We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient for EWR and New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Leicester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient for EWR and New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A large room with a King sized bed and nice linens. There is an on-demand shuttle to parking P4 at EWR, from which you can get to the NJ Transit station to Penn Station NY in 30 minutes. The shuttle was happy to pick us up at EWR and drop us off there for an evening in NYC, picking us up again late at night. The trains run to 2am, and the shuttle is available 24 hours a day. The hotel is 30-40% of the cost of staying in central Manhattan, and is a good place to be (especially for us as we had a 9am flight out the next day). We didn't eat there. The sink is in the main room, not the shower room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the transportation options into NYC were convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    310
    108
    17
    28
See reviews for
140
158
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

While this was an OK stay and close to the airport, I was disappointed, as it was rated number 1 at Newark airport and it definitely didn't warrant it.
It was a place to sleep, reasonable beds and relatively close to the airport.
Access by car rental was actually rather round-about and room wasn't one of Holiday Inn's better ones.
We preferred this to a Crowne Plaza and Marriot Courtyard reservation and not sure it was the right decision and shows, you can't always go by the TripAdvisor consensus......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear yacovk,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. I am happy to know that you found our location convenient for your business needs. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given. I have taken note of your comments and I appreciate them as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

We really appreciate you giving us this feedback to help us make our guest experience even better.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed 1 night. hotel room was nice. apparently my reservation was for a smoking room. asked to change it to non smoking and got 2 double beds.would have preffered a king.staff were realy helpful. they provide free parking. water pressure can be a little stronger
no free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad we were able to switch you into a non smoking room as you preferred even if there were no non smoking kings available for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a good place to crash after landing or before flying out of Newark. It is also a good alternative base for trips into Manhattan without paying NY prices. The hotel shuttle bus will link you up to the rail system at the airport and from there into the city. Friendly staff, good rooms and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The ice machines can be a bit noisy in the night as can the very powerful bathroom flushes from neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the transportation options into NYC were convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a 7:00 am flight from Newark airport and decided to stay at this hotel to make sure we made our flight. We picked it for the proximity to the airport but were pleasantly surprised at how nice the room and hotel was. There is a small but good restaurant with a bar right in the lobby which was great since we got there late. This hotel is right next to a parking lot called Parking Spot 2 that couldn't have been more convenient. It was just what we wanted to start off our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope you had a great vacation and will keep us in mind when in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great hotel with a perfect service and very kind people. I will come back here when I'm in New York. The bar and restaurant are good with a wide range of food. This a Hotel is near to the airport, but you cannot hear the planes.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
It's a pleasure to share a review such as yours with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to write it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we booked this hotel, we knew it was a 3 star and were expecting just an ok place to sleep. Good surprise. The room was big, very clean, the staff was friendly and access to NY quite easy! We will definitely book it again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We love to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newark hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Airport and Port Newark
Courtyard Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.