airport, it provides a regular and free shuttle service to the airport - runs about every 30 minutes. Hotel is very clean with extremely comfortable beds. desk staff are very helpful and courteous. free breakfast provided but was unable to partake as it only is available from 0700hrs till 0900hrs (later at weekends). No restaurant in the hotel, free courtesy bus provided by restaurants in nearby Newark are well worth making use of. (Especially the Spanish Tavern) Subject of a separate report. My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here and would not hesitate in returning.. Free wi if throughout the hotel and free use of the computers at reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Back again, 4th time since Feb review (“Great Stay.Hard to Find. GPS/Drive Hints”). Why do I come back? Yes, a very good value. More than that, it’s the pleasant, helpful staff.

Of particular note this time was supervisor Herbert Perez, who loaned a charger (his own) for my laptop. And Jorge Martinez, from Maintenance. Working in a hallway, Mr. Martinez made sure that guests were not inconvenienced. Late when there was a short line at the front desk, he greeted waiting guests and looked for ways to help while desk staff accommodated guests asking lots of questions.

Difference this time was room. Stayed in King Suite for two adults. Fully enclosed sleeping area worked well with one late night person, one early riser. On the small side, but layout makes it work.

What hasn’t changed is how hard this Fairfield can be to find.

Take Exit 14 from NJ Turnpike toward I-78.
Exiting toll booths, bear RIGHT to I-78.
Take 2nd ramp on LEFT for Rtes 1-9 South toward Rtes 21-22.
Then stay RIGHT, still following Rtes 1-9 South.
Slow down on ramp – to preserve your car’s suspension and watch for Fairfield Inn, between Springhill and Courtyard on the right.
Turn RIGHT after Courtyard, and cut through Courtyard parking lot (again to save your suspension).

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask if you need in-room microwave. Microwave also available in breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience whether staying 1 night, before or after your flight, or several nights as an alternative to the New York City high prices. Boasting 162 Guest rooms with 80 suites, you are bound to find the right room to meet your need. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet that waffles, eggs, breakfast meats yogurt, and much more. Let's not forget the coffee service available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer commentary Wi-Fi, and a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. When you arrive at your room, you will greeted with colorful rooms that are well appointed and offer you a flat screen TV that allows you to review over 50 channels from ESPN to Showtime and much more, an in room-coffee maker, large desktop workspace and a comfortable bed to relax and recharge yourself for the next day. If you are looking for a little exercise, check out our on-site fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights and our indoor pool and spa. Additionally the hotel can assist you with a safe area to jog if you need to run in the open air. If you need to do some laundry, we have 2 options for you. We offer both valet laundry and we also offer self-service laundry on our 1st Floor. And if you need a snack or a soft drink, check out "the Market" next to the front desk. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. If you are traveling to the area for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport is the place to stay for a great nights rest and even better service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.