We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    114
    158
    133
    189
See reviews for
159
134
110
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was terrible, mainly due to the fact that in the morning, there was no water whatsoever, and the manager told us that there was a general water outage in the whole city, including Newark and New York. He made no offer of a refund or partial refund. We confirmed with fellow passengers on our flight and at the airport that this was indeed not the case at all - they were all able to have showers at 6 am, unlike us at the hotel. Therefore, we were forced to buy two bottles of water at an exorbitant price in order to brush our teeth. The hotel should refund me for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here to use their sleep and fly program. It was the most inexpensive in the area. Everyone was helpful and kind. The room was very clean and large. I would use this hotel again if I was flying out of Newark International.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Ann21455,

My name is Neal Gandhi, general manager at the hotel, and I would like to thank you very much for the kind comments. Our sleep and fly program is becoming very popular around the area as others are adopting the same program but our prices are far better than anyone else's. I am glad that all of the guest's room's amenities were perfect and accomomdated your needs to the fullest as well as the overall value you got from your stay. I will be sure to congratulate my housekeeping staff based on your comments.Please do help us to spread the word about our program as much as possible. Once again thank you very much. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

So we booked this Hotel through Hotels.com. We wanted something close to the Cape Liberty Docks as we were boarding the RCL cruise ship Explorer of the Seas the next morning. We had originally booked another hotel but it turned out to be 2 hours away. So this one was our alternative through Hotels.com. We arrived on My 15th after a 9 hour drive from Pickering ON Canada and to our surprise the hotel was right next to the airport. Our room looked into the parking lot. Not a great view but for one night, good enough. The room itself was not the greatest but it sufficed our needs. We were at a bit of a lose as to where we would be able to get something to eat as this was basically an industrial area with nothing but a huge parking lot next door for the airport. Speaking of which the parking at the hotel was not included and cost an extra $15.00. So be prepared for that. To our delight the hotel had an in house restaurant that actually served very descent food. So with our stomachs full and wine and beer in our room that we brought with us our overnight sleep was acceptable even though we heard many planes land throughout the night that partially kept us awake. The staff upon check in were very friendly towards us and informative regarding the location of our room etc. I believe if you treat them right they will reciprocate in the same manner. So would I recommend this hotel. Yes if your expectations were not to high and you were just looking for a place to eat and rest your head for a reasonable cost. It is not a HIGH Class hotel. You must remember that when booking. They have a shuttle service for those using the airport. So if that is your purpose then book it.
Oh and if you are wondering....the cruise was great!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot so not knowing this hotel but for an overnight stay I would say where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear bags216,

Hello, I would like to thank you very much for the excellent review because you have hit every important and true fact about our hotel such as the level of service and amenities provided. It is very true that the hotel is not the most top notch hotel seen but for those on a budget this would definitely come first on their list. The parking fee of $15.00 is something that is a concern for many guests and I should say that it is taken only because the other hotels in the area have done the same, considering that our rates are lower than their rate. Nonetheless, we continue to provide excellent service to every guest as they are a priority for us. Thank you again for writing such kind words of praise and we hope to see you again soon. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.