We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service with Decent Food ,Lovely Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Rodizio (Newark) - CLOSED

Rio Rodizio (Newark)
1034 McCarter Highway, Newark, NJ 07102 (Newark Central Business District)
973 622 6221
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Newark Central Business District
Cross street: Bridge Street
New Jersey
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service with Decent Food ,Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was some of the best service I have ever had ! I was at a business dinner with husband and both of us are vegetarian .We were in a private room ,and when I told the waiter my problem ,he told me to go to the buffet where there were plenty of choices . There is too much oil on most of the food ,but I was able to find enough variety . When I told the waiter there was still nothing my husband would like ,the chef made a huge plate of a variety vegetables , nicely steamed and at no extra charge . The sangria was disappointing , but they brought a pitcher of ice water . The Creme Brule was very good , and the chunky rice pudding was outstanding . I would definitely return for the great staff and their flexibility !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, not the greatest service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Hostes seemed upset, waiter dissapeared,but overall food was great.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not a real rodizio”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My idea of a Rodizio is a place where when you leave, you have no space for anymore food. This place, I had to call many times ( after having my green sign on) still with no avail.
There have to be better places, I guess you get what you pay for. The advertise " all you can it" which relly means " all you can eat that we bring to your table"
Asking did not helped

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Delicious, Come Hungry and ready for MEAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I've eaten here several times, the last time in February 2012. They changed the buffet a bit since my previous visit and no longer serve french fries (to try and fill you up) but the food is still great. The service is great, lots of servers coming by with a large variety of delicious meats.

It's about $27 per person for the Rodizio Buffet on a Weekend and for all the food you get it's definitely worth it. There are salads, breads and cheeses available on the buffet line as well as hot items (ie: rice & beans, other sides dishes etc)

Try the Sangria! They also have a sushi bar a couple of TVs in the bar area if you have to wait for your table. It also looks like they have a couple of banquet rooms for big groups/parties as well.

We love to eat a light lunch and go hungry and get our moneys worth!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Rodizio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Like many others in the area but has huge parking lot and easy to get to. Be prepared for lot's of food. Go hungry......

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Rodizio (Newark) also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rodizio (Newark), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.