We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms & good price & a team of stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Newark
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great rooms & good price & a team of stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel offers a 24 hour shuttle service to & from the airport which is great. My room was spacious , my bed comfortable and the bathroom had great shower pressure. The bistro style restaurant has delicious burgers with sweet potato fries.
The extra star is a thank you to the staff for being so friendly and courteous. Even through Hurricane Sandy with no lights, no hot water, they did their all to make us feel as comfortable and at home as they could given their limited resources of a couple of generators and no power.
Go Team Holiday Inn Newark Airport!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    244
    78
    13
    21
See reviews for
112
109
51
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as we were on an early flight out of Newark airport the following morning.

The hotel was modern and clean and only 10 minutes drive from arrivals and departures. The room was spacious as you would expect with a Holiday Inn and the free WiFi was an unexpected bonus. The reception staff were helpful with guidance on the best way to travel to Manhattan.

We used the hotel shuttle bus to transfer to the hotel. You do this by taking the Airtrain to P4 (parking) and there are phones to call the hotel on the ground floor.

To get to Manhattan you can take the shuttle back to the airport, then transfer to the Airtrain to go to the NJ Transit railway station. The train takes 30 minutes to get to Penn Station in Manhattan. An alternative is to get the Newark Airport Express bus ($28) return to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (PABT) on West 42nd Street.

Overall a good hotel near the airport, which means you can also get into Manhattan should your time permit.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour organised by tours4fun in association with Supervacations. Barring the girl in the reception who didnt care who walked in or out, and was rude when I asked her if she has an adaptor as I come from India, my phone was dead. I had nothing to complain about. The rooms was spacious, clean, with a tea and coffee maker, a large tv, radio and alarm, clean toilets, room was cleaned daily. There was free wifi in the room which was a big relief. Only thing odd was that the sink was outside the bath room, literally in the bed room, and it woke up my wife when I went to brush my teeth. This is the first time I have come across a room like that, Though the hotel was next to the highway and near the airport, I never heard a thing. All in all, a very comfortable stay and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay. Food in the restaurant was pretty expensive, never tried, and there is nothing around, so carry some snacks with you.

Room Tip: If youre arriving into the US from any other country, make sure you carry an adaptor with you or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Needed a hotel room on very short notice close to Newark airport. I booked this one based on a good experience at another Holiday inn. Would definitely stay there again. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The bed wasn't great, but it was good enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I specially want to thank to Laurie for the great crisis management, for her smiling face(she didnt even didnt take the 50 bucks although she won the bet :) ) and thanks to warm kindness, helpfull behaviour to all hotel staff, although conditions were bad basing on SANDY HURRICANE and resources were insufficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

General Manager Laurie Allen and her team are one of the most professional, personable and caring staffs I've ever met. We moved to this hotel right before Hurricane/Superstorm Sandy hit, so that we'd be closer to the airport. The lobby and restaurant are simple (food is good) and the rooms are nice. When the storm hit, they were prepared - immediately shifting regular dinner service to free sandwiches and soup, and systematically handing out flashlights. When some key cards stopped working, they walked guests to their rooms to let them in (as many as 8 flights, with no elevator service). They provided power source from their generator for guests to charge cell phones. They even provided a flood light in the lobby. They kept everyone updated on news, airport status, etc. Only when they had exhausted all resources, did they finally evacuate, but they were prepared with available hotel recommendations. Best staff ever. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unfortunately, my sister and I were stuck in New Jersey during Hurricane Sandy. Fortunately, we spent that time at the Holiday Inn Newark Airport. Even though the hotel was without electricity, the staff fed us (at no charge), kept us informed, provided generators to charge cell phones and were unfailingly hospitable and upbeat even though they were exhausted and separated from their families at a difficult time as well. Since I returned home, I've heard extremely unpleasant stories about how other affected hotels handled their guests and I am so very grateful that we found this hotel with manager Laurie and her outstanding staff. Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newark Airport

Address: 450 Rt. 1 & 9 South (near Haynes Ave.), Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newark Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Announcements The Holiday Inn Newark Airport is now accepting reservations for arrivals after April 17, 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newark Airport Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.