We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a Layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Newark
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for a Layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on a layover that involved arriving late one evening and leaving very early the next morning. The free shuttle proved to be reliable and all went well. I was also impressed by the directions given by the guides that were at each airtrain terminal. All hotel buses have one pickup/drop-off point at the airport. As a transit hotel, the hotel had rooms the quality of most good Holiday Inns, although the desk and restaurant area seemed small. Certainly the hotel can be recommended on the basis of the quality of the rooms and the shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We take great pride in our guest rooms and shuttle service and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed them as well! Hopefully we will see in the future if your travels bring you to the Newark area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    232
    79
    13
    21
See reviews for
112
109
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FabulousFivesome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick trip to NJ and booked this hotel for its proximity to the airport. Rooms are updated but nothing special. Good room service. Great free, on-call shuttle to the airport. Not close to any stores or restaurants, so not great for anything beyond an airport stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear FabulousFivesome,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We are pleased you appreciated the service you received. However it is disappointing to know you were not satisfied with our location. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel for work and I was pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of subpar hotels near the Newark Airport and this hotel is definitely way above a lot of the other options in the area. The rooms are pretty roomy and very clean. The decor is modern and there was plenty of room to stretch out, relax, and work. The staff is friendly and accomodating, I forgot my toothpaste and they quickly sent someone up to my room with some amenity-sized tubes of toothpaste. The only drawback is that there are no food options nearby other than the hotel restaurant which is somewhat pricey. I wound up taking the hotel shuttle to the terminal for dinner which worked out fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We love our rooms too! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make use of our complimentary shuttle to and from the airport when our on site restaurant didn't meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Landed at 5.30 AM at EWR, shuttle picked me up in 5 minutes, Silky smooth check in, was in the room by 5.45. Room was very spacious and well appointed with working desk, dining desk, adequate chairs etc. The bathroom matching the room size. The restaurant chef surprised me, there was hardly any veg. dishes on the menu but he went out of the way and prepared for me a veg. meal at 11.00 AM and was also very good. There was issue with some outside noise but realized that it was from next door as we had a connecting door.

Room Tip: higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was fortunate we were able to check you in so early. We only have one pair of connecting rooms in the building and it appears you were registered into one of thos rooms. I do apologize for any inconvenience. And I am glad to hear that our restaurant was able to accomodate you. Once again, thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed just one night so that we could get to the Newark Airport for an early morning flight. Upon taking the train from Manhattan to the Airtrain at the airport, we were able to call for the Holiday Inn Express's shuttle service...and it arrived in minutes. Checked-in and were greeted by a huge hotel room--huge compared to anything in Manhattan, of course--that was clean and appeared brand new or recently updated. We came prepared and brought dinner with us because we figured there was nowhere to eat (without a car), unless we wanted to take the shuttle to the airport to eat there, but found a lot of business travelers eating at the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant's menu is posted in the elevator as well, and they even offer steaks! Wi-fi worked great. If we have to stay for a layover or one night to make the trip to EWR easier, will definitely return. Also booked online directly, because as members of their club, sometimes the advance purchase rate or AAA rate is better than elsewhere.

Only minor drawback, in our opinion, were the small pillows. There were plenty, but they were not very wide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide guests with the best service possible and we take pride in knowing we accomplished that with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn. The check-in was quick, and the duty manager was very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable but I had an issue with the blind in my room, maintenance was there in a flash, couldn't fix it, went off to get more tools, but instead I was upgraded to a king suite!! The restaurant was a little pricy, but you are a captive audience as there is nowhere close by if you don't have a car. But I was surprised that I had so much difficulty explaining that I wanted milk for my tea not half-and-half.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM450, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that we handled the issue you had with your room to your satisfaction. It is important to us that our guests have a good experience when they stay with us.The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is an great option if you have a night layover in Newark. Our room was spacious and very clean. A big plus is the free WiFi they offer you.
A little bit to noisy in the room but I think that is inevitable when you stay at a airport. They should also change info on the website where it says that they are just across the street from the main entrance of Newark. You still need to go to P4 and take their shuttle bus to get to the hotel.
I will come back if I have a night layover in Newark.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.