We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll take Howard Johnson Newark airport anytime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    122
    176
    144
    194
See reviews for
169
145
121
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here to use their sleep and fly program. It was the most inexpensive in the area. Everyone was helpful and kind. The room was very clean and large. I would use this hotel again if I was flying out of Newark International.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Ann21455,

My name is Neal Gandhi, general manager at the hotel, and I would like to thank you very much for the kind comments. Our sleep and fly program is becoming very popular around the area as others are adopting the same program but our prices are far better than anyone else's. I am glad that all of the guest's room's amenities were perfect and accomomdated your needs to the fullest as well as the overall value you got from your stay. I will be sure to congratulate my housekeeping staff based on your comments.Please do help us to spread the word about our program as much as possible. Once again thank you very much. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

So we booked this Hotel through Hotels.com. We wanted something close to the Cape Liberty Docks as we were boarding the RCL cruise ship Explorer of the Seas the next morning. We had originally booked another hotel but it turned out to be 2 hours away. So this one was our alternative through Hotels.com. We arrived on My 15th after a 9 hour drive from Pickering ON Canada and to our surprise the hotel was right next to the airport. Our room looked into the parking lot. Not a great view but for one night, good enough. The room itself was not the greatest but it sufficed our needs. We were at a bit of a lose as to where we would be able to get something to eat as this was basically an industrial area with nothing but a huge parking lot next door for the airport. Speaking of which the parking at the hotel was not included and cost an extra $15.00. So be prepared for that. To our delight the hotel had an in house restaurant that actually served very descent food. So with our stomachs full and wine and beer in our room that we brought with us our overnight sleep was acceptable even though we heard many planes land throughout the night that partially kept us awake. The staff upon check in were very friendly towards us and informative regarding the location of our room etc. I believe if you treat them right they will reciprocate in the same manner. So would I recommend this hotel. Yes if your expectations were not to high and you were just looking for a place to eat and rest your head for a reasonable cost. It is not a HIGH Class hotel. You must remember that when booking. They have a shuttle service for those using the airport. So if that is your purpose then book it.
Oh and if you are wondering....the cruise was great!!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot so not knowing this hotel but for an overnight stay I would say where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear bags216,

Hello, I would like to thank you very much for the excellent review because you have hit every important and true fact about our hotel such as the level of service and amenities provided. It is very true that the hotel is not the most top notch hotel seen but for those on a budget this would definitely come first on their list. The parking fee of $15.00 is something that is a concern for many guests and I should say that it is taken only because the other hotels in the area have done the same, considering that our rates are lower than their rate. Nonetheless, we continue to provide excellent service to every guest as they are a priority for us. Thank you again for writing such kind words of praise and we hope to see you again soon. Go Happy Go Hojo !

Neal Gandhi (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Run down outside, airport runway approach extremely close that you hear the planes very well as they pass, purchased park, stay, and fly package that included 7 days parking: the industry standard is that the 7 days starts at check out, not at this location it starts the day you check in, why? Because the hotel does not own the parking that lot the hotel sits on. Therefore you are charged for another day. This also means you have to pay for parking, $15/day, just to stay at the hotel. Note: $15/day is about twice the cost of long-term parking. Also, the restaurant that is advertised leases the space so you can' t bill it to your room. The parking lot says at the entrance to talk to the security guard on your way in, there isn't one! So parking is not secure, just cameras. The spare blanket looked like someone threw up on it, took them 2 phone calls and 45 minutes to bring another one. If it wasn't late and I had an early flight, I would have left! Filed a complaint with Wyndham customer services do to parking issue. Waiting to see how this pans out. FYI, Howard Johnson hotels are franchises so they are only as good as their owners!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport

Address: 20 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Newark > Newark Airport and Port Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Miles from New York City, Manhattan.5 Miles from Met Life Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel - Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.