We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the "best" in Newark, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's Italian Restaurant

Luigi's Italian Restaurant
561 Bloomfield Avenue, Newark, NJ 07107
(973) 481-9696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 469 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the "best" in Newark, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant by far is one of the best in Newark, NJ - the staff are wonderful and the onwer, Luigi, is always around making your dining experience one to remember.

If you like Italian food - this is the place you want to explore. Proportions are huge and I suggest asking for the entree to be served family style so everyone at the table has a chance to sample.

Put this on your list as one of your favorites you will not be disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy - Just Good Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

They cook the way your Italian grandmother did. Nothing exotic - just good basic Italian food. At home grandma would make hot Italian peppers and potatoes. Never saw it on a restaurant menu until I ate at Luigi's. If you like chicken soup Italian style, you'll love theirs. I made the mistake of bringing some home for my wife to try. Now I have to stop every Friday after work and bring a quart home. The atmosphere is great. Again, not fancy but I enjoy seeing the group of men who have been friends for years and years, eating and telling stories every Friday at lunch. It's a safe area particularly after you step inside. You may think you're in a godfather movie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jerz
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been going to Luigi's since he was in a smaller location next door (maybe 15 years). If you are looking for homestyle Italian, go see Luigi - there's nothing fancy about this place, but the food is awesome and it's legit because Luigi and his family run the restaurant. Very old school Italian vibe, traditional dishes and daily specials that are always great. Service is usually very good. My family and I have enjoyed many milestone celebrations here, including my wedding rehearsal dinner. Family-style dining is a must for big groups. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in a cozy place.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went here for the first time tonight with our friends Frank & Beth. The food was delicious and the portions are large. The meals we had were mussels over linguine, shrimp scampi over linguine, pasta primavera and calamari over linguine. We finished the dinner with the peanut butter explosion and a tartufo... The bill was $108.... Can't beat that for the amount of food and quality of the food we got...Three of us had leftovers. Definitely give this place a visit. You will be happy you did. It is a BYOB....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food is ok here, but it is more of a lunch place. The service is ok and the atmosphere is adequate.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.