We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOUSE HUNT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Clinton Ave., Newark, NJ 07108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“MOUSE HUNT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The neighbourhood is really scary, the place looked like the hotel from the shinning and the guy from the front desk had a look of Jack Nicholson...Coincidence? The room was of satisfactory standard but nothing good for the money you pay...However, there was something crawling across the floor which we thought was a lizard but when I put my light on my phone under the bed there was a mouse. My friend went to tell the guy at reception...no apology or refund offered or anything complementary just a change of room which we could not even get comfortable due to the prior rodent situation. Don't stay here If you want to get the plague because that's what mice carry or if you want to an axe through your door with a guy screaming heresssss Johnny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    19
See reviews for
1
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the hotel online and when we got there it was terrible. The staff was friendly but the hotel looked like it was haunted. The floors in the room were dirty and the beds were really hard. Also, people with low income live there and to be honest the place gave us all the creeps. We were outside like for one minute and already a random stranger told us 'You better take care'. It's not a good location and definitely not a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay there and have no other option then stay in the rooms on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Went to this Hotel as all other airport hotels were full or without power after hurricane sandy. Wasn't expecting much but have stayed in plenty of hostels so have no problem with basic accommodation.

Turning up it looked rundown, staff friendly but tried to overcharge. We got a two double bed room, beds were uncomfortable and found little black curly hair on pillow as we got in.

Bathroom was clean but so run down that no amount of soap could make it clean.

The area around the hotel was very intimidating, got hassled for money for drugs on our walk to the only nearby eatery McDonald's. As 3 women we felt very intimidated.

At night the hotel became freezing and we probably had about 3 hours sleep what with this and the noise from the other 'guests' who seem to live there permanently.

I like other reviewers found a cockroach on our bed and have put a picture up!

Essentially DON'T go here unless the option is sleeping on the street. The airport is a safer,cleaner option.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

My sis and I booked a room on booking.com. the staff was ok. the place look more like psych ward. their was roaches in our room. I when to the front desk and complain about the roaches. the staff look at me like I was crazy. as I go back to my room this heavy set man enter the elevator with a big pot of food and loft of bread. I was shock to see this. my sister and I left the next day with out bathing because the bathroom is disgusting.

Is cheap but if you want to have a good time out of country or town. this place is not recommended, FALSE ADVERTISEMENT.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had concert tickets for the Prudential Center in Newark and was planing to drive South early next morning. I booked this hotel on BOOKING.COM because of a very low price for Saturday stay knowing that Newark is not a best area in NJ. All we needed was THE ROOF AND CLEAN BED and we got it ..Locked parking, solid old building, very attentive stuff, 24h security (which is a must in this area), big nice room, comfy bed, clean linen, fridge with bottled water, AC (very important in +100 outside), good water pressure, soap,shampoo, even candies! Unfortunately no option for breakfast and no hair blower! We did ask for no more for this price and left totally safe and happy next morning. Regarding comments from some previous reviews. They offer us two rooms to choose from: one was the two rooms suit for couple $$$ more (room with bed + sitting room w/couch, which just two of us didn't need), another one that we choose. Both was absolutely in satisfactory condition. Yes, it's old hotel but they doing their best considering a cleanliness, service and security and very passionate in their effort. We are experienced travelers and I just can say that for double, even triple amount of money you will not find similar hotel in New York, London or Zurich with a private Bath and good bed. My advice: have a realistic expectation and If you are looking for some nice furniture and fancy stuff - book elsewhere and pay much much more money (recently I been trying to book hotel in NY for my friends from Germany and finally gave up: over $120 for shared bath and rats in a hallway according to reviews).
TIPS:1. Don't expect to take a evening walk, area is to shady at dark. 2.If you are going to spend your time in Manhattan: it's possible (couple of bus stops from hotel to train station and TAXI from train back to hotel at evening $7-8). 3.Best choice for NEWARK AIRPORT for sleepover or just for rest and shower between flights,$12-15 taxi ride. 4. No eateries nearby, only MACDONALD, but plenty of nice Portugal and Spanish restaurants 5 min taxi drive. And plenty of flyers for delivery. 5. They advertise WI-FI, we didn't use it, just saw person on computer in the lobby

Room Tip: 1.Ask for "suit" for more then 2 person. 2.Ask for more quiet room not facing busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

walked in... staff was nice howvere I went to check out the room and walked right out... reminded me of a psyche ward .everything was old. place has lots of potential but its in serious need for renovation.seriously its an experience.it was a classy hotel for the ghetto.but like i said the security guy was nice enough to show me the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

If its near Robert Treat Best Western...stay away...I'm all for bargain but its a seedy looking short stay place..no thanks..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 169 Clinton Ave., Newark, NJ 07108
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.