We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed on business a few weeks ago and enjoyed my stay. The desk staff were professional and helpful.

I had a billing issue from a mistaken reservation that resulted in a charge on my credit card for a missed stay. Once I discussed this with the General Manager, Ash, he kindly credited my credit card for the missed stay. Now that is great customer relations.

I will stay here for all of my visits to the Newark area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    42
    21
    22
See reviews for
55
45
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had to attend a quick business meeting. I booked this hotel through 3rd party website. Buy I ended-up paying more, than the walk-in price for the hotel.
Everything was at its best. And on top, the bus service, although expensive, but very convenient, between Newark and NYC.

Readers, you will certainly like this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a basic hotel, our room was clean and spacious. The area around hotel not great, hardly anything around to walk too. We walked the 1.4 miles to Penn station to get into NYC on the Path train. That was fine but on the way back, it was late at night and the area is full of homeless men. We turned around and had to take a taxi to hotel which cost $15! Breakfast is decent, eggs, cereals, bagels/toast etc.... We slept in on the last day and missed breakfast, we asked if we could get a bagel for the kids and the lady working the area was extremely kind. She gave us whatever was left over and it was very good of her to do that!! I wish I had asked her name, as she went out of her way to help us. The front desk staff also very helpful. We figured out that driving our car to the Harrison Path stop was a much better idea. Street parking was easy around that station and free. We then hopped on the Path into the city. The Penn station area only had parking garages and were pricey.
While in Newark, don't forget to visit the Newark Museum which was $3 for adults and $1 kids. The kids enjoyed it very much! The Sacred Heart cathedral is also amazing to visit. It rivals any gothic European cathedral. Also, we loved the Ironbound area in Newark, great food, at great prices and it feels as you are in Portugal/Brazil. Great area! Of course, its only 30 min. on Path into nyc so we did all the sites there too! We spent 4 nights at this hotel and we will definitely come back and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our staff service and hot breakfast . We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Concur with the last several reviewers in that the hotel is actually pretty decent and very convenient to PATH Trains into New York and to the Jersey Turnpike. The room was large and fairly nice. Wireless was far from robust, however. Front desk was helpful and had a quick check in. The hotel is not near any restaurants that most people would frequent or even a classic Jersey diner and the hotel kind of stuck out compared to the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our staff servicer and we are happy to inform you that there are many restaurants in the vicinity and many who deliver to the hotel. Please ask the front desk agent for menus. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was attending a conference in downtown Newark and the Comfort Suites was both convenient and reasonably priced. I brought food in so there was not the issue of it being in a sort of no-man's land of light industry and businesses. The location, on one of the main north-south arteries in Newark was convenient (only a five minute drive from downtown), the facility was clean and pleasant and the staff were accommodating. The breakfast, a typical motel breakfast bar, was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and enjoyed the level of service provided by our staff. We are happy to inform you that there are many restaurants in the vicinity and many who deliver to the hotel. Please ask the front desk agent for menus. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After a disaster with Best Western, which mixed up my reservation, Comfort Suites offered me a suite for less money than the room at Best Western. The room was great and the people were friendly. Restaurants and bars are close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. We are happy to inform you that there are many restaurants in the vicinity and many who deliver to the hotel. Please ask the front desk agent for menus. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.