We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok . .” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Willow Marketplace and Eatery - CLOSED

Blue Willow Marketplace and Eatery
12 Village Rd, New Vernon, NJ
(973) 267-1660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Mill Road
Flanders, NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Just ok . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful, charming restaurant with attached small marketplace. Nice ambiance, somewhat slow service for dinner. We thought it was overpriced - four of us had stir fry and and three of us had an add'l. cup of soup as an appetizer. No drinks and bill was $124. Food was tasty though and I would go back for brunch, but would not go back for dinner. Rather limited dinner menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joisy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a darling quaint treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a lovely Sunday Breakfast..What a special Find,, I am originally from the area and never heard of this place, imagine my surprise when a friend suggested it. I could not wait to see it..and I was not disappointed. I had the ham and cheese crepes, which were stuffed very full of ham and cheese, which came with a small serving of fresh fruit no bread, and I would have thought this place would have some home made biscuits but it was really enough food. 2 Crepes and I think it was approx $12. . Everything was perfect. It could have been a tad warmer, but we sat there so long chatting and enjoying the ambiance that it would have gotten cool anyway. The coffee was perfect, the size of the mugs generous. My friend had a special - english breakfast, eggs, tomatoes, beans I'm not sure what else, but it was fabulous. It could have come with toast I'm not even sure. The decor was darling, as mall store in the foyer, with some specialty cakes and pies and meats, and some freezer items, I am still thinking I should have purchased one of those luscious looking pot pies in the freezer. There were cute candles and some soaps and teas. The bathrooms were even adorable. I would love the owner to come to my house and redo it LOL. Restuarant isn't too big, parking is huge, and the country road that leads to the eatery was such a pretty ride, it's so worth it, I will be back soon with more friends. What a treasure..so sweet and romantic I LOVED it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delightful Space But Uneven Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a very engaging restaurant in a delightful space. A little bit off the beaten path in a small shopping area next to a post office. The country decor is spot on and enhances the dinning experience. Sadly though the food doesn't equal the decor. It is good and sometimes very good. Its unevenness is frustrating. You leave wanting to like the food more than you have. For example, the bread basket arrives after a considerable wait only to find that some of the rolls have frozen centers and show other signs of being defrosted. Other courses also showed signs of being prepared and microwaved and the like just prior to being served. There are clearly some signs of skill and brilliance that manage to show forth. The mushroom bisque (whether reheated or not) was sublime. Thick and redolent of good, earthy mushrooms. The pulled pork bar-b-que was overly sweet and mushy; again suggesting reheating was at play. A pork chop special was well prepared and accompanied by a nice selection of sides. The meat though wasn't of first quality, more like the grade one comes across in a grocery store. I must confess you do leave wanting this restaurant to succeed despite itself. One last note, the service was as slow as previously mentioned by a reviewer and it seemed that they were sullen and didn't care about anything. I hope I'm wrong about that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wish they would get the service and freshness right.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

They have a great lunch especially the love burger. Service is much too slow. I waited 30 minutes for my take out which consisted of 3 simple sandwiches. I have had pastries and cakes there often but I stopped when the croissants were clearly old and the desserts were clearly not freshly made because one side of the cake is always stale. They need to pay attention to freshness and not serve items that are clearly too old to serve, because recipes and ingredients are very good. Need more staff during meal hours. Get this right and it will be the perfect place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is a BEAUTIFUL place to sit, relax and have a delicious meal. Absolutely loved the decor and the feel of it all. Wish they could lower some of the prices or offer lower priced specials, but overall it is a wonderful experience to go there. Very warm and friendly waitress for breakfast. Wish I could go there every day! It is special.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Willow Marketplace and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Willow Marketplace and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.