We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Suites... Um... I think they should just close this place...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Newark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Newark to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfort Suites... Um... I think they should just close this place...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

15 minutes.... That's the TOTAL time we spent in this hotel..... 5 minutes checking in, 5 minutes in the room and 5 minutes recovering out the front waiting for a cab!!!
The time we were in the building is an indicator of what we thought of this hotel. Walking into the room we were struck with an overpowering stench, that had me almost vomiting by the time we left again. My daughter and I both agree that the smell of the streets of Bangkok city was better than this room.
I'd like to rate this hotel in the negative.... Can I have a -5?!?!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    69
    42
    21
    22
See reviews for
55
46
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Harwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although we prefer to stay in more luxurious hotels, this hotel provided a great option at a terrific price when we were going on a Royal Caribbean cruise out of Port Liberty. We stayed one night before the cruise. The hotel provided free internet, free breakfast, free transportation to the ship (one-way) and free parking for the time that we were on the cruise. The hotel was clean and the staff was terrific. Although the hotel was not in the greatest neighborhood, the parking was secure (14 foot fence - totally enclosed).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed with my fiancé for 4 nights. The hotel was clean, the staff was nice and friendly, large rooms, excellent value. Breakfast was good and free with fruits, juice, yogurts, omelets, breads, waffles, etc. I've rented a car, but we left the car at the hotel and went by train to Manhattan. The hotel has a good and safe parking. It's just 10 min walking from Newark Broad St. And by train 20 minutes to New York Penn Station. Returning from NYC we've walked by neighborhood after midnight, the place was pretty empty, we're feelig nervous, but we've had no problem on our way back to the hotel. During the week the traffic is very bad, better to avoid leaving car at peak times. The hotel is near from Jersey's Gardens Mall, Walmart Kearny, Newark Liberty Airport. Definitely would return to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was overall very clean but there was a weird candy-product-like smell in the corridors and room. Staff was very kind and welcoming. Breakfast was very good with great amount of options: variations of eggs every day, one side meat (bacon/sausages/ham), waffles, yogourt, bread, etc. Broad St. train station is only a 15 min walk away and leads you straight into NYC for $5. The neighborhood doesn't look safe at all at night even if it may be. Went on Broadway one night and came back pass midnight and we were feeling a bit nervous on our way back to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

i stayed with my family for one night , the carpet was filthy and room was smelling that they have to keep the door open until i checked inn , i asked for another room the woman on the desk said no, every thing was falling apart and dirty found somebody scissors on sofa bed, can't find any pen or pad or any guest information material. they charge $149.00 for the room which don't worth $49.00

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. My business partner had checked into the hotel earlier in the afternoon and I was arriving that night. Having years of experience in hospitality security I was quite shocked when I arrived at the front desk, gave the name of my colleague and was handed a key to the room. Never was my ID checked or was I asked for my name or the room number.

Room Tip: If you value safety and security do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I did not feel safe here...if you drive the road directly behind the hotel it is littered and graffiti everywhere. The whole area is not very safe looking. We stayed there before flying out in the morning but did not leave the hotel. The hotel itself is not very clean and has a musty smell to it. The carpets are filty in the hallways, elevator etc. The breakfast however was clean and good. Its about five or six miles to the airport. I'd say stay there with your eyes open.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Newark

Address: 1348 McCarter Hwy (Rt 21), Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Newark Hotel Newark
Newark Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.