We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Airport Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden State Diner

Garden State Diner
Terminal C, Newark International Airport, Newark, NJ 07197 (Newark Airport and Port Newark)
(973) 648-6791
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Bars & Pubs in Newark
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Newark Airport and Port Newark
Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What A Great Airport Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I never expected decent diner food at an airport, but Newark has this little gem. Almost makes me want to ply into Newark next time I go to NYC.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkBCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for a diner at an airport!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have eaten breakfast here a couple of times now and it's been very good each time. Service was quick and efficient and I had my meal in 10 minutes or less. I had the Ham and eggs breakfast and it was very good. The portions were nice and the ham was a ham steak slice as compared to the pressed ham you sometimes get. Very tasty home fries and toast cam with the order and it was right around $12 ! I've only eaten breakfast here so I can't review on the lunch/dinner foods. If you're in Newark and need breakfast...go here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just left the diner. Worst food and service ever in NJ, and maybe anywhere. Food doesn't match description on menu. Had to pick my check up with a napkin. Server sneezed into hand just before delivering with that hand.

Sent my complaint to email address on check. Three days still waiting for a reply.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Safetyman677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Airport Resto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hearty diner food and fast/friendly service :) Definitely heading back during my next layover! Loved the retro decor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SiamesePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best breakfast at EWR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

As close to diner breakfast as you'll get at airport and better than any of the fast food kiosks. Generous portions for the price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden State Diner also viewed

 

Been to Garden State Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing