We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Airport Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden State Diner

Garden State Diner
Terminal C, Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07197 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)
(973) 648-6791
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 488 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Newark Airport and Port Newark
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What A Great Airport Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I never expected decent diner food at an airport, but Newark has this little gem. Almost makes me want to ply into Newark next time I go to NYC.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for a diner at an airport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have eaten breakfast here a couple of times now and it's been very good each time. Service was quick and efficient and I had my meal in 10 minutes or less. I had the Ham and eggs breakfast and it was very good. The portions were nice and the ham was a ham steak slice as compared to the pressed ham you sometimes get. Very tasty home fries and toast cam with the order and it was right around $12 ! I've only eaten breakfast here so I can't review on the lunch/dinner foods. If you're in Newark and need breakfast...go here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Just left the diner. Worst food and service ever in NJ, and maybe anywhere. Food doesn't match description on menu. Had to pick my check up with a napkin. Server sneezed into hand just before delivering with that hand.

Sent my complaint to email address on check. Three days still waiting for a reply.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Airport Resto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hearty diner food and fast/friendly service :) Definitely heading back during my next layover! Loved the retro decor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best breakfast at EWR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

As close to diner breakfast as you'll get at airport and better than any of the fast food kiosks. Generous portions for the price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden State Diner also viewed

 

Been to Garden State Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden State Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.