We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in Downtown of New Brunswick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heldrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Heldrich to your Saves list
The Heldrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in Downtown of New Brunswick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall rating is very good. I was there for 3 weeks and I felt the hospitality is the best. But, even better service can be rendered for the amount they charge.

Pros:
1. Location is excellent, center of the downtown New Brunswick.
2. Hospitality.
3. Rooms and Cleanliness.
4. Hotel shuttle anywhere up to 5 miles of hotel radius.

Cons:
1. Microwave and Refrigerator are not available in the rooms (Even in the King Rooms).
2. Laundry charges are pretty high.
3. No self parking available. Only valet parking ($25/night).

Room Tip: Choose even number rooms, so that you will get a view of City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed our prime location, the hospitality extended by our staff, the complimentary shuttle and the upkeep of the rooms. We are also grateful for your positive review about the Heldrich on the Trip Advisor. Some of our rooms actually do include a small refrigerator. These rooms are categorized as the corner kings (HCK) and are priced slightly higher. We also do offer self-parking through the NBPA for $20 per day. It will be our distinct pleasure to welcome you back at the Heldrich in the future. We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    136
    64
    19
    14
See reviews for
63
85
33
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I just booked one night here and stayed in a standard room. It was very clean and comfortable and everything was great. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Cons -

Parking is only available in a parking garage that is about $20 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room with the view, the hospitality of our staff, our fabulous location in the center of New Brunswick's theater and restaurant district and also the proximity to the train station. Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

An exceptionally friendly and comfortable hotel, I stayed for four nights and will definitely be going back next time I am in the area. It is very convenient for Rutgers University and for New York...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are delighted that the Heldrich location near Rutgers and comfort met your expectations. Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a wonderful room overlooking New Brunswick. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. New Brunswick is a great city and this hotel is in the middle of it all. The train station is a few blocks away.
I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We very much appreciate your generous endorsement of the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Big cities always have an issue - PARKING ! This issue here - this is not a big city yet parking is an issue. I hate paying to park.
When driving up to the hotel entrance loop there is a sign "VALET PARKING" that indicates to me that non-valet cars are unwelcome, so I parked in the rear of the hotel at premium parking pricing, as there is no other place to park. Since there is no one attending the parking, you can't go in and out by paying a full day's rate. Each time you go in and out, you pay. Valet parking might be a better deal but I don't trust my new vehicle to people I don't know.
Since there is no rear hotel entrance, one walks over a block with baggage to get to the hotel entrance.
No doubt, I am more familiar with hotels that are not inner city. This would be a perfect hotel if needing accommodations near by the local events or for Rutgers but I did not. It's even more perfect for those who arrive by train or bus.
Getting to the accommodations - the hotel is solid. The rooms are beautiful with heavy duty furnishings and a quality HD TV. Even so, I did have a bathroom hook fall off the wall in hanging my clothing. . . just a minor screw tightening needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a little lag in locating the chef when having breakfast at Christopher's but the lavish buffet was excellent. The pool was somewhat hidden on the 3rd floor. Maybe that's why we were the only ones to be in there enjoying the warm water and quiet relaxation. Fresh towels and lounge chairs gave reason to kick back and enjoy after a refreshing swim.
Would I recommend The Heldrich Hotel ? Absolutely, but if parking was included in the accommodations there would not be any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your very kind comments about our property on Trip Advisor. The parking garage is operated by the New Brunswick Parking Authority. If a self-park option is chosen, our guests are free to drop off their luggage out front before they proceed to park their vehicle at the garage around the corner so it does not have to be carried back to the hotel. However, we agree that the parking signage may be confusing and this has been brought to the attention of NBPA for remediation. We are grateful for your suggestions and look forward to welcome you back at the Heldrich soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed over during a recent stay. Nice location, quite easy to get to New York from here (train station is just a couple of blocks away and goes straight to Penn Station). Very friendly staff, good service and excellent breakfast. Well recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel. We look forward to being your host again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Situated in the heart of downtown New Brunswick what better place to stay than the Heldrich. This was my second visit and the 3rd visit by myself or my wife within a year. The location is brilliant, a short walk from the train station and close proximity to a varied selection of theatres, restaurants, bars and pubs offering good night time entertainment without impacting upon the stay at the hotel. Ideally situated for anyone visiitng Rutgers University or just spending some time with a student in the family especially if they are am international student. Thoroughly recommended to anyone visiting New Brunswick, I would have no hesitation in returning to the Heldrich in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms ending 01 are not adjoined to any other room, ignore the fact that you look out onto the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We are happy your stay at the Heldrich was an enjoyable one and very much appreciate your kind review on the Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcome you back soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heldrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich

Address: 10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Heldrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heldrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.