We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All was okay!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Newark

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Newark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Newark
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    148
    184
    147
    182
See reviews for
145
128
103
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms clean enough...area surrounding hotel is scary...do not leave the building. Woke up the next morning to find there was no water in the building. Nothing was offered (i.e. a bottle of water) no apologies....after consulting with others in the area..they should have givine me a refund for the night. instead they knocked 7 dollars off. My shower and being clean for a traing class at the airport is worth way more than 7 bucks!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Newark, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Nicole F,

Hello I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. The situation with the no water supply was actually an issue by the town and was experienced to all the surrounding hotels. The area in which the hotel is located is something that I as a general manager am not able to change. However, to reassure you the location of the hotel is safe and there should not be any worries on your next stay with us. Thank you once again for writing this review so we are able to improve our service everyday. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was terrible, mainly due to the fact that in the morning, there was no water whatsoever, and the manager told us that there was a general water outage in the whole city, including Newark and New York. He made no offer of a refund or partial refund. We confirmed with fellow passengers on our flight and at the airport that this was indeed not the case at all - they were all able to have showers at 6 am, unlike us at the hotel. Therefore, we were forced to buy two bottles of water at an exorbitant price in order to brush our teeth. The hotel should refund me for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Newark

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Newark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.