We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Israel
1 review
“Good value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

it was a good value for our money, it is good service and good location when you have to fly back. the hotel is located very good to services and purchasing goods before going back home from the USA. Breakfast is only satisfactory, but the rooms and service to transfer to air port is very good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    191
    124
    62
    72
See reviews for
157
166
69
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Would I stay here again? NEVER!!! My husband and I stayed here as this was the most reasonable priced hotel we could find coming from Denmark and England where this hotel price is the average price of a plain boutique hotel back home.
The room we stayed in is darkly decorated so everything looked like it came out of a 70s movie. The room was so stuffy at night that we had to resort to leaving the ventilation on all night so we could get some fresh air. We asked why there was not internal ventikation or any opened windows and we were told that hotels in the USA can only be called hotels if there are no opening windows. I found this explaination strange. The TV remote did not change channels so we were stuck with the same station all the time. The air conditioning just blew out cooled air in front of it and did not actually cool the temprature in the room down. In saying this, the bed was spacious for both of us and soft but not too soft.
Additionally, in the room, I found some old dried snut under the bed. The toilets were clean and basic but I always feared stepping on the carpets in the bedroom as the all brown/black shades used in the room made it all look dirty and tired. The toilet paper was placed behind your head so it might be difficult for people with joint problems to reach this. Oh, there are no shower gels so bring your own if you do not like using soap.
The lift always took what seemed like forever to come so sometimes we just ran up or down the stairs as this was always quicker than taking the lifts.
The card keys to let one into room did not work properly and staff kept blaming us saying it was because we put the cards with our plastic cards. This was so untrue as sometimes from fixing the key fob downstairs to going back upstairs, the cards would not work and we had to go back to reception to have it fixed again. Other times staf said they stopped the cards from working because we left the hotel building. In fact the cards would sometimes stop working between going for breakfast and returning to the room again. In the end, some member of staff came by and told us that he had told the owners that the key cards and locks needed changing but the management had chosen not to change them.
The hotel location is such that it is quiet at night so you should get a quiet night sleep in comparison to staying in Manhattan where you might be kept up by the noise of the cleaning services at night cleaning the streets.
There is an efficient shuttle service that would take you into Newark Penn station but only 7am - 11am daily and on returning only at 7pm - 11pm. Sometimes the 11pm one may not show up as we had 1st hand experience of this. The staff were nice though and asked for the shuttle service to pick us up later that night. On another night when we could not make the 11pm time and came a little later, they were kind enough to send out one compliementary.
There is a 25 dollar charge if the shuttle takes you to the nearest mall. Considering the location has no shops and nothing happening around the hotel, perharps this should be complimentary and without charge.
Breakfast was very, very, very basic. We had just been at Radissions in Stockholm and the difference was clear. The breakfast fruits at Best Western Hotel were old and tired. We never tried the supper menu as we did not feel safe eating there just because of how it all looked. Staff at the restaurant we attentive and the breakfast lady was helpful.
If you want a cheap place and do not care about breathing at night, opulence or aesthetics then this is okay. If you have just one or 2 nights and can put up with the grips people have written about the hotel, then come here, otherwise, spend additional 50 - 100 dollars a night and stay somewhere nicer and more central.

Room Tip: Not sure if you should come here unless you want to save money on the costly hotels in New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whatever you do, stay anywhere but Best Western Plus Newark Airport West. It was so bad, I thought, "Are they in bankruptcy? The staff has better things to do than work. Talk to their co-workers; check their phones. The most attentive I observed, was Marriott as they had about 10 vans to pick up their guests in the 40 minutes I waited to get to the hotel, which is exactly 7 minutes from the pick up. I stay in a lot of hotels. This was by far the worst experience I have EVER had.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At check-in, I had to wait a little while the front desk person finished with a Spanish family. He seemed to be able to put them at ease and get them smiling after looking concerned. I just needed a clean, comfortable hotel room in which I could get some work done and go to sleep. The decor was more attractive than anticipated; the high-speed internet served my needs; the bathroom was relatively clean; and the bed was very comfortable. Perhaps I will check out the fitness center and bar next time with more time available.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for a short stay prior to leaving for a cruise out of Bayonne, NJ. The hotel has a lounge and limited menu for convenience. Limited resturant or activity choices nearby. Timely shuttle service to the Port. Staff in the resturant/lounge responsive. Basic room set up but clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our plane out of Newark was cancelled due to weather. United Airlines left us with little guidance. After several hours and several phone calls we choose this Best Western. It was the cheapest price at about $154 not counting taxes.

A Best Western shuttle did pick you up from the airport at a designated spot. This hotel is located in the industrial heartland of America. The weather was rainy and grey. It made me appreciate where we lived.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We opened our room and what a pleasant surprise. A large clean room with two double beds with a whirlpool greeted us. The beds were comfy and that's all you could ask for. Our view was of an industrial parking lot.

Forget about walking as a major road soon greets you. The nearest restaurant (The B.W. grill did not open until 4:00 P.M.) was a short shuttle away, to a Wyndham diner. We did meet another couple who used the BW shuttle to get to Newark proper for a train to NYC. For them, staying here made sense.

The BW Grill did serve drinks and mostly fried food. A large TV entertained people. Due to the vicinity of this hotel, we did feel "trapped." Overall, considering the circumstances, it was a pleasant room.

Room Tip: Remember, unless you have a car or want to take a shuttle, you are fairly isolated at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not plush but nicer than expected. Good respite for traveling between Phoenix, AZ & Germany.
Rooms were large, bed was comfortable, staff was pleasant & helpful, food was good, van driver very helpful, price was right. Had we not booked this room, we would have been frantically searching for some lodging as our Phoenix plane did not arrive at Newark Airport until after our plane to Berlin departed. Staying overnight bot going & returning allowed us to get nervous about connections being missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. Guests can also take advantage of our "Park and Fly" package where you can stay one night and park a car for up to 10 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.