We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with extremely friendly and professional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Newark
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel with extremely friendly and professional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This has everything you would expect from a hotel like this, Nothing special but everything really ok. What made this experience very special was the friendliness and professionalism of all staff. It felt really special and was a surprise in a chain hotel. I would like to particularly mention Naana, who worked in the restaurant who just cared a bit more than normal about her clients wellbeing - but this "a bit more than normal" made a huge difference. I would give the hotel facilities 3,5 stars but the staff 5,5 if I could...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    232
    79
    13
    21
See reviews for
112
109
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I arrived at midnight, and then had a 5am flight.... getting to bed was a real priority.

As a regular into EWR I know which hotel to use and the HI is the ONLY one that ALWAYS has a shuttle bus at the offsite collection point at all times of the day or night. The hotel itself is fine, of course... not that I saw much of it.... but being able to get there, get checked-in and into beddy quickly is all that counts.... that's why I stay there always. I have submitted a review previously, and have done so again after another 6/7 stays, and its the same each time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After suffering PATH confusion, Newark Penn Station,and Air Train malfunctions, I arrived at the Holliday Inn Newark Airport. I like to stay near airports before an early am flight. Shuttle Bus lad was great, as were the checkin desk,bar and Bistro Sports bar. Best Airport food ever. Black Angus Burger and fries helped me recover from a Packer loss. Other menu items were tempting. This is not just a pub grub. Room was excellent in all areas. 5 stars (or circles)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Twp
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As a business traveler for over 40 years , I try to make Newark a hub for my final ending spot.
I arrived at Newark Oct 31 and the filght was 12 hours late on arrival.
Reseavations was with the Holiday Inn Newark. From the time I arrived to the time I checked out the service was perfect .
Van service was on time, A clean room , room service was hot and on time, my check in and check out process was quick and easy.
The entire stay was relexing and the staff was helpful to rearrange my travel plans.
Management and Staff really puts hospitality first.
The General Manager was first on the spot when I left my bag in the lobby and had one of the van driver track me down in the treminal at the airport for the bag to be returned.
Thank you management.

Room Tip: All the location are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

While doing business in the area, I chose this Holiday Inn near the airport. I was quite impressed by the quality of all the amenities and friendliness of the staff. I was treated with respect and the staff addressed me by name. The room was very clean and spacious and I didn't have to worry about not getting a good night's rest! All in all, this is a first class hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayanogorsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and I enjoyed it. Room was clean, comfortable, bathroom was clean too. Staff was friendly. We didn't have breakfast in hotel, as it was not free, and had breakfast in the nearest shopping mall. It was easy and fast to get there, as we went by car. And there was free parking near hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room was nice and comfortable. Hotel is conveniently located. The property was well maintained. The staff was friendly and polite. My only issue with the hotel was they did not provide free breakfast. The restaurant was really expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.