We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok price, but sketchy surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Easthampton
1 review
“ok price, but sketchy surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

When driving up I was not pleased at all with the location, but I figured you get what you pay for. The staff was friendly enough. The room looked clean but sheets were stained and the air smelled funny and damp. Lastly when I got my final bill it was for more than I expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sandra B,

Hello I would like to apologize for any inconvenience our Howard Johnson team has been to you. I would like to say that the dampness in the air and the stained sheets have been taken care of and should not be of concern upon your next stay with us. We try to improve every part of our service every day and hope to hear the best from our guests, like you, of course. Thank you for your concerns. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    128
    188
    149
    197
See reviews for
177
151
129
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here one night when my flight was delayed. The reception area looks tired and the common areas need a thorough cleaning. The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to the airport - it was easy to get to and from there on the hotel shuttle. The worst thing about the hotel it its proximity to the airport, you can here the planes landing etc. You also pay for the proximity.
My room was clean and had TV, fridge, microwave etc. However, the toilet had a constant drip and the bathroom door did not shut properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lex175,

Hello, I would like to address your concerns as regards to your recent stay. I would like to apologize on the fact that we are in the process of trying to remove the exterior noise from the airport and planes to the best of our ability by putting some sound proofing in the walls and the roofs, as discussed with our engineer. The rooms however which is something we can fix very soon in terms of the loose bathroom door and the toilet drainage, and we have resolved it recently. Guaranteed by your next stay we will be able to provide you with a quite and relaxing room as all the issues will be mended. Otherwise, thank you very much for the review as we are able to understand what to do next. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we arrived late at the airport e waited a lot for the shuttle bus to pick us up. rude driver, squeezed more people than the bus could carry, I traveled with my luggages on the legs.
Once we get there the hotel had smoke smell and the people at the reception couldn't help us with food delivery, that was awful anyway! The room was dirty and I could hear other people talking in the corridor and in neighboring rooms. One word: Terrifying!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Russo_Allie,

Hello, I would like to apologize very much for the issues you have to face because situations like this do not occur everyday and it might have been a day where you might have hit a "rush hour moment" where a throng of people from the airport have rushed in. On the other hand the front desk is something that is our fault and their dissatisfying cooperation with you is completely irresponsible and rude and is not allowed by my standards. I have spoke to them about your situation and they will be sure to correct themselves by your next stay as this situation will not repeat. Once again thank you for your concerns. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.