We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Pay More?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Why Pay More?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

This was one of the least expensive hotels near the airport, and we were meeting with business associates from China who were staying in the airport vicinity. We're a small company on a tight budget, so we decided to give the Days Hotel Newark Airport a try. The hotel was perfectly adequate. Check In was quick and efficient and the staff was cheerful and pleasant. The room was clean, attractively decorated and comfortable. The decor of the halls and elevators was a bit spartan, and our bathroom, while clean, was very institutional looking (painted a very drab shade of tan) but who cares? There is a restaurant on the premises, but they don't offer a free breakfast. There is a coffeemaker in the room though. The surroundings are depressing but that's just the way it is around the airport. I would recommend this hotel if you need an inexpensive room for the night near the airport. They have a free shuttle to take you to the terminal. The high speed internet worked so we were able to use our laptops.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    273
    95
    17
    23
See reviews for
125
134
60
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel during a visit to NYC with my mom and sister. I came back again for my New Year's trip. Both stays were pleasant. The room is nice and clean. The bed is surprisingly comfortable. (I often find budget hotel beds are too hard). The bathroom looks old but still clean. The room has a separate sink from the bathroom so that you don't have to occupy the bathroom for too long. It is an extra little thing you'll appreciate when you are staying in the same room with your family or friends. They also provide a free shuttle bus to and from the airport. This service provides great convenience for those who do not prefer to drive to Manhattan. The shuttle bus runs every 10 minutes or whenever you it is needed. Once you are at the airport, you can choose any means of transportation to get to Manhattan: bus, train, or cab. (I took a train from the airport and it arrived at New York Penn Station.) Overall, for the price we paid, we are getting an excellent deal.

  • Liked — The room we get with the price we pay. Free shuttle to and from the airport
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Went to NYC for a night, and since it was quite a drive, decided to book a hotel for the night and drive back the next day. Was expecting just a cheap, clean hotel room. This is exactly what we got. Lobby was nice. Front door staff were efficent and friendly, checked us in and out with minimal hassle.

Our room was very clean. It had obviously been cleaned not long before - you could still smell the cleaning solution (grapefruit cleaning solution maybe?).

Bathroom was minimal, the flooring a little older and not pristine looking. The room itself was nice. It was everything I expected from a cheaper hotel. Very good value, good location, and if I go to New York City again, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Cheap and Clean =)
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondale, Il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I check tripadvisor religously when i travel. I had read a few about the hotel that were not great, but i went ahead and booked it anyway. i booked off the website and got a room for $74..a total deal. everyone said it was hard to find...it wasn't. we used the hotel directions provided on the website and found it easily.
check-in: everyone said they were rude...i had no problem. even got to check in early.
room: nice. 2 beds, tv, coffee maker, COMFY beds, etc. went to flush the toilet and it started to overflow out of the tank. called maintenance and they were there within minutes and fixed it.
shuttle: again, no problems. we were there to see nyc so the shuttle was very helpful. we took the shuttle to p4 (parking area at newark airport), walked right into the airtran station that takes you to the airport (terminal A,B,or C ....doesn't matter). there we went downstairs and caught the 62 bus to nj penn station ($1.50/trip). at ny penn station you then catch the train to NY penn station ($7.00/round trip) and then you end up right next to madison square garden. easy!! an unlimited subway pass is 7.50 a day. cheap and easy to get around. it should be noted that it took us about an hour to an hour and a half to get to ny, so plan accordingly.
long story short...hotel was great, they were helpful and you won't find a better deal that is so nice and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Value, location, cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — NOTHING!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I picked this hotel for the shuttle, and it was right next door to Enterprise Car Rental. There was 3 of us & it was our 1st trip east. We were going on a cruise out of New York. Checked the prices of the resturant and desided to get the room with a kitchenet. The shuttle service is very reliable. Give it about 15/20 minutes and they get you there or pick you up. I didn't realize that P4 was the Air Train so we were waiting a long time in the wrong place when we first got there. Just let them know if you've never been to Newark. Hotel was clean and the staff was very nice. The elevators were a little slow. We were on the 6th floor and when a large group came in and we got to our room faster by using the stairs! If we ever go back to this area again, we will stay here.

  • Liked — The airport shuttle
  • Disliked — The prices in the resturant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

I selected Days Hotel for my recent early departure from EWR based on price. I paid about USD 75 before taxes. I did not regret my choice.

The hotel is conveniently located near EWR. The property appears a little old and dated. There is a restaurant on site for convenience. There is a coin operated guest laundry available in addition to the laundry services the hotel provides.

I was promptly greeted upon arrival. The check in was smooth and fast. So was the check out. The room I was assigned was clean and reasonable in size. The bed is comfortable. The bathroom was clean. There is also coffee maker in the room.

In short, it is a good place to stay for an early flight out from EWR.

  • Liked — Thr price and the clean room
  • Disliked — dated look of the property
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Looking for an Hotel near New York, for a great price, and the room is clean ? Rent at this hotel. The room we had (509) was very clean. The price was good, and we were at only 20 minutes from a paking in Manhattan.

The only thing is : the Hotel is hard to find , because it's location is along an autoroute, and the GPS gave us the middle of the autoroute.

Perhaps the breakfast is $$ for the thing he's offering during the week-end. But you pay less for the room, so it's a great deal.

I will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.