We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Jumping Brook Road, Neptune, NJ 07753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Neptune
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not a bad option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for business/leisure in August. Had 2 1 bedroom suites. My rooms were supposed to have fully equipped kitchens though neither had ovens, which was very disappointing. The lady at the front desk and housekeeping said that they would look into it but I never heard back from anyone. The walls are really very thin and you can hear every bit of noise from the other rooms. Luckily, I am not very bothered noise. The two people who checked me in were great and professional (ugh, I don't recall their names). Only miscommunication was that I was advised by another gentleman at the counter that said I needed to pay with my government card in order to receive my government rate. My office clarified with Marriott that this information was incorrect. Luckily, this was a non-issue and I was able to pay however I wanted upon check out. Only access to the washroom was through the bedroom which is inconvenient when travelling with children or any other people. Housekeeping arrived early everyday (before 9 am) but I was up/out early so this was not an issue for me - more of an issue for other people in my party. Breakfast was pretty good. Only had dinner at the hotel one night and it was ok (fried chicken). Business centre was good. Wi-fi was good but I supplemented with my rocket stick when there was a lot of congestion. There is a Target, Sears and Burlington Coat Factory in the area (about 10 min drive). Walmart, McDonalds and Outlets are within walking distance or a 1 minute drive. There is not much in the area by way of attractions but the location is a decent stopover if you are on business or if you are en route to other places (NYC, Atlantic City, Six Flags).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for reviewing and sharing your experience, apologies for not educating you on the design of our rooms prior to your arrival. In future less than 10% of the rooms are equipped with a full oven which is primarily our two bedroom suites that also have two separate bathrooms for your convenience. Rate rules for eligibility are posted for the Government Rate on Marriott.com for each hotel. My apologies for any confusion that we may have created and hope that your next visit to Jersey Shore will be with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
19
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband had a recent business trip to NYC and we were looking for a good compromise that allowed us to go to the beach while he was working. This hotel provided us a good option. This hotel is located right off the Garden State Parkway and close to the Prime Outlet-Tipton Falls. It is also located close to a Walgreens, Walmart, McDonalds and Arbys. It is about a 10 minute drive to the beach. I would recommend visiting Avon Beach. There are not many options to stay on the beach. It is nice to have a good breakfast in the morning and the option to make lunch or dinner if you don't want to eat out. The hotel is relatively clean, although there were times when we were not left toiletries or the dishes were not washed. The hotel was not busy during the week, but we could hear our neighbors talking next to us. I understand that this hotel can be quite busy on the weekend and I am sure noise could be a concern with children running around. There is a no party policy at this hotel,of which you must sign a paper acknowledging this when you check in. Additionally, the beds were very hard. Overall, this is a nice hotel and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for letting us be your choice while visiting Jersey Shore, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. Your comment about the cleaning of the dishes daily makes us realize that perhaps a note to our guest that only dishes in the sink or dishwasher will receive service. It is so helpful when our guest as you take the time to let us know how we are doing and what could make the next stay better. We look forward to having you back and once again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Four-story Residence Inn (RI) -- just over 100 suites. Good quality, consistently reliable:

• Comfortable, clean, modern RI. Meets expectations of pleasant, functional, roomy accommodations.

• Good breakfasts. (Hoped for additional healthy options & more variety -- particularly for longer stays or repeat visits: Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh fruit.)

• Nice evening meals -- with some *different/non-standard* RI fare. (Won't say -- so surprised isn't ruined for new guests.) *Variety* is much appreciated for those with steady diet of rote hotel meals; thanks go to chefs & cooks who understand & make effort to create alternative tasty, healthy meals.

• For evenings when food isn’t served, brief drive to numerous nearby eateries; call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities. Five-minute drive (or 15-min. walk) -- about ½ mile/ 0.8 km – on NJ 66 to: Ruby Tuesday  & WalMart (prepared meals or grocery shop).

• If you’ve time & inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in furnished kitchenette. Approximate drive times to 2 groceries in neighboring Ocean Township:

 -- 10 min. (3.5 mi./ 5.6 km) to Target  (2331 State Rte 66).

 -- 15 min. (5 mi./ 8 km) to Wegmans (1104 NJ 35). (Pricey but *delicious* takeout with abundant variety; also exceptional grocery store.)

• Smaller exercise room with older, working equipment.

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Free on-site self-parking.


Approximate drive dimes (distance) -- depending on traffic – to airport & points of interest:

• 50-60 min. (43 mi./ 69 km) -- Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)

• 50-60 min. (23 mi./ 37 km) -- Sandy Hook Lighthouse (Gateway National Recreation Area/ Beach/ Boardwalk)

• 15 min. (4.5 mi./ 7.2 km) -- Asbury Park/ Beach (Jersey Shore):

 -- Safe, “Snooki-free” during colder months. But winter shore, even with snow dusting, is still lovely. Brisk breeze blows yet doesn’t deter the hearty from walking the beach; bundle up & enjoy its desolate wintery beauty.)

 -- Also in Asbury Park is façade of round “Casino” building (Philadelphia Toboggan Company Carousel); if you enjoy historical architecture or just interesting structures; you may delight in photographing its remains.

Overall, a solid RI for short- or long-stay whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for wonderful detailed review on our hotel, we appreciate all the great feedback. Your suggestion for additional "healthy choices" at breakfast is well received and a promise we will see what can be done. It's always great to hear how well we doing or not doing and what we should continue to do or eliminate. Again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting relitives nearby. It is a great home away from home. Very roomy and comfortable. Management was a little slow getting some rowdy guests under control on our 1st night and it led to a late night with little sleep. If we had to get up early the next day we would not have been very happy. Overall we will stay here when we see our New Jersey relitives.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for taking time out to share your experience while visiting us. Although we have a no party policy in place occasionally there is a need for reinforcement. I am happy to hear that it didn't continue during the rest of your stay. We are extremely pleased about your "home away from home" comment which tells us we did quite a few things right and we can't wait for you to visit your second home again. "Residence Inn Neptune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schenectady
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were delightfully surprised when we found this 2 bedroom 2 bath on 4th of July weekend and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are extremely happy that we met your needs and you took the time to post for others to see. On a daily basis we strive on customer feedback and it's our main source on fine tuning their experience. The entire staff looks forward to your next visit and hopeful we can exceed the first.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Sandy the asst manager is rude and nasty. They overcharged my credit card still no refund. The hotel was full of unhappy guests at the way they were treated. This place could be ok if they knew how to treat people. Save yourself a headache stay somwhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
First, apologies are in order for an unfavorable encounter with one of our Team Member, it's not often that we were so far apart initially on resolving an issue. However after our conversation I am glad that I was given the opportunity to make things right, I hope your initial and first impression is not the last and would love to have you back in the future to see that our guest's satisfaction is priority #1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight beach stay. Close to Belmar Beach and many activities. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for the great review you posted, it give us great pleasure in knowing that we satisfied your needs and it so good to hear it. Wither favorable or unfavorable we like hearing from our customers so we can continue doing what is being done well and improve on what is not up to par. We look forward to having you back, again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Neptune At Gateway Centre Hotel
Residence Inn Neptune At Gateway Centre Hotel Neptune
Residence Inn Neptune
Neptune Residence Inn
Address: 230 Jumping Brook Road, Neptune, NJ 07753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Neptune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Neptune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.