We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, been coming here for over 15 years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clydz

Clydz
55 Paterson St, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-2296
732-846-6521
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Clydz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 163 restaurants in New Brunswick
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring Street and Elm Row
Transit: The restaurant is just 2 blocks from the New Brunswick train station, on the NJ Transit Northeast Corridor Line.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, been coming here for over 15 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the staff, incredible unique menu, there's something for everyone, from amazing burgers and bar menu to fine dining and fantastic drink menu!! I've been coming here for over 15 years and its one if my my favorite places in New Brunswick!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    60
    36
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I find the food to be of high quality. Never have been disappointed with my drinks or food whenever I go there. Its a very very very small intimate place. A lot of people like to hang out there. If you want to beat the crowd I suggest getting there right before happy hour so that you can have a seat. If not be prepared to stand

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A recent visit to Clydz revealed it to be a good, maybe slightly above average place to eat. Maybe its me but this place didn't live up to the other reviews I seen here. A group of us (4) ate here on recent Tuesday. The bar area was quite like a traditional American or even Irish bar and there was a good selection of cocktails and a few interesting draft beers. Sadly the restaurant area looks in need of a good scrubbing, the carpet was right out of the 70s a dark green monstrosity of a thing. The general feeling was of an lodge or club in need to a good overhaul.
There is a good and interesting selection of food on offer, Kangroo, Rattle Snake, wild boar. We had crab cakes, the daily special BBQ beef ribs and 2 orders of dry rubbed pork.

Green salad was served with olive oil and a sort of balsamic jam. A good balsamic vinegar would have been must more welcome. Salad leaves were nicely fresh and good quality.

The pork, sadly, was dry, although nicely cooked, it was over-lean and hence devoid of flavour. there was no sauce (not even apple) and the accompanying sweetcorn fries were soggy and over salted, the sweetcorn wholly unremarkable. As with many American places meat and vegetables are generally over salted and deserts overly sweet.

Unlike the pork the ribs were on the fatty side but they were well seasoned, had a nice BBQ sauce and very nicely cooked.

My friend who had the crab cakes ate 3 and left the 4th , he wasn't full just disappointed and didn't want to eat any more.

The place was busy and there were tables of 6 and 8 having a great time.
The service was excellent, friendly and efficient.

The general feeling was the place could do with a bit of an over haul and the food a bit of a reboot. Its very slightly above average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Exotic Meats and More?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took our son to Clyde's for his birthday. He loved it! We all did! We had reservations and arrived a little early. Were seated immediately. The very professional and friendly server brought water and bread and explained the specials. Hubby and son couldn't wait to dig in to some exotic meats. They started with the python ravioli, which they both really liked. Son ordered the game sampler which featured the wild boar, rattlesnake sausage and antelope steak, along with some excellent sides. Hubby had the kangaroo loin. Both agreed everything was good, but both liked the kangaroo best of all. I don't eat meat, so settled for the scallops and homemade fettucini. It was fantastic. We also had an excellent bottle of wine! Our server even wished our son a happy birthday! We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's your game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Go after happy hour if you want just drinks! There is a full dining room in back serving varieties of game. We started off with foi goux delicate and nicely presented. My husband had enjoyed his sampler game platter consisting of rattlesnake sausage, wild boar and antelope with veggie sides. I had a disappointing lobster special. The peppers and artichoke were bit overpowering for the delicate sweet lobster meat. Still a class act place who took care of a round of drinks to make up for it. Don't come across that too often. Laura our waitress was great, knowledgeablea, and made personal drink suggestions.
Large selection of martinis drinks and beers. Although in a college town it serves all and fit for even an intimate dining experience.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clydz also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Clydz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clydz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.