We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Stayed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Baldwinsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I Stayed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My only disdain for this hotel was the fact that the floor under the sofa couch was filthy, and the bedspread had "grease" stains - as from pizza boxes or the like. It made me wonder about the cleanliness of the entire room. Bathroom did appear clean though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitesnewark, Manager at Comfort Suites Newark, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It’s a pleasure to hear you had an overall great experience and were able to enjoy our convenient location and staff service. Our goal is to provide the highest level of service to all guests, whether you are here for one night or many.
We hope we are able to provide you with the same great accomodations the next time you are in the area night or many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    69
    42
    21
    22
See reviews for
55
45
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is only a mile and a half from NJ Transit's Newark Penn Station. The train ride from Newark's Penn Station to New York's Penn station is only 20 minutes and cost $5 off peak. I had read many bad reviews that the rooms were dirty, the hotel smelled, and they didn't feel safe. I did not find this to be the case at all. We had two rooms, and both were clean and smelled clean too; as did the rest of the hotel. The staff was helpful. The free, hot breakfast buffet (always a plus) was comparable to the one at Hampton Inn. This hotel was a great alternative to staying in Manhattan, which we just cannot afford to do anymore. Yes, it's in an industrial area. Well, IT IS Newark, New Jersey! Not the prettiest or safest of towns, but if you are a savy traveller, you'll have no problem. I wouldn't walk from the train station by myself late at night with a suitcase if you get what I mean. However, it certainly serves the purpose of a place to stay near Manhattan at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Comfort Suites delivered on a great stay, clean rooms, great service, always consistent and delicious Comfort Suites breakfast. Service was top notch, price was unbeatable and location as always very convenient. This could be the best brand based on quality, price and locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My son (22yrs old) and 3 friends stayed at this hotel on 10/29 due to the fact they were running out of money since thier flights had been cancelled and they could not afford to stay at the Marriot any longer. From the moment they checked in they said staff was rude and not helpful with storm info. They ended up running through the storm from the hotel when they could feel the building shaking and things flying from the roof. And still the staff was not helpful with info., The ended up at the Crowne Plaza where they had to purchase another room and could not hear or better yet feel the storm. Mind you these kids are from so Cal and have NEVER been through anything like this before. I am very very dissapointed and will be taking this matter further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

15 minutes.... That's the TOTAL time we spent in this hotel..... 5 minutes checking in, 5 minutes in the room and 5 minutes recovering out the front waiting for a cab!!!
The time we were in the building is an indicator of what we thought of this hotel. Walking into the room we were struck with an overpowering stench, that had me almost vomiting by the time we left again. My daughter and I both agree that the smell of the streets of Bangkok city was better than this room.
I'd like to rate this hotel in the negative.... Can I have a -5?!?!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Harwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although we prefer to stay in more luxurious hotels, this hotel provided a great option at a terrific price when we were going on a Royal Caribbean cruise out of Port Liberty. We stayed one night before the cruise. The hotel provided free internet, free breakfast, free transportation to the ship (one-way) and free parking for the time that we were on the cruise. The hotel was clean and the staff was terrific. Although the hotel was not in the greatest neighborhood, the parking was secure (14 foot fence - totally enclosed).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed with my fiancé for 4 nights. The hotel was clean, the staff was nice and friendly, large rooms, excellent value. Breakfast was good and free with fruits, juice, yogurts, omelets, breads, waffles, etc. I've rented a car, but we left the car at the hotel and went by train to Manhattan. The hotel has a good and safe parking. It's just 10 min walking from Newark Broad St. And by train 20 minutes to New York Penn Station. Returning from NYC we've walked by neighborhood after midnight, the place was pretty empty, we're feelig nervous, but we've had no problem on our way back to the hotel. During the week the traffic is very bad, better to avoid leaving car at peak times. The hotel is near from Jersey's Gardens Mall, Walmart Kearny, Newark Liberty Airport. Definitely would return to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.