We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsettling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newark
LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unsettling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We needed to book a hotel near Newark airport and chose this one because the price was right. It is probably because we have a child under two that I am super aware of my surroundings and sensitive to any things that may seem off as was the case with this hotel. The hotel is not in the best location and as an another reviewer put it, doesn't provide a safe feeling. We were given a key to a room, that when we arrived, was wide open. There were fans blowing drying off the carpets and the carpet in the room was still a bit damp. There was a weird chemical smell. We asked for another room, and they gave it to us. The breakfast in the morning did look nice although we only had time to grab a banana and a muffin. It was one of the more affordable hotels in the area but I would not stay there again mainly because of the unsafe vibe I got. Might not be too bad for somebody who is not traveling with children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I want to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying at our hotel. I have shared your comments with the General Manager and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure proper communication is used in the future amongst our staff. Again, I do apologize and I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to serve you. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    66
    41
    21
    22
See reviews for
52
44
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this Comfort Suites for a business trip. Based on a map review it appeared to be close enough to NYC for commuting. Despite being close to highways, the area around hotel is very run down & doesn't provide a safe feeling. Hotel was fine & the rate with easytobook.com made it a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I am pleased you found the hotel to be fine and you received a great rate. I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with the area around the hotel. We are located 4 miles from Newark-Liberty Airport and near public transportation to New York City. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights. The hotel is only 1 1/2 miles from the train station, which made train travel easy on our first day and then we went on a 6 night cruise out of Bayonne, NJ. The place was clean, had a good buffet breakfast, the staff was very polite and helpful. Security lock boxes are available at the front desk and easy to access, since there are no safes in the rooms. We paid for the cruise package so we could leave our car there while we were on our cruise and they shuttled us one way to the cruise port for free. That was a savings of $45.00 plus tip, which is what we paid for the taxi ride when we returned to pick up our car. The only negative comment I have is regarding a night shift security guard (I assume that's who he was because of his uniform) sleeping both mornings on one of the couches in the main lobby for a couple hours until his ride arrived to pick him up. It looked so bad to everyone coming and going and was odd that the front desk would allow it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 104 on the ground floor and had no problem with the location at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an overall great experience and were able to enjoy our convenient location and shuttle service. Our goal is to provide the highest level of service to all guests, whether you are here for one night or many. I will be speaking with our night shift employees to assure they are not to disturb our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a convenient and accommodating stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice hotel. For this price, I would say it's a good bargain. Huge room and the bathroom was very big too. I like the attention to detail.

Once you enter the room you would see some chocolates placed on the bed by the hotel management just to brighten up your day. That's a nice little gesture.

They also had USB outlets for you to charge your electronic devices!

The hotel buffet spread was quite awesome too. We were expecting the usual cereal and bread, but they had a lot more! Scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, burger patty, yoghurt, etc. Definitely a notch above the run-of-the-mill "continental breakfast" you get in other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and found some of the little things such as the USB ports and chocolates to be an added benefit. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here while I worked in Brooklyn N.Y. and in Kearney N.J. Was only going to stay for one night but ended up staying for a total of fifteen days. The staff was very nice and helpful. Job was finished got home and was called for another job for next week So I called to book another room for five more days.

Room Tip: Parking Lot gets full
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to see you had a positive experience and felt comfortable enough to extend your stay. Our goal is to provide every guest with the highest level of customer service and a comfortable place to stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First, I will start by saying that this is not a 5 star hotel.. It is an average hotel in Newark New Jersey, if you know what I mean. However, is only 10 minutes to New York city. You are 9.2 miles either taking the Lincoln Tunnel or the Holland Tunnel and guys for the price is not bad at all!! I strongly recommend that if you can reserve the room with the Whirlpool do it, you wont regret it after a long day walking in New York city either for business or pleasure. Again the price is extremely economical comparing to the hotels in NYC or other hotels in the area. I have been staying in this hotel for the past 2 years and is not bad at all. Very helpful and polite staff . When it comes to dinner you can't beat the Spanish restaurant such as Fornos of Spain wao!!! awesome restaurant in a very beautiful, comfortable and elegant environment. If you are looking to save some $$ but need a reliable clean hotel in New York or New Jersey this is the place!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites with Whirlpool are excellent and quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you had an overall great stay here at the Comfort Suites in Newark. It’s wonderful you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel amenities such as the whirlpool and our great location. Our goal here at the Comfort Suites is to provide each and every guest with a comfortable and enjoyable experience while providing the best customer service available. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with an equally great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were in town visiting with family. Hotel was in a good location. Very clean. Front desk staff very pleasant, hotel was clean, rooms comfortable, Breakfast bar available. I would stay when in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and found our staff service excellent. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.