We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and close to New York City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
jacksonville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value and close to New York City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First, I will start by saying that this is not a 5 star hotel.. It is an average hotel in Newark New Jersey, if you know what I mean. However, is only 10 minutes to New York city. You are 9.2 miles either taking the Lincoln Tunnel or the Holland Tunnel and guys for the price is not bad at all!! I strongly recommend that if you can reserve the room with the Whirlpool do it, you wont regret it after a long day walking in New York city either for business or pleasure. Again the price is extremely economical comparing to the hotels in NYC or other hotels in the area. I have been staying in this hotel for the past 2 years and is not bad at all. Very helpful and polite staff . When it comes to dinner you can't beat the Spanish restaurant such as Fornos of Spain wao!!! awesome restaurant in a very beautiful, comfortable and elegant environment. If you are looking to save some $$ but need a reliable clean hotel in New York or New Jersey this is the place!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites with Whirlpool are excellent and quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSCustomer_Care, Comfort Suites at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you had an overall great stay here at the Comfort Suites in Newark. It’s wonderful you were able to relax and enjoy the hotel amenities such as the whirlpool and our great location. Our goal here at the Comfort Suites is to provide each and every guest with a comfortable and enjoyable experience while providing the best customer service available. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with an equally great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were in town visiting with family. Hotel was in a good location. Very clean. Front desk staff very pleasant, hotel was clean, rooms comfortable, Breakfast bar available. I would stay when in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthego54258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and found our staff service excellent. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My only disdain for this hotel was the fact that the floor under the sofa couch was filthy, and the bedspread had "grease" stains - as from pizza boxes or the like. It made me wonder about the cleanliness of the entire room. Bathroom did appear clean though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an overall great experience and were able to enjoy our convenient location and staff service. Our goal is to provide the highest level of service to all guests, whether you are here for one night or many.
We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area night or many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is only a mile and a half from NJ Transit's Newark Penn Station. The train ride from Newark's Penn Station to New York's Penn station is only 20 minutes and cost $5 off peak. I had read many bad reviews that the rooms were dirty, the hotel smelled, and they didn't feel safe. I did not find this to be the case at all. We had two rooms, and both were clean and smelled clean too; as did the rest of the hotel. The staff was helpful. The free, hot breakfast buffet (always a plus) was comparable to the one at Hampton Inn. This hotel was a great alternative to staying in Manhattan, which we just cannot afford to do anymore. Yes, it's in an industrial area. Well, IT IS Newark, New Jersey! Not the prettiest or safest of towns, but if you are a savy traveller, you'll have no problem. I wouldn't walk from the train station by myself late at night with a suitcase if you get what I mean. However, it certainly serves the purpose of a place to stay near Manhattan at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cphershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area.

--
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark
1348 McCarter Hwy,
Newark, NJ 07104
Ph: (973) 481 5200
Fax: (973) 481 9399
Email: csnj123@gmail.com
WebSite: comfortsuites.com/hotel/nj123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Comfort Suites delivered on a great stay, clean rooms, great service, always consistent and delicious Comfort Suites breakfast. Service was top notch, price was unbeatable and location as always very convenient. This could be the best brand based on quality, price and locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Snob_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accommodations the next time you are in the area.

--
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark
1348 McCarter Hwy,
Newark, NJ 07104
Ph: (973) 481 5200
Fax: (973) 481 9399
Email: csnj123@gmail.com
WebSite: comfortsuites.com/hotel/nj123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My son (22yrs old) and 3 friends stayed at this hotel on 10/29 due to the fact they were running out of money since thier flights had been cancelled and they could not afford to stay at the Marriot any longer. From the moment they checked in they said staff was rude and not helpful with storm info. They ended up running through the storm from the hotel when they could feel the building shaking and things flying from the roof. And still the staff was not helpful with info., The ended up at the Crowne Plaza where they had to purchase another room and could not hear or better yet feel the storm. Mind you these kids are from so Cal and have NEVER been through anything like this before. I am very very dissapointed and will be taking this matter further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angrymom1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, General Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

We accommodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a wonderful and satisfying experience. Consequently,it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from guests are taken seriously. I would like to assure you that all the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action has been taken. Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

--
Ash Sardar
Manager
Comfort Suites Newark
1348 McCarter Hwy,
Newark, NJ 07104
Ph: (973) 481 5200
Fax: (973) 481 9399
Email: csnj123@gmail.com
WebSite: comfortsuites.com/hotel/nj123
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

15 minutes.... That's the TOTAL time we spent in this hotel..... 5 minutes checking in, 5 minutes in the room and 5 minutes recovering out the front waiting for a cab!!!
The time we were in the building is an indicator of what we thought of this hotel. Walking into the room we were struck with an overpowering stench, that had me almost vomiting by the time we left again. My daughter and I both agree that the smell of the streets of Bangkok city was better than this room.
I'd like to rate this hotel in the negative.... Can I have a -5?!?!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Robert Treat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing