We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Clinton Ave., Newark, NJ 07108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Banff, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have travelled all over the US and Canada and stayed in hundreds of hotels ...This was the signle worst hotel experience of my life! I felt like I'd checked into a prison for the night! There was bullet proof glass on the font desk and a security escort to and from your car - this gives you an idea of what the area is like. There were mice runnning around in the rooms and the last people's mess still in the toilet. Wouldn't stay again if you paid me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    3
    24
See reviews for
1
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Ok so all the hotels in the area we needed where booked solid so we booked this hotel. We got there and yes the hotel is in a very very VERY bad area however I felt safe in the hotel.
Pros: Secured parking lot for only $5/day, staff was super friendly and nice, our room was huge (the size of a larges studio apt), yes it is a old hotel but our room was super clean, mattresses were new, 1 of them was comfy, wood floors, free wifi and fridge in room and lots of closet space and the ppl staying/living there were quite polite and very nice, close to newark airport, security escorts you to your car and to the room the first time you go to the room, window unit a/c that cooled the room quick, hotel entry door is locked at night

Cons: Hotel is in a VERY VERY bad area, one of the beds was hard but at least it was new and clean, its an older hotel that needs a facelift and a good scrub

Don't expect the Ritz Carlton bc it is not, but honestly I did not feel unsafe at any moment and Ive stayed in all sort of fancy and not so fancy hotels all over the world. Our room was very clean and the room was HUGE, staff was VERY friendly and super helpful, parking was cheap and a yucky McDonalds 1/2 block away. But keep in mind this is in a bad area so if you are someone who is bothered by that, take that in consideration, if u dont mind that, its a great cheap clean hotel to stay at. Great view from room. Its a historic building so its like stepping back in time, quite neat. I personally would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked the room on priceline.com - had a great picture and decent price. Once I got there (with my 2 month old) i was terrified. Horrible neigborhood, unfriendly staff - bed very old and uncomfortable, but bathroom and floors clean

Room Tip: Book your room offsite the street. Rooms towards the street are very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Mouse running across room, asked to move room, got no apology when reported and staff didnt seem to even care. When we moved rooms they seemed like it was an inconvenience to leave their private conversations.

Additionally the area is less than desirable, I basically stayed in the room the entire time as I was too scared to even go get water. When we were dropped off the taxi driver was reluctant to leave us there.. now we totally understand why.

It also has an uncanny resemblance to the hotel from the shining.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eight floor have fluffy rodents if you want a pet for your stay.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The neighbourhood is really scary, the place looked like the hotel from the shinning and the guy from the front desk had a look of Jack Nicholson...Coincidence? The room was of satisfactory standard but nothing good for the money you pay...However, there was something crawling across the floor which we thought was a lizard but when I put my light on my phone under the bed there was a mouse. My friend went to tell the guy at reception...no apology or refund offered or anything complementary just a change of room which we could not even get comfortable due to the prior rodent situation. Don't stay here If you want to get the plague because that's what mice carry or if you want to an axe through your door with a guy screaming heresssss Johnny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the hotel online and when we got there it was terrible. The staff was friendly but the hotel looked like it was haunted. The floors in the room were dirty and the beds were really hard. Also, people with low income live there and to be honest the place gave us all the creeps. We were outside like for one minute and already a random stranger told us 'You better take care'. It's not a good location and definitely not a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay there and have no other option then stay in the rooms on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went to this Hotel as all other airport hotels were full or without power after hurricane sandy. Wasn't expecting much but have stayed in plenty of hostels so have no problem with basic accommodation.

Turning up it looked rundown, staff friendly but tried to overcharge. We got a two double bed room, beds were uncomfortable and found little black curly hair on pillow as we got in.

Bathroom was clean but so run down that no amount of soap could make it clean.

The area around the hotel was very intimidating, got hassled for money for drugs on our walk to the only nearby eatery McDonald's. As 3 women we felt very intimidated.

At night the hotel became freezing and we probably had about 3 hours sleep what with this and the noise from the other 'guests' who seem to live there permanently.

I like other reviewers found a cockroach on our bed and have put a picture up!

Essentially DON'T go here unless the option is sleeping on the street. The airport is a safer,cleaner option.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 169 Clinton Ave., Newark, NJ 07108
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.