We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Newark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Room/Bathroom was clean, beds were comfy, TV was great, and I really liked the renovation with the new modern furniture. Staff was friendly and helpful. They even delivered a microwave and fridge to us within 5 minutes of getting there. My only issues were: The water wasn't very warm, restaurant was expensive (considering it isn't a very classy hotel), and the TV remote doesn't connect well with the TV (I struggled to change Chanels,...) Overall, great place for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    232
    79
    13
    21
See reviews for
112
109
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My company arranged a stay of two nights here. I admit, I was not expecting anything nice. To my surprise, it was bright, modern and comfortable. Excellent staff at the desk. My room was about three rooms away from the elevator, but I did not hear it. In fact, I did not have any problems with noise - hotel or airport (and the tower was visible from my window). Good internet connection, good tv channel choices. I ate at the hotel restaurant both nights out of convenience. Wasn't crazy about what I chose the first night, so the second night asked for recommendations. It was a good meal. A problem with my bill was quickly rectified. I never had to wait more than a few minutes for the shuttle. Would definitely recommend and return, though I usually prefer the bigger, nicer hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This property is a great airport hotel. The property has been upgraded, it is very appealing to the eye, the staff is very friendly, helpful and considerate. The rooms are phenomenal! The bedding is great, the TV's are top grade, the work area is excellent with plenty of outlets and space! Room service was prompt and well prepared and the restaurant staff was as good as one could ask.

Room Tip: The dining area is small but attractive and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

For an airport hotel, this one is very good. Rooms are modern and clean with excellent beds. Service is friendly. Easy transportation from and to Newark Airport. Free and fast WIFI. Adequate fitness center. Restaurant has decent vegetarian selection. This is the second time I stayed here when I found myself needing a lay over hotel in Newark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was stuck in Newark due to a flight cancellation (weather). I chose the Holiday Inn because it was close to the airport and the fee of $150 made me think it would be cleaner than others in the area.

I woke around 4.30 with itching on my legs. I watched tv for half an hour before realizing that the itching was insects biting me under the sheets.

I have red marks up my legs and little water blisters where I am having an alergic reaction to the bites.

I reported the problem to the front desk who sent a security guard to inspect for bugs We did not find any but he confirmed that the bites were from bed bugs and that they were recent (some were still blistering, others were broken cause I was scratching them). When the security guard came down and told the front desk that I had fresh bug bites he was hushed and told if you didn't find any then it's not a confirmed bed bug incident.

When the manager arrived I was told that I could be making it up to defraud them of the room fee (already charged to my card) and they would have the room inspected within a month. If bed bugs were confirmed then they might reimburse my night's fee.

The security guard gave me advice (quietly on the side) on how to reduce the risk of infecting my family. Luckily he has experience with this issue and was sympathetic when the front desk manager was accustory.

I don't have good advice on a good hotel, but the Newark Holiday Inn would prefer to pretend it doesn't exist than to respect the health of their guests. I don't care about the cost of one night, it's the money and time I will now spend fumigating my belongings (and with luck not my house) to prevent their spread.

Please look elsewhere. This hotel has poor hygiene and no concern for their patrons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhirsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I tried to reach you via phone the afternoon of your check out (2/27/13), unfortunately your voicemail was full. I wanted to assure you that at The Holiday Inn Newark Airport we take the global epidemic of bed bugs very seriously. We have a proactive plan in place ranging from training our Room Attendants what to look for as they clean rooms, to contracting with a pest control company to routinely check a portion of our rooms. We would never wait up to a month to have a room inspected when the possibility of bed bugs existed. A professional pest control expert inspected your room hours after you checked out. He found no evidence of bed bugs in the room. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having to travel to NYC often, I always stay at the Holiday in near the Newark Airport. I can be in the City by train in less than half an hour from the airport and the cost for the room is perhaps 1/4th what it would be in Manhattan. Can't beat it for convenience to the airport and convenience to the City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Even tho very close to the airport, this hotel was very quiet. The room was clean, sleek, and well equipped. We had an issue with our internet connection which was addressed by calling their technical service. The room was very clean, the view was interesting (there's not really a good view in Newark) and the staff was super. The hotel restaurant was only fair - the food was adequate but nothing special. There's nothing else to eat closeby and the roads and directions were confusing to us.

A noteworthy comment is the address to the hotel doesn't work on GPS, etc. You will need to call the hotel for the address by which to navigate.

Room Tip: 5th floor looking east was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.