We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Airport Hotel & Parking Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Red Hook, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Good Airport Hotel & Parking Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel before a very early flight the next day from Newark Airport, and kept our car on the premises for 5 days until we returned - all this for less than $200. For the purpose that we used it, this was a very good value. We were looking for alternatives to our usual choice, the Sheraton on Frontage Road, which has been going downhill steadily and which is now no longer part of that franchise. With the Fairfield Inn, we were not disappointed, but as another contributor wrote - you have to understand what you're getting.
The Fairfield is one of three Marriott properties (the others being a Courtyard and Spring Hill Suites) located next to one another on a piece of land encircled by exit and entrance ramps for Rts. 78 and 1&9. Getting in and out is interesting. Before travelling, we reviewed the map in satellite or street view to get an idea of the traffic flow because there is little time to react once you're on the road.
The hotel itself is very nice - recently redone with pleasant, bright decor. Our room was large with a separate area for a desk, couch and 2nd TV. The bathroom was a good size and well-lit. The noise level was very quiet considering our location to the airport and the surrounding highways. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The biggest challenge was food. The Fairfield only provides breakfast and access to take-out menus. Due to the location, there were no nearby restaurants. We had read from another reviewer that they walked over to the Courtyard, which is what we did also. There is no sidewalk between the properties so you had to walk on the driveways around the hotels. While the walk was short, there were blind corners which made us feel vulnerable to traffic going around them, especially at night. When we got to the Courtyard, we were disappointed to find their Bistro menu was extremely modest. It was barely adequate for dinner. The next time we use the Fairfield, we'll pack our own sandwiches and drinks as they have a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room.
The only other disappointment was the shuttle to the airport. Going out was no issue, but coming back we waited nearly an hour for a service that was supposed to run every half hour. What was also surprising was that there was a separate shuttle for the Courtyard and Spring Hill, but we were told that we could not take that due to liability issues. You would think the 3 Marriott properties would've coordinated this service for all the hotels. Regardless, we eventually did get back to the hotel and our car was safe and sound in the Fairfield's gated and secured parking lot.

Room Tip: We had a room on one of the top floors. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    182
    78
    20
    16
See reviews for
96
91
44
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I do recommend this hotel but you need to know exactly what you are getting here, and what not, before you come. The room I had was very spacious and very quiet. Much more quiet than your average New York hotel room. Airport grade windows managed to keep out most noise from the two freeways nearby and airport operations. Rooms are also very well insulated internally so never heard a peep from my neighbors or the hallway. The room was well equipped with a desk and a good work chair, comfortable, firm enough bed, and generous bathroom. Good, neutral style. Internet service was good. Breakfast was typical for this kind of hotel: toast, English muffins, boiled eggs, butter, jam, coffee. No more and no less. Staff were reasonably polite and helpful. So, as a value hotel near New York, highly recommended.
BUT: you need to understand where this place is and what that means. This is in no-man's land near the airport. There is NOTHING there. No restaurants (except in the next-door Courtyard), no grocery, liquor, book or DVD shops. Nothing. Nearest shopping is the airport but of course very limited. Downtown Newark is a distressed area, the most unpleasant I have ever walked through in the US. The only shopping that is safe or even of interest is inside Newark Penn station. All above mentioned shopping is available there and it is safe. Better than at the airport, actually, but also much costlier to get to and from. There is no room service at the Fairfield but you can walk over to the Courtyard Inn and get dinner there. You can carry food and drink back to your room if you like. Food and drink OK. Transport to and from the hotel is either by shuttle bus to the airport or by cab. There are no other options. As mentioned by others, driving around by car is not for the faint of heart. Can't recommend it. To get to Manhattan, cab it to Newark Penn (15 minutes from hotel, ~20 dollars fare). From there to the World Trade Center, it's about 20 minutes if train service is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Quebec
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Since we were going on a 12-day cruise out of Bayonne and driving in from Montreal, we needed to arrive the night before so as to ensure getting on ship by noon. We're faithful to Marriott family of hotels (points!) and found out this one located northeast of Newark airport.
We had read that it was difficult to find the entrance to the hotel, as it is located in a three-hotel island (all Marriott) surrounded by multi-layed roads and highways. So we google-mapped it so as to work w the clockwise direction of the traffic around this island and thus, managed to get there properly. We met charming and well-informed reception staff who gave us a nicely appointed suite. As, for a few dollars more, we had signed up for their "Park Here Fly There" promotion, reception desk staff confirmed that we were thus entitled to use their secured fenced-in hotel parking area for up to 14 free days. We gps'd our way for dinner across the bridge to Bayonne (a short trip that was 1.65 toll each way, but also allowed us to find out about the Pier). After a healthy breakfast, and a brisk walk around the complex, we took a cab to the Pier (50$). Upon return, took a cab to the hotel, desk clerk pulled out form confirming parking arrangements, opened the gate and off we went...very content with this choice. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask the staff if you're sensitive to noise: they're very helpful to accomodate needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elroy, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great remodeled Fairfield Inn room and lobby. Location is a royal pain. No restaurant on site and nothing in walking distance. Free airport suttle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We only stayed one night in the hotel as part of a park and fly package. We booked the hotel using "123stay.com", which gave us one night stay at the hotel plus 10 days free parking in the hotel parking lot. The lot was very secure and our car was safe and sound upon our return from our vacation. The hotel was newly renovated and it was very bright and clean, and we got a good nights sleep. The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the airport and they provide a free shuttle to & from. The hotel is rather well hidden and was difficult to find. We used our GPS and did OK. We met other people who got lost and road around in circles (for about one hour) even though they also used a GPS. I would never try to get to this hotel without a GPS. Now the big negative-- Coming home we had to wait 45 min. + for the free shuttle to pick us up. As we stood waiting, we watched every other hotel's free shuttle come & go 3-4 times! I called the hotel twice and got the same uncaring reply. "Don't worry it'll be there soon." When it's late at night (10:30 pm) and you're tired from a long flight, you just want to get to your car and go home. It was frustrating knowing they were only 5 min. away and made us wait 45+ minutes. No reasons given and no apologies either. They just didn't care.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I was in need of a reasonably priced hotel room at a decent price in December 2011. The Fairfield Inn fit the bill. Although I didn't have a reservation, the front desk clerk agreed to match the Orbitz price. There was a free shuttle to the airport. The room was clean and well-appointed. I would definitely stay there again if I ever have an early morning flight out of Newark. The hotel is very hard to find which the front desk clerks recognize. They ask that you call when you're nearby so that they can direct you to the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Room:
Stayed in a King room on 4th floor. Amazingly quiet given proximity to airport. Funcational but under-sized sleeping area. Oddly over-sized bathroom, . Comfortable with soft, clean linens and assortment of pillows.

Food:
Breakfast included waffle station, hard-boiled eggs, hot oatmeal, egg/cheese/meat sandwiches in a fridge with a microwave for reheating. Juice machine has typically watery output. There is a small pantry with packaged food that can be prepared in the in-room microwave.

Other Amenities:
The fitness room, pool and hot tub are on first floor, without a changing area. Bring a cover-up. The pool is small and shallow. Extra towels are available pool-side A suitable distraction for kids, not enough for actual swimming.

Price:
A few days in advance, the lowest room rate was $169. The rate dropped to $99 on arrival day. Recommend checking the hotel’s website at the last minute to see if a lower rate is available.

Getting There:
First, if you are renting a car from the airport – WAIT until the morning. Take the hotel shuttle, stay over, then go back and pick up the car in the morning. The drive to the hotel requires a lot of weaving across traffic. Not worth the stress.

If you have your own car, or absolutely must rent before going to hotel - use GPS to get to

100 FRONTAGE ROAD (thank you Leo R for posting this first)

Then call to hotel to guide you the rest of the way. Before the trip, I STRONGLY recommend using Google Maps – Satellite to familiarize yourself with the spaghetti bowl of highways and how the 3 Marriott’s (Fairfield Inn, Courtyard and Springhill) sit on a island plopped in the middle.

When you turn off the highway, turn right and cut through the Courtyard parking lot to save wear on car suspension. Besides, the road around the Courtyard is creepy at night. As soon as you turn, you will see the Fairfield ahead of you. A right then a quick left will take you to the front entrance.

Would be a 5 star if they could get bigger signs, preferably with lighting, and not send cars around dark side street.

Room Tip: Sleeping area in King room is small. Bathroom oddly over-sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport

Address: 618 Rts 1 & 9 S, Newark, NJ 07114
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 1.5 Mile drive from the Newark Liberty International Airport, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport hotel offers an exceptional experience whether staying 1 night, before or after your flight, or several nights as an alternative to the New York City high prices. Boasting 162 Guest rooms with 80 suites, you are bound to find the right room to meet your need. Take advantage of our facilities that include our complimentary hot breakfast buffet that waffles, eggs, breakfast meats yogurt, and much more. Let's not forget the coffee service available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. We also offer commentary Wi-Fi, and a 24 hour a day scheduled shuttle service to and from the airport. When you arrive at your room, you will greeted with colorful rooms that are well appointed and offer you a flat screen TV that allows you to review over 50 channels from ESPN to Showtime and much more, an in room-coffee maker, large desktop workspace and a comfortable bed to relax and recharge yourself for the next day. If you are looking for a little exercise, check out our on-site fitness center with cardio equipment and free weights and our indoor pool and spa. Additionally the hotel can assist you with a safe area to jog if you need to run in the open air. If you need to do some laundry, we have 2 options for you. We offer both valet laundry and we also offer self-service laundry on our 1st Floor. And if you need a snack or a soft drink, check out "the Market" next to the front desk. If you need transportation to Downtown Newark or NY City, the nearest subway station is at Liberty Airport, which offers easy access to Newark city center and Manhattan. If you are traveling to the area for business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Newark Liberty International Airport is the place to stay for a great nights rest and even better service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport Hotel
Fairfield Inn Newark
Fairfield Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Newark Liberty International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.