We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destination Dogs

Destination Dogs
101 Paterson St, New Brunswick, NJ
732-993-1016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 165 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

2nd time I've been here and each dog I've had is better than the last. Had the Conquistadog this visit and it was outstanding. Staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was great. Only complaint was the beer selection on tap. Did not care for the beer we had and most were IPA's.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME FANCY HOT DOGS & SAUSAGES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Let me start by saying this place is AWESOME!!! The food is great, the atmosphere is great and the service excellent. We had a waiter called David who was a worth of knowledge with the menu and recommendations of drinks. You have to come here. I loved everything about this place and will be going again in the Summer.
Just a word of advise: make sure you go "before" Rutgers University is in session because it gets sure packed and the wait is long for a table. We went on Saturday, May, 24th and we were sited immediately no wait at all.
The only con is that they don't offer parking so you have to park on the street but if you go at night you are able to park across the street in a parking lot.
Love this place. I wish the owners much luck in this place and have to stay they did a phenomenal job in every aspect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you want a relaxed place to eat the best hot dogs, waste no time coming here. I have been here twice and absolutely love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fancy Hot dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love the concept of the restaurant, and they make the hot dogs themselves. The atmosphere is great. For some reason, sounds in the place seem to get trapped and it can sound noisy in there. The hot dogs are a little hard to eat because there are so many toppings on them, but they are delicious. The bun can overwhelm the hot dog a little bit but you need a serious bun to be able to hold all the toppings. They also have a small game room in the back. I would definitely recommend the place and have been back a few times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I love everything about that place. Food service and atmosphere, especially hot dogs!

Would highly recommend this place!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destination Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Destination Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destination Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.