We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an urban neighborhood should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironbound

Ironbound
Newark, NJ (Newark Central Business District)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Newark
Type: Neighborhoods, Landmarks
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What an urban neighborhood should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's lively, festive, friendly, and NOT pretentious. Such a relief to see a city neighborhood that is worth checking out that is not like a rich people's playground. This is not Georgetown or Soho. It's a real community with real people. Fun bars and taverns, beautiful people (both in terms of attitude and personality and in terms of appearance...people really take care of themselves here). It has a little too much Portuguese and Brazilian food, and it would be nice to see more other cuisines offered. My favorites are Altas Horas (Brazilian fast food), Mom Pou (Portuguese/Spanish trendy food), Adega (Portugues formal plus a bar), but there are so many places to try.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Portuguese neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

That's the place were you will find good Portuguese and Brazilian restaurants for all budgets. There are lounges, nightclubs, restaurants, shops selling Portuguese ceramics and food products, clothes stores, specialty stores, etc. And there is the Seabra's supermarket with all types of Portuguese, Brazilian, and Hispanic food. Ferry street is the main street in the Ironbound and the traffic is not good! But you can also get to where you want to go by taking Lafayette street which is parallel to Ferry. Even though is one of the safest areas in Newark, you still have to watch your purse!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Spanish and Portuguese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

So many choices of fine restaurants. In the many times we've been to Ironbound, we've rarely had a bad meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spanish -Portugueses Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Ironbound section of Newark has a multitude of excellent Spanish-Portuguese restaurants. There are also many Brazilian restaurants here, the food is authentic,fresh and delicious !

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I love shopping in the Ironbound. It's a little Portugal and though I am not Portuguese, I love the place.. My wedding reception was held at Sol Mar's. I love shopping at Sea Bra's, having breakfast at Texeira's, dining at Forno's, buying fish at Popular Fish Market and just walking the streets and enjoying the rich culture.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ironbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.