We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Newark

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Newark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Newark
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    110
    147
    128
    181
See reviews for
148
128
104
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here one night when my flight was delayed. The reception area looks tired and the common areas need a thorough cleaning. The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to the airport - it was easy to get to and from there on the hotel shuttle. The worst thing about the hotel it its proximity to the airport, you can here the planes landing etc. You also pay for the proximity.
My room was clean and had TV, fridge, microwave etc. However, the toilet had a constant drip and the bathroom door did not shut properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Newark, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Lex175,

Hello, I would like to address your concerns as regards to your recent stay. I would like to apologize on the fact that we are in the process of trying to remove the exterior noise from the airport and planes to the best of our ability by putting some sound proofing in the walls and the roofs, as discussed with our engineer. The rooms however which is something we can fix very soon in terms of the loose bathroom door and the toilet drainage, and we have resolved it recently. Guaranteed by your next stay we will be able to provide you with a quite and relaxing room as all the issues will be mended. Otherwise, thank you very much for the review as we are able to understand what to do next. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we arrived late at the airport e waited a lot for the shuttle bus to pick us up. rude driver, squeezed more people than the bus could carry, I traveled with my luggages on the legs.
Once we get there the hotel had smoke smell and the people at the reception couldn't help us with food delivery, that was awful anyway! The room was dirty and I could hear other people talking in the corridor and in neighboring rooms. One word: Terrifying!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Newark, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Russo_Allie,

Hello, I would like to apologize very much for the issues you have to face because situations like this do not occur everyday and it might have been a day where you might have hit a "rush hour moment" where a throng of people from the airport have rushed in. On the other hand the front desk is something that is our fault and their dissatisfying cooperation with you is completely irresponsible and rude and is not allowed by my standards. I have spoke to them about your situation and they will be sure to correct themselves by your next stay as this situation will not repeat. Once again thank you for your concerns. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Newark

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Newark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.