We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our Mother's Day because of their poor planning!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arirang Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar

Arirang Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
1230 Route 22 West, Mountainside, NJ 07092
+1 908-518-9733
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hibachi Steakhouse and Sushi Restaurant. We serve entertaining meals where dishes are prepared at your table by our hibachi Expert Chefs, serving fine grilled steaks, chicken and seafood delights. Have some sushi and sashimi from our exclusive sushi bars.Enjoy a drink from a wide variety of tropical flavors from our full bar. Great Happy Hour Specials! Great place for families and parties. Satisfy your senses!
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ruined our Mother's Day because of their poor planning!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We made priority seating reservations for 7:15pm. We were a party of 9. We waited until after 9pm to be seated, while all the children in the party were starving and my own mother (who has diabetes) because quite stressed and ill sitting on the staircase (there is no seating) to wait with the dozens of other people waiting.
We were finally seated, JUST as I was about to LEAVE, and we waited another half hour for anyone to take our order!! At this point, my kids were miserable and misbehaving. We finally did get to eat, but it took 20 minutes to get enough forks and plates on our table, they never brought us our hot towels, and it took forever to get drinks. To top it all off, my sister and I ordered the scallops and they were overcooked and rubbery.
I have been here many times before, and we drive past two other hibachi restaurants to get here, because we have always had good service and good food. But NEVER again will I set foot in this place. POOR management to severely overbook reservations and make people wait hours and hours! By the time we were done, it was 10:30pm and my kids were well past their bedtime. Needless to say, a BAD time was had by all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Had bad reaction to food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the hibachi and did not sit well-I won't be going back. I feel like this place is busy because the next closest hibachi is in Westfield.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Always happy with food. Entertainment is always fun. Wish they offered more discounts. We go at least once a month. Very friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“It has been many years since I”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have dined here. I don't get to Mountainside often. Just like the past dinner was fabulous. We had the Staten Island Ferry and enjoyed a sushi and sashimi feast over good conversation between old friends. We always sit in the bar area Penny and Mark are great servers.

We enjoyed ourselves so much so, other dinners stopped by our table just to say hello and introduce themselves.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first time at this particular Hibachi location and I have to say that it was very good. We normally had patronized the Gasho of Japan but our location closed down in the last couple years. So...we went in blind. We made a reservation but when our time came, they did not have a table open. Our Chef was entertaining, not as entertaining as some of the surrounding Chefs, but okay...he amused my small children and even got some of the older ones to smile. I had the filet mignon and lobster tail and it was delicous. The food is standard hibachi pricing. I have read somebody wrote that it is overpriced. $35 for filet and lobster tail, plus all the veggie sides, rice and soup...is pretty darn good if you ask me. You pay that for just a steak in some places. It was a special occasion and they treated our guest of honor in a way that was very special. Our drink service was slow, but I noticed our Server was one of like two others for about 10 tables. I would go again and again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arirang Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Arirang Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arirang Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.