We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Contemporary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heldrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Heldrich to your Saves list
The Heldrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean and Contemporary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

2nd time here. Comfortable clean and modern. Rooms are very nice. Beds are very good. The bar is good too. Modern and good selection.

Gym is small but suitable.

Only issue is the food. It's 2 plus stars at best. Had issues last time we were here and they obviously have not been addressed. A shame. Would have been 5 stars if they brought a decent chef in.

Maybe someone in management there will finally listen.

All that being said would stay again. Just make sure to eat elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We appreciate your comments about the Heldrich hotel. It is comments like yours that assist us in further enhancing our guest service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    123
    59
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
75
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here when attending a conference at Rutgers Uinversity. The hotel reception staff were welcoming and helpful with directions and ordering taxis, the room was clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from one night when we had the formal conference dinner there, during which the service was good with a friendly waiter. I was expecting a parcel to arrive so was surprised when I was given someone elses package - we had the same first name but I couldn't understand such a basic error.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich hotel. We also regret there was a mix up with your package delivery and investigated it to make sure this won't happen again. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We came here for a weekend with our family. We rented a few rooms plus a conference room. for some reason they decided to split us up & put us on different floors & refused to give us extra table & chairs so we had to bring our own. The hotel is actually very nice rooms are pretty decent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the Heldrich. Guest comments such as yours assist us in further improving our facilities and services. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests' expectations. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

When we checked in, we were not told where the elevators were so we had to search for them. We felt stupid when we were told that they were to the right of the registration desk (in what looks like a hallway).

If you go on line and prepay for your hotel stay, there is a tremendous discount. Including taxes, it cost less than $90 for a one night stay (not including parking). The rooms are large although our room did not have a view. The negative about this hotel is the housekeeping staff. On Sunday morning about 9:30 AM, there was a knock on the door. Housekeeping wanted to straighten the room. We were just getting dressed and told them later. Five minutes later, housekeeping walked into the room (without knocking). Obviously we told them, "later".

Several questions arise. 1) We were checking out so why were they trying to straighten the room before check out? 2) There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign for us to hang on the door so that this would not have happened.

We had brunch in the restaurant. It was quite extensive although the smoked salmon was not replenished while we were there. (Maybe it was replenished after we left)?

Parking is additional and it is not cheap. It was $25 for valet parking and $17 for self parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the Heldrich. We regret that we fell short of your expectations. The appropriate department managers are counseling their respective staff reports to improve the service in those areas where deficiencies occurred. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to New Brunswick! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

New Brunswick isn't far from me, but my boyfriend and I spent the weekend here so we could get away for a little.... We loved it! Friendly staff and amazing spa! The room was modern and clean. We didn't get a chance to eat at Christopher's... Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Molly, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments about our accommodations are also very much appreciated. Christopher's Restaurant and Bar offers fine dining at a reasonable prize and we hope you will have the opportunity to sample some of our culinary delights on your next visit. Thank you and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at the Heldrich for 2 nights in November during a conference. The room was quiet, very comfortable, spacious and elegantly appointed. The bed was large and luxurious. I had room service twice: it was prompt and the food was delicious. The staff on front desk were pleasant and helpful. The bar was great. The breakfast was superb. I had some time before my flight, which I spent in the spa. I had an excellent massage and felt really pampered. My only slight criticism was the dinner which I had in the restaurant -- only mediocre. I would recommend this fine hotel to anyone who travels to New Brunswick.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, bar and spa. I will pass on your comments to the staff as I am sure they will be happy to hear about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We found the front desk, valet and bellmen to be really helpful and personable. Great drinks in the bar, excellent location with lots within walking distance. We got a ride in the shuttle to the train and easily zipped into NYC.
The downsides were minor or not really the fault of the hotel. I wasnt impressed by some elements of the room.. the ceiling in the shower was patched and crappy looking. The edge of the bed had a stain on the box spring- just cosmetics though. Beds were comfy. There were screaming children running up and down the hallways. No place to separate recyclables either.
I would stay again for the service and value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear about the Front Office Staff and Valet. We do strive to be the best we can. I also would like to thank you for your comments about the items that need some attention. I will pass along to my staff so we can focus on those areas. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heldrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich

Address: 10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Heldrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heldrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.