We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good place to stay near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March 2013, and it is a great place to stay if you are needing somewhere near the airport. staff are very helpful. The shuttle to and from the airport was great and very regular, and they also dropped us off at Penn station so we could travel into Manhattan for the day and picked us up later. The room was just what we needed- comfortable bed and huge bathroom, and as we had an early flight they gave us an 'express breakfast' of tea, coffee and muffins.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    215
    135
    71
    73
See reviews for
171
184
80
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel looked brand new-- The interior design of the space was very nice. However, the bed was horrible and caved in the middle. There were switches on the wall that did not hook up to the lights so you had to walk into the dark room and root around for a lamp. Same thing in the bathroom, which I think is even more annoying if you try to get up in the middle of the night-- The light switch is clear in the back of the narrow bathroom. There was a tiny shower stall instead of a bathtub sized shower. No mirror or storage of any kind in the bedroom.

In the morning I had to ask directions to a location about 4 miles away. The attendant's response was, "Don't you have a GPS?" Not the answer i was looking for. Eventually he printed out directions for me, but it took some time to get the help we were looking for. I would not stay here again. for $100, I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was great, however there was absolutely no wifi service to speak of, could never access the internet. The shuttle drivers do not know what a red light is, ran multiple lights on every trip we made with them. One was very agressive and angry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here at the Best Western by the Airport , they didn't have our room but not only upgraded us to a junior suite but gave us a discount. now to get the little stuff out the way, the hot water worked but took a little time , the jacuzzi jets did not work( bit hey we had a regular room) and the ironing board was old, but the room was AWESOME room service stayed late to turnover the beds(rar) the breakfast was good the restaurant was good the barkeep IVY made these Shamrockers (her recipe) and it ROCKED. the shuttle guys only charged us for a one way trip. the only other issue was the area was around a industrial area so it took away from a buildinng that had great upkeep inside and out and ALL Staff(super rare) were good too . so we will stay here again soon i am impressed , Keep it up guys KUDOS

Room Tip: the shuttle runs free till 1100 then again from 5-11 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I appreciate the quiet atmosphere and excellent service. The staff at this location are very helpful, accommodating, and willing to please. This is my second stay a this establishment, I most likely will stay at this location again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a reasonable choice if you need to stay near Newark airport. The room was clean and comfortable, though a bit dark and several of the lamps did not work. The hotel itself is slightly odd and dated and the breakfast was terrible, but the staff was pleasant and helpful. If you don't have a car, there is nowhere to go from here, though; the hotel is in a weird neighborhood adjoining warehouses, so you can't get to any restaurants or any other services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you're in the market for a clean comfortable room close to Newark airport- this hotel is for you...unless you're hungry or want to safely park you car.
The parking lot is TINY. The spaces are too few and too small. Also- you'll have to back your car out of the lot- there is nowhere to turm around- yikes! An accident waiting to happen! We ended up parking on the street next to the hotel (in a No Parking zone, mind you)
We arrived after 8 and were starving! We sat at a table in the lounge for 15-20 minutes waiting to be acknowledged...finally gave up, went back to the room and called Dominos.
I will say that the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful but I would not stay again. I booked last minute and did not have a chance to read reviews...I see now that many before me have complained about the same issues...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West

Address: 101 International Way, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West!Stay at this conveniently located Newark hotel and enjoy full-service amenities and easy access to New York City!The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West offers travelers the conveniences and services of any full-service hotel without inflated nightly rates normally found in the New York area. Unique hotel amenities include a daily complimentary hot buffet breakfast, and an exercise facility. A convenient 24-hour business center and a 24-hour snack shop are located on-site, perfect for travelers arriving and departing at irregular hours. A recently renovated, on-site cocktail lounge offers a wide array of spirits and allows weary travelers to unwind.Accommodation amenities include an in-room microwave, refrigerator and an iron/ironing board. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Newark Airport West also offers same day dry cleaning service.A complimentary shuttle service is available for guests to Newark International Airport. Hotel guests can also take advantage of a daily shuttle to the Jersey Garden Outlet Mall and Penn Station-offering easy access to the sights and attractions of New York City. Shuttle service is also available to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, located in nearby Bayonne. Guests can also take advantage of our "Park and Fly" package where you can stay one night and park a car for up to 10 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West Hotel Newark
Best Western Newark
Newark Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.