We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot that won't break the bank!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bay Restaurant

Old Bay Restaurant
61-63 Church St, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
+1 732-246-3111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Bay Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 165 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Neilson Street
Description: The Old Bay restaurant is New Brunswick, NJ's premier New Orleans-style restaurant. Join us for amazing food, drinks, and entertainment today! Our dinner menu features gourmet Fresh Creole and Cajun cuisine, steaks, and seafood. Our award-winning draft beer list features 22 taps pouring the finest micro-brewed, imported, and domestic beer you can find! Enjoy a drink from our full bar; a hurricane or a mint julep will nicely compliment your meal. We have got a specialty drink for everyone! After 10pm, our restaurant transforms into a sophisticated nightlife sop with outrageous drink promotions and the best live entertainment in town. We have multiple festivals, events, and specials with tons of food, entertainment, and fun. It's never too early to plan for Mardi Gras - we always have the biggest and best celebration around. Join us for an amazing meal, fun drinks, and a crazy night soon!
New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot that won't break the bank!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Thursday nights are the best! Jeffro, the resident DJ, plays EDM and Top 40 mixes all night long. Drinks are priced really well. Buy a round for your friends and you'll be pleasantly surprised with your tab.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    29
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good first time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came here for girls night out and it was a great experience, the food was good (wish they had more to offer those who do not eat beef or pork). I tried the swamp water and loved it. I wanted to get money from the ATM and it only dispensed $20 and was out of order after that and the manager promptly reimbursed my $2 surcharge

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Cajun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the place for the best Cajun in New Jersey, hands down. The restaurant offers numerous delicious options, the staff has a deep knowledge about every dish on the menu and is able to offer you advice/insights about it. There's a nice private area upstairs, with dim lights, perfect for a date. But if your looking for a place to go with a group of friends or a girls night out, the downstairs area next to the bar provides tons of fun. A must visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“WOW - southern cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came Here before theater. The place was hopping, boisterous, and fun. We shared shrimp and grits, and the cat balls. The grits were cheesy and creamy, the shrimp were beautiful. The Catfish was under seasoned in itself but the sauce with spicy, then My husband had the étouffée and I ordered jambalaya. I thought the étouffée was magnificent he said it had been better before. The jambalaya had plenty of sausage and chicken, and was spiced well. The beer selection was extensive and something for everyone. The room was noisier than I like but it is a college town

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Cajun food in NJ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Seafood jambalaya was great! Crawfish étouffée was good too. Very nice atmosphere. Large portions, so you may want to consider splitting, or have enough for another meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bay Restaurant also viewed

New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Old Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.