We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate to your Saves list
Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Bishops Gate Boulevard, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Mount Laurel
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night here on November 23rd. We had a huge room with a fireplace and separate bedroom. The new addition is finished with new rooms but we did not get one of those. However, the room we had was great. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom sink and countertop had lots of space to put our toiletries. The carpet was a bit worn but that was minor. The WiFi in the room also worked very well. There are no ice machines since the rooms are equipped with refrigerators with an ice maker, however our ice maker was turned off so there was no ice for us.

The breakfast the next morning was very good. There was oatmeal, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurts, make it yourself waffles, cereals, muffins, bagels etc. It was a very good buffet and the new addition to the breakfast room was very nice with lots of seating.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is very close to shopping areas and malls too.

Room Tip: There is a whole new section of rooms and everything is brand new - you may want to try one of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since opening the new addition it has been in huge demand. Unfortunately since we are a Residence Inn our main business is long term stay, which means rooms may not be available in the addition based upon our checkouts. However, the only difference between the rooms is the decor. Whether you receive a room in the new wing or the existing hotel you can be sure to receive the quality and service standards as set forth by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
17
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

(Not necessarily an older Residence Inn (RI), but one that's wearing -- if my 1-bedroom suite was representative of others.)

Three-story RI (100+ suites) located by corporate/ business complex with nearby shopping/ restaurants. (Can see eateries from hotel -- across multi-lane road (Rt 38) -- but can't walk across road to access. If you're daring, attempt to dart around speeding cars bowfinger-style.) Need car to safely access eateries, groceries stores, shops.


1-Bedroom, Parking Lot View
---------------------------------------
Average space for smaller, 1 bedroom (that's not a corner suite): spacious for 1, comfortable for 2 or 3, cozy for 4.

• Kitchenette has stove if you'd like to cook -- not just reheat in microwave. (Even if you don't use cook top, nice having extra space/ countertop to spread out.)

• Large kitchen sink, but slow draining; no garbage disposal. (One of the few RIs (I've stayed at) without garbage disposals. After running dishwasher (fully loaded) sometimes sink drains quicker.)

• Separate kitchen table & desk; enough outlets for electronic gadgets.

• Free internet/WiFi. (No hardwire connection, but wireless strong/ stable.)

• 40+ channels analog TV stations; okay reception. No HD & average image quality LCD. Can precisely aim swivel TV wherever you're located in room: desk, table, sofa, kitchenette.

• Quiet room considering proximity to roads (Rt. 38, I-295, NJ Turnpike); faintly heard trucks on rare occasion. (Nothing bothersome/ distracting.)

• Quieter dishwasher (not a roaring loud one), quiet door close (not typical, loud, heavy slam of many RIs).

• Goldilocks-perfect king bed -- not too hard, not too soft -- just right. (Bedroom door opens a few inches from foot of bed -- too tight.)

• Got a kick out of room door's eyehole/ peephole "cover," which I'd not seen at any RI before. 
 

Niceties & Not So Niceties
-----------------------------------
• Guest Laundry (2nd floor): 3 washers ($1.50), 6 dryers ($1.50). (Leftmost washer demanded & gobbled an extra quarter & wouldn't return it even after pressing silver button. Wonky washer lid; "close lid" message scrolled by, but lid eventually closed properly after cajoling. Bottom, middle dryer on hottest setting didn't completely dry small load of clothes; hang-dried damp items. (Not fatal quirks, just annoyances.) 

• First-floor exercise/ fitness room: elliptical, 2 treadmills, bicycle -- with built-in TV screens. Also weight equipment & towels, wipes, water provided. (If you want to exercise during wash & dry cycles, go between 2nd-floor laundry & 1st-floor exercise room -- part of workout.)

• Computers & printer (in gatehouse seated area) to print documents & boarding passes.

• Free self-parking; no problem finding open spot.

• After work/ dinner walking area by corporate/ business complex: quiet, pleasant. On foot at "Residence Inn" sign at entry, take right on Sunburst Lane & left onto Bishops Gate Blvd.. Walk on grass area (off street) & you'll see paved walkway. As you progress, see broad sidewalk (along trees) & continue safely on sidewalk by car park, view landscaping & corporate buildings.


Petty Annoyances
------------------------
• Small drinking glasses (juice-glass size) & small, ice-cream-scoop-size cereal bowl. (Can use coffee mugs or gatehouse coffee cups as drinking glasses.)

• Slowish elevator with a squeak, going up & down 3 floors only -- no problem using steps.

• Maybe just my room: wall dings, splashes, faint carpet stains/ pulls/ separating seams -- general wear & tear. (Just heavily trafficked, wearing room that's seen lots of comings & goings. Doesn't affect functionality -- just lacks eye appeal.)

• Toilet seat wobble; don't fall in. Also, sometimes need to hold down toilet handle (for additional time) to enable toilet to fully flush.

• Sketchy functioning icemaker in freezer; made a few ice cubes 1st couple days, then self-corrected. Refrigerator was tepid (at highest setting 9); "11" was needed. Fridge also appeared to self-correct same time as freezer.

• Heavily stained ironing board cover needed replacing. (Lack of attention to details/ maintenance makes you wonder if rooms/ appliances are checked before guests arrive.)

• Hint of mildew on tub/ shower & a bit of new caulking needed along wall seams. (Not lethal problems; just would be nice if better condition.)

• Hallway heat on; thermostat read 77 degrees F (25 C) -- even 79 F (26 C) at times. Room was equally warm; needed to turn on (& keep on) air conditioner to make room habitable temperature. (AC can be loud but you become inured to it after a while; cold air from ac vent blows directly on bed.)

• Saw only 2 weary luggage carts/ trolleys (tilted wheel on 1).

Nothing earth shattering, just accumulation of petty irritations surface & put you off hotel. (Reflects poorly on RI brand, which range from poor to outstanding; you just don't know where on spectrum the RI you've booked is going to fall.)


Free Hot & Cold Breakfast
-----------------------------------
(6:30am-9:30am on Mon.-Fri.; 7am-10am on Sat., Sun.)

• Standard, hot & cold RI fare with some variety. Limited rotation of hot items -- mostly eggs, sausage patty/ ham, potato. (More alternating of hot options (breakfast wraps, egg sandwiches on whole grain English muffins, sausage hash, etc.) would be much appreciated if you're repeat/ long-term visitor.)

• Best "real" whole grain bread. (This is only 2nd RI I've visited that serves this bread. Wish *every* RI would serve it as standard.)

• Served same type of unripened honeydew melon most mornings. (Many/ all RIs put out same unripened, cut honeydew. Partially edible -- some too hard to chew.) Sometimes had sliced pineapple/ cantaloupe -- as at other RIs.

• No plain yoghurt -- just sweetened/ sugary ones. Only saw yoghurt parfait (granola, blueberry) twice; but, did have much-appreciated boiled eggs every day. (Additional "wished for" healthy choices: plain, unsweetened Greek yoghurt & greater assortment of fruit -- preferably, ripe, in-season fruit.)

• Depleted items replenished. Comfortable dining area – enough seating. (Can grab items to go (bagel, banana,..) if pressed for time & need to eat on the go.)


Free Full Dinner
----------------------
(6pm-7:30pm; Mon., Wed, & alternating Tue.)

Depending which week you arrive, you'll either have a meal 3 days per week (Mon, Tue, Wed.), or 2 days per week (Mon., Wed.).

• Standard RI evening fare: lasagna (vegetable, meat), chicken fingers, etc. 

• Typical hamburger/ hotdog Wednesdays, but excellent *pickles* (round, light-green slices); doesn't appear to be typical, out-of-jar pickles. (Pickles & real whole grain bread -- make up for shortcomings; make entire stay worthwhile. Wish *all* RIs would serve those pickles.)

• Salad (iceburg lettuce with shredded carrot, cabbage) for each meal with choice of dressings. (No tomato, cuke, peppers, etc..)

• Sodas & lemonade for drinks. Cookies, chocolate kisses, & colourful hard candy as dessert.


Nearby Groceries/ Eateries
------------------------------------
For evenings when RI isn’t serving meals or if you’ve time/ inclination to prepare meals in your furnished kitchenette, drive to nearby groceries:

• Target --  in shopping plaza on Centerton Rd., a 10-min. drive. Costco & restaurants also in plaza.

• Wegmans -- in same Centerton shopping plaza as Target. (Upscale/ pricey food haven with abundant variety of cooked meals & excellent salads -- can be less costly alternative to restaurants.)

• Eateries on Dearborn Circle (a 5-min. drive): Indian ("Monsoon" -- pricey but quality takeout), Thai, Mexican, Ruby Tuesday. (Request restaurant list from helpful front desk for takeout (or dine in) on the 4-5 days a week that RI isn't serving dinner. Plenty of diversity to suit various palates & budgets.)


Approx. D R I V E  Time (depending on traffic)
--------------------------------
• 1.5 hrs (70 mi./ 113 km) to Newark Airport (EWR).

• 45 min. (28 mi./ 45 km) to Philadelphia International Airport (PHL).

• 35 min. (20 mi./ 32 km) to Center City/ Downtown Philadelphia.

• 10 min. (2 mi./ 3 km) to Centerton Square Shopping Mall (Target, Wegmans, Costco, eateries).

• 5 min. (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km) to Dearborn Circle eateries/ shopping. (Can see across from Rt. 38, but cannot safely walk across 38 to get there -- need vehicle.)

• -5 min. to Rt. 38, I-295, NJ Turnpike (convenient location)

Driving in the area can be problematic if you're unfamiliar with no-left-turn rule, which can derail direct navigation -- causing you to drive unnecessarily out of your way until you can find a safe turnaround point (locals call "jug handles"). (At times, GPS is rendered useless, because of these forbidden turns; with familiarity, you learn your way around. Allow extra travel time initially.)


Would Prefer Newer Suites;
Older Suites a Reliable Backup
------------------------------------------
Wearing, yet solid, mid-level RI -- not high-end, not low end. (The room/ area (I experienced) could do with update/ maintenance.) Accumulation of petty annoyances may irk you after awhile or may not faze you at all.

Overall, comfortable enough for short or long stays whether traveling with family, as a couple, or alone on business. (Not a holiday destination, but solid suites, meals, services.)

I'd easily return to older suites if updated; but, in current condition, would seek better accommodations. (If none available, would return to this RI as default "known quantity.")

New section of hotel (farthest from gatehouse) is in-process. Once completed, if you can get a suite there, do. (Didn't hear any sounds from new section as it was being worked on; so if you're in older area, you may not hear a peep.)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I apologize for not responding sooner to this review. Thank you for your in depth review of our property. We have since opened the new addition and it has been a huge success. We look forward to future reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here with family on a recent Saturday night. The addition to the hotel looks to be nearly complete. Since we were there on a weekend there wasn't any construction going on. When we arrived, there was only one person working at the desk so check-in was a little slow with other people in line and the man having to answer phones at the same time. There appeared to be a wedding going on at the hotel that day so it was pretty busy.
Rooms are huge. Ours was pretty warm when we got there (temp was set at 74) but we kicked the themostat down and it cooled quickly. One bonus is that the vent is right over the bed so it kept it nice and cool for sleeping. Breakfast in the morning is pretty decent. The hotel is very convenient to I-295.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are glad that you liked your room and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again once the new rooms are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice, recently built property. Currently undergoing expansion. Rooms are clean, bright, and modern. Breakfast is typical RI fare with evening food served three nights a week. The staff are very nice, courteous, and helpful. There is a nice little shopping center across a four-lane hiway with fast food offerings and a Ruby Tuesday. Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Do be attentive to the hotel enterence off of 38...the two u-turns are far apart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again once we reopen the new addition. We are expecting to open the new wing, late November or early December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here for a short time but I can say that this is one of the best hotel I ever gone.
The room is very clean. I don't know if all rooms has a kitchen with complete appliances, ref, microwave, stove, oven, plus kithen utentils. I just felt I was at home. Pool and spa are pretty decent. Free breakfast and free internet. I wish I could have stayed here longer. Thank you Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We are glad that we could exceed your expectations. Hopefully in the future you may be able to stay with us longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is under construction - so I'll cut them a bit of slack, but not much. When it's done, it will probably be a decent place - perhaps even very nice. But right now it's only half finished - there is only ONE entrance to the property off of Rt 38. If you miss it, plan to drive up and down 38 and look for U turns or turn offs. You could do this for 30 minutes, easily, which happened to us. If you have a family, and don't want to pay for meals, it's going to be very nice - a big refrig, all suites as rooms, ovens, microwaves, etc. Just wait for completion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I apologize that you had a difficult time locating the entrance to our property. Because we are located within a corporate complex our entrance must be within the complex. We anticipate our construction to be completed mid November. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey & Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn with my 8 year old stepdaughter one Saturday night in August. I chose this hotel because they offer one bedroom suites, which I prefer when traveling with my stepdaughter. The room was small, but up to date, very clean and well stocked. The living room area contained a sofa bed and there were linens for that bed in the bedroom closet. The bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable and the shower pressure was perfect!

The only negatives were: 1) The bathroom is inside of the main bedroom. So if you're traveling with friends or family they will need to access the bedroom to dress in the morning or to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. 2) The frying pan handle was loose and actually broke while I was using it. 3) The battery in the smoke detector needed to be replaced causing the device to begin beeping intermittently during the night.

Despite these minor issues, I enjoyed my stay at the Residence Inn and will visit again if the occasion arises. There was construction going on at the hotel, but this information was published on their website, so I was aware when I was booking. The construction had no negative impact on our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the amenities met your expectations. Thank you for notifying us of the minor issues that you encountered. We do our best to eliminate them before they happen unfortunately sometimes they arise and we thank our guest for bringing them to our attention so that they may be addressed. As always it is in our brands culture to strive for excellence and being made aware of these moinor instances help us improve. Hope you and your family come see us again after the new addition is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate

Address: 1000 Bishops Gate Boulevard, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
Location: United States > New Jersey > Mount Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mount Laurel
#8 Business Hotel in Mount Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mt. Laurel At Bishop`s Gate Hotel Mount Laurel
Residence Inn Mount Laurel
Mount Laurel Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Mt. Laurel at Bishop's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.