We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as Prior Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Highlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as Good as Prior Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The room was clean and breakfast adequate. Shuttle to the airport was fine. I would not trust my car to Best Western nor believe what their staff says as they did not fulfill what was promised. The representative at the desk misplaced my bags when he indicated he would put them in my vehicle as he would not give me my key once I turned it on. This was not a positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    230
    140
    75
    77
See reviews for
178
191
82
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. The hotel has been redone and they did a very nice job. The rooms are nice with a clean firm bed. Showers are low flow but they get you clean. Wifi is slow whenever the hotel is full, but in the middle of the day it is very fast. The front desk staff is very friendly and will do whatever they can to help you. The hotel is located back an industrial road, but very close to Newark airport, and about 15 minutes from Manhattan. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

They did mess up my online reservation, and they really don't pay attention to room requests until you get there to ask what's up with getting what you requested. But seriously, the bed was the softest hotel bed, the service was pleasant, breakfast was regular american breakfast, and everywhere was just really clean. Don't expect any window views, it's jersey I guess, doesn't matter because the rooms are great inside. The airport shuttle was ok, I didn't think the driver was pleasant but maybe because it was 1am, and at other hotels they bring your bags up to the front desk for you but I had to get mine out of the back of the shuttle. The only major problem I had was that the cleaning crew starts early and when they vacuum the hallways you can hear that in the rooms, no sound proof, and you can hear people talking out in the hallway. So bring ear muffs and you'll have a really nice stay :) I would stay again.

Room Tip: High floor less noise, corner for long window and sunlight, Book on the phone not online, online the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room itself wasn't bad, but the surroundings looked like a scene out of a "I Am Legend" and getting there was terrifying! I called before booking to make sure their shuttle ran late at night and was told it did. I was coming from Princeton and just needed a place to stay before catching a plane in the morning. I asked whether to get off the NJ Transit train at the Newark Airport or Newark Penn Station and they recommended Penn Station. However, they didn't tell me that there was a $12.50 fee for being picked up there until I was on my way out of the station. Nor did they tell me that it would take at least 15 - 20 mins to get back to the hotel or that I would have to wait outside on the street surrounded by rather scary individuals. Thank goodness there were 2 beat cops set up outside the door of the station the whole time I was there. They also told me to wait on the wrong side of the station since that side was closed at 1 AM. Newark Penn Station looks like it would be a scary place to visit during the day, but it was terrifyingly deserted down on by the tracks at 1 AM. I wasn't thrilled to not only pay the shuttle fee but also the additional train expense to go further only to have such a harrowing experience when I was already exhausted! The next day when I asked for their corporate number they gave me a wrong number that actually seemed like some sort of con. Room itself was nice and clean as well. The bed was comfortable, but I made the mistake of looking out the window and was so unsettled by the abandoned, rundown building and garbage in the street that I barricaded my door for the night! I can't believe I spent over $100 for this!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed 1 night. hotel room was great and new.staff were realy helpful. they provide free parking. stayed on last floor. bed was big and comfort. water pressure can be a little stronger in the shower.
breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: ask for 6 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff at this Best Western went out of their way to make sure my 2 unplanned 2 night stay in Newark was as comfortable as possible. I was stuck in Newark for 2 days due to a major snowstorm on the east coast and flights were cancelled. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that has to stopover. Rates were good and included a nice buffet breakfast. Apparently, there is a better rate if you book in advance online too.

Room Tip: I think all room are large and have a nice sitting area but it could be because I had a King size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western while visiting New York. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast area was fine, very busy but the attendant was trying to keep up with the crowd. They should cook the scrambled longer they were very watery and clean the counter and table more often with a clean cloth.The front desk staff were very nice and help us. We used the shuttle to get to the Penn Station and traveled on the Path train, you can get either to World Trade Center or at 33th Street. The only inconvenient is you have to pay again to get in the New York subway. The shuttle system is effective except every time people were running to get in and we had to wait for the next shuttle. The drivers are driving little too fast. The hotel was busy with students. Driving there was fine with the GPS. This hotel is a good option if you want to visit New York City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. Guests can also take advantage of our "Park and Fly" package where you can stay one night and park a car for up to 10 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.