We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Famous Dave's
23 US Highway 1, New Brunswick, NJ 08901
(732) 296-9009
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 165 Restaurants in New Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pretty Good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have eaten at this Famous Dave’s several times, not only is the food pretty good and the service attentive, there is also a Multi Screen Movie Theater across the parking lot.
This is the place my Grandchildren like to eat, so this is where we go when they’re visiting.
Every time you visit this Famous Dave’s (I can’t speak for the others) the Waitress/Waiter explain the six BBQ sauces that are on the table in squirt bottles, they range from sweet to blazing hot, the Wait staff leaves a bowl of fresh potatoe chips so you may sample the sauces.
The food is standard chain BBQ, not great but then again not bad, we enjoy it and the terrific service that we receive.
Oh a little side note; there is a little Cemetery in the back of the parking lot, see: http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/13523

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Park, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

the food was extremely salty, will not visit the restaurant again.
the only thing I liked was the bread, the servers were very nice and the place was very nice, but like I said he food was verey salty.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I had eaten at another Famous Dave's location, so I was familiar with the menu and decor.

The menu is southern but the decor is New Englandy.

I always order the ribs which fall off the bone, love the bbq sauce and cornbread.

Service is what you would expect at a busy chain; pleasant waiters/waitresses.

This location is next to a very busy cinema multiplex, so the best time to go is in between show times.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Finger Lickin good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very good but traditional (nothing fancy or unique) BBQ. Ribs can be inconsistent but usually is very good. And their Wings are excellent. No frills (rolls of paper towels on tables) and food is rushed so you are too at times. If you want to have a slow dinner and linger - not the place for you.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Decent chain - good for a hungrey meat eating crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I have been a bunch of times. Typically with a crowd of dedicated meat eaters so we get the large platter. The food is good - straight forward BBQ with a selection of suaces - corn on the cob, corn muffins, slaw. What is not to like>

The down side is that it is a chain and the help changes quickly so some inexperienced and daffy waitstaff have been encountered. The place can be cold - AC too high bring a sweater all year! Sometimes it seems a little factoryish and not personal - turning down the AC would help make it warmer in several ways and turning down the canned sounding music would help as well. In general this is a good value and on the nights that we have had good wat staff it is a fun family kind of place.

One 80 dollars platter can feed six people.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.