We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for trip to the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre to your Saves list
Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Jumping Brook Road, Neptune, NJ 07753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Premium Outlets Package
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good option for trip to the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband had a recent business trip to NYC and we were looking for a good compromise that allowed us to go to the beach while he was working. This hotel provided us a good option. This hotel is located right off the Garden State Parkway and close to the Prime Outlet-Tipton Falls. It is also located close to a Walgreens, Walmart, McDonalds and Arbys. It is about a 10 minute drive to the beach. I would recommend visiting Avon Beach. There are not many options to stay on the beach. It is nice to have a good breakfast in the morning and the option to make lunch or dinner if you don't want to eat out. The hotel is relatively clean, although there were times when we were not left toiletries or the dishes were not washed. The hotel was not busy during the week, but we could hear our neighbors talking next to us. I understand that this hotel can be quite busy on the weekend and I am sure noise could be a concern with children running around. There is a no party policy at this hotel,of which you must sign a paper acknowledging this when you check in. Additionally, the beds were very hard. Overall, this is a nice hotel and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for letting us be your choice while visiting Jersey Shore, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. Your comment about the cleaning of the dishes daily makes us realize that perhaps a note to our guest that only dishes in the sink or dishwasher will receive service. It is so helpful when our guest as you take the time to let us know how we are doing and what could make the next stay better. We look forward to having you back and once again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
21
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Four-story Residence Inn (RI) -- just over 100 suites. Good quality, consistently reliable:

• Comfortable, clean, modern RI. Meets expectations of pleasant, functional, roomy accommodations.

• Good breakfasts. (Hoped for additional healthy options & more variety -- particularly for longer stays or repeat visits: Greek yogurt, whole grain breads, & greater assortment of fresh fruit.)

• Nice evening meals -- with some *different/non-standard* RI fare. (Won't say -- so surprised isn't ruined for new guests.) *Variety* is much appreciated for those with steady diet of rote hotel meals; thanks go to chefs & cooks who understand & make effort to create alternative tasty, healthy meals.

• For evenings when food isn’t served, brief drive to numerous nearby eateries; call-in order & pick up on your way home from day’s activities. Five-minute drive (or 15-min. walk) -- about ½ mile/ 0.8 km – on NJ 66 to: Ruby Tuesday  & WalMart (prepared meals or grocery shop).

• If you’ve time & inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in furnished kitchenette. Approximate drive times to 2 groceries in neighboring Ocean Township:

 -- 10 min. (3.5 mi./ 5.6 km) to Target  (2331 State Rte 66).

 -- 15 min. (5 mi./ 8 km) to Wegmans (1104 NJ 35). (Pricey but *delicious* takeout with abundant variety; also exceptional grocery store.)

• Smaller exercise room with older, working equipment.

• Free internet/WiFi.

• Free on-site self-parking.


Approximate drive dimes (distance) -- depending on traffic – to airport & points of interest:

• 50-60 min. (43 mi./ 69 km) -- Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)

• 50-60 min. (23 mi./ 37 km) -- Sandy Hook Lighthouse (Gateway National Recreation Area/ Beach/ Boardwalk)

• 15 min. (4.5 mi./ 7.2 km) -- Asbury Park/ Beach (Jersey Shore):

 -- Safe, “Snooki-free” during colder months. But winter shore, even with snow dusting, is still lovely. Brisk breeze blows yet doesn’t deter the hearty from walking the beach; bundle up & enjoy its desolate wintery beauty.)

 -- Also in Asbury Park is façade of round “Casino” building (Philadelphia Toboggan Company Carousel); if you enjoy historical architecture or just interesting structures; you may delight in photographing its remains.

Overall, a solid RI for short- or long-stay whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for wonderful detailed review on our hotel, we appreciate all the great feedback. Your suggestion for additional "healthy choices" at breakfast is well received and a promise we will see what can be done. It's always great to hear how well we doing or not doing and what we should continue to do or eliminate. Again thanks and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting relitives nearby. It is a great home away from home. Very roomy and comfortable. Management was a little slow getting some rowdy guests under control on our 1st night and it led to a late night with little sleep. If we had to get up early the next day we would not have been very happy. Overall we will stay here when we see our New Jersey relitives.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thanks for taking time out to share your experience while visiting us. Although we have a no party policy in place occasionally there is a need for reinforcement. I am happy to hear that it didn't continue during the rest of your stay. We are extremely pleased about your "home away from home" comment which tells us we did quite a few things right and we can't wait for you to visit your second home again. "Residence Inn Neptune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schenectady
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were delightfully surprised when we found this 2 bedroom 2 bath on 4th of July weekend and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are extremely happy that we met your needs and you took the time to post for others to see. On a daily basis we strive on customer feedback and it's our main source on fine tuning their experience. The entire staff looks forward to your next visit and hopeful we can exceed the first.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Sandy the asst manager is rude and nasty. They overcharged my credit card still no refund. The hotel was full of unhappy guests at the way they were treated. This place could be ok if they knew how to treat people. Save yourself a headache stay somwhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
First, apologies are in order for an unfavorable encounter with one of our Team Member, it's not often that we were so far apart initially on resolving an issue. However after our conversation I am glad that I was given the opportunity to make things right, I hope your initial and first impression is not the last and would love to have you back in the future to see that our guest's satisfaction is priority #1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight beach stay. Close to Belmar Beach and many activities. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for the great review you posted, it give us great pleasure in knowing that we satisfied your needs and it so good to hear it. Wither favorable or unfavorable we like hearing from our customers so we can continue doing what is being done well and improve on what is not up to par. We look forward to having you back, again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stopped here as a last minute detour (which is a long story). We checked in during a massive downpour and the Front Desk clerk was so welcoming. The hotel is very nice and very clean. They're undergoing some renovations (to guest rooms) but it did not interfere with our stay.

We used the laundry room and it was very clean, as were the machines. We had some operator error(s) and Sean at the front desk was so patient with my questions/complaints. It had just been a very long time since I'd done Laundry that way.

Every staff member we encountered was wonderful. Pool and exercise rooms were clean and well cared for. Breakfast was good - hot and cold foods. Safe location and some mid-level restaurants (and shopping) nearby. Easy access to interstate.

Only complaint is that the entrance was not covered...so we got soaked when loading our luggage onto the cart.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful comments, we are delighted that we met your expectation after some difficulty on the road. Although the majority of our Residence Inn products are not designed with a "porte-cochere I will discuss your comments with owners and just maybe something can be done. It's always great to get valuable comments that we can take back to the drawing board. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre

Address: 230 Jumping Brook Road, Neptune, NJ 07753
Location: United States > New Jersey > Neptune
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Neptune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Neptune At Gateway Centre Hotel Neptune
Neptune Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Neptune at Gateway Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;