We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heldrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Heldrich to your Saves list
The Heldrich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Strong Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at the Heldrich this past week for a business trip; the conference was held at a nearby hotel. In looking for an alternate location to attend this conference, the ability to easily walk to the conference, as well as local food options, was the most important to me. After investigating on TripAdvisor, both reviews and maps, the Heldrich fit the bill.

The hospitality was superb, starting with pulling in to the front door (valet is a separate company, but very easy to navigate and only slightly more than self-park - plus valet provides in and out privileges and self-park did not). The hotel is located on Congress Square, a cute, very small park. Check in was easy and so was finding the room.

The room itself was spacious with thoughtful touches - coffee bar, two closets, luggage rack, desk, ample outlets, all important for a business trip. The bed was extremely comfortable and the black out curtains did their job. My view was of the rooftop, but also a spectacular sunset each evening. I did not request a hotel facing downtown, so did not expect it. A few things kept this hotel from being a five star experience - the television was a tube, not flatscreen, and its location within a wardrobe made it hard to watch from all angles (I had to be in bed or the armchair - I could not see it from the desk). Additionally, the hotel door latch (the one that allows you to open the door slightly but remain safe) was falling apart from the door - it is supposed to be secured by three screws but one was missing and the other two were loose. I felt plenty secure with the location and electronic and deadbolt - this was not the issue - but was concerned by their lack of upkeep here.

Finally, it is very easy to walk to many locations in downtown New Brunswick from the Heldrich. Lots of sit down and quick food options, a few drugstores, multiple banks, plus it looked like there was many cultural options as well. I felt safe as streets were well-traversed.

Overall, I would stay here again and appreciated the hospitality and overall aesthetics, as other reviews have noted. A few minor improvements (televisions, upkeep) would make this five-stars.

Room Tip: It is clear when you are booking (at least it was for me) whether you are reserving a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to say we have new flat screen T.V’s in all guest rooms and have updated our Fitness Center as well. We are constantly doing preventive maintenance so we will look at all safety latches in the rooms and make appropriate repairs. We so hope to see you soon. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    123
    59
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
75
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been coming to The Heldrich hotel since its opening with my family. We always get a two bedroom suite at this property. The suite is incredibly large and accommodating for my family of five. The living room / parlor has a eight / 10 person dining table, an extra full bathroom, pull-out sleeper sofa and a nice kitchen area with a small refrigerator. We have hosted 20 or so people in this suite for a small social gathering in past years. Our children especially love the indoor pool. If you have business in New Brunswick or are visiting for any reason this hotel offers the best suite in the area. My review is based on several years of great stays. Put this one on your list for best properties in the area.

Room Tip: The suite is a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest and for taking the time to write about The Heldrich. We are very happy that you have chosen us to bring your family and friends. We do look forward to your next visit and thank you again for taking the time to write a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a smart and comfortable hotel with a really nice atmosphere. It is well designed, with spacious public areas with high ceilings and with good sized rooms. A special attractive feature is the display of works by local artists, notably the stunning work that greets you as you enter, an art nouveau style piece by Kenneth Leap, called Garden of Hesperides. The rooms are very quiet and have comfortable beds and decent bathrooms - though a shaving/make-up mirror would be useful. The staff are most obliging and the hotel shuttle bus is always at your disposal so a taxi is rarely required. Breakfast buffet is good quality. Altogether, a really nice hotel that is unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the art work throughout our facility. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff, room accommodations, shuttle service and breakfast. I also appreciate your comments about the shaving/make up mirror and I will look into it. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and nice. On the downside, there isn't a refrigerator in the room. The food in the restaurant (lunch) was really good. The hotel is across the street from the State Theater. The train station and a lot of restaurants are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel and hope to have the privilege accommodating you again in the near future. Our corner king rooms do come equipped with refrigerators. We also lend refrigerators upon request for $25 per night based on availability. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Each time we go to New Brunswick, there is no question that we will stay at the The Heldrich. Staff is always professional and courteous. Rooms are nice and clean. Bed is comfortable, but a bit too much bleach in sheets. Hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, which is great. Right across street from State Theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about the staff and the convenient location of the Heldrich Hotel. We are grateful for your loyal patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The check in process was simple and my room was of a good standard; clean, spacious and very comfortable.

All of the meals I had, whether breakfast,evening or dinner were excellent. There was plenty of choice and meal times and the conference spaces were well stocks with hot and cold drinks and snacks.

The gym is utterly inadequate. There are only 6 pieces of CV equipment, which is sinmply not enough for a business hotel, where guests are likely to be using the gym prior to the start of the working day. The pool is adjacent to the gym, so the air conditioning struggles to maintain an appropriate temperature and humidity.

The hotel is located in New Brunswick, with lots of Rutgers University student facilities around. Not exactly a holiday destination, but perfectly adequate for business.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments about the Heldrich Hotel's food offerings and a convenient business location on Trip Advisor. We also agree with your constructive comments about the Fitness Center. You may be happy to know that our Fitness Center was remodeled since your last visit. We replaced flooring and also updated all the equipment. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I found The Heldrich while searching for a stopover mid-way between Richmond, VA and Providence, RI. I checked the Bed Bug Registry and found there had been no incidences, so it seemed like a great place for the price ($99)!

I had to make a few phone calls prior to our arrival and the front desk staff was courteous, helpful and followed up with me unexpectedly to ensure my satisfaction. We arrived late, but check-in was really easy, and we were greeted by the doorman, who was friendly and conversational and very accommodating, unloading our care and bringing the luggage cart up to the room. We were more than happy to have the extra set of hands. The valet parked our car. The Heldrich is a gorgeous, new-looking, boutique hotel with comfortable furniture in the lobby and beautiful art work.

The room was small, but clean and modern looking and the pack n' play we requested was in the room, ready for our baby. The beds were comfortable and the curtains completely blocked the lights from the city. The bathroom was sufficient for our needs and it was clean. Also, our view was of a rooftop below our floor, so if you want to look out on downtown, you may need to make a special request.

For runners, the streets had sidewalks and the hotel appeared to be centrally located downtown, with a grid-like layout, therefore, easy to find if you took a wrong turn!

We noticed when we arrived that there appeared to be active nightlife nearby. And, we went for a walk in the morning and found some restaurants for breakfast. Unfortunately, we found the hotel's restaurant to be too expensive for breakfast (breakfast entree's were in the $11-$13 range, with few provisions for kids). Even still, the customer service at the hotel restaurant was excellent, when I went in and requested warm water for a bottle, they happily obliged.

Upon check-out, the doorman volunteered to help load our car while we settled the kids and, because it is located right near Interstate 95, we were back on the highway in minutes.

We'd definitely stay at The Heldrich again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_R_08901, Front Office Manager at The Heldrich, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We very much appreciate your kind comments about the staff and the location of the Heldrich Hotel on Trip Advisor. Our Fitness Center has been remodeled and all the guest rooms are now updated with HDTVs. We hope to accommodate you at the Heldrich soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heldrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heldrich

Address: 10 Livingston Avenue, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
Location: United States > New Jersey > New Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in New Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heldrich 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Heldrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick
Heldrich New Brunswick
Heldrich Hotel New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heldrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.