We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rate it a four, ignore the bad review from January!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Howard Boulevard, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Weekends
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
NewEngland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I rate it a four, ignore the bad review from January!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Nice enough hotel: clean, comfy beds, friendly staff, no surpises.

Big pool and hot tub: working and in order. Fitness room looked OK, but they apologized for "it's condition" and one can drive (or even walk) to a small Health Club not even 1/2 mile down the road and use the club FOR FREE. All their machines there are in fine shape.

One quirk was the restaurant being "closed on the weekend" but then it was open for buffet breakfast...go figure. So, if you need a drink, buy it at the gas station across the street before you drive on in!

Comfy beds. Free Wi-Fi, free coffee, nearby bagel shops and Panera's in the mall about 2 miles away. TV was bigger than mine at home but smaller than at the swanky Hilton we stayed at the previous night.

Coming from rural northern New England there are two malls just a few miles away from the hotel that contain every store we have in Vermont and a few more, so shop 'til you drop!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
13
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
eastern US
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I stayed at this Courtyard for six nights while on business nearby. The hotel does a good job of offering the business basics. Check in and check out was efficient. Free wireless. Nice, basic rooms -- clean and well appointed, with a small sofa. A small fitness center (two treadmills, one bike, one stair machine, one small weight machine) and a small indoor pool. The local roads are not great for running: about the only option is to run up Seasons Drive up in the hilly neighborhood. The breakfast was fine. No dinner is served at the hotel, but there are several nearby towns with plenty of choices (ask the front desk for a map). Great location right off the freeway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

First thing I noticed is that being "Gold" doesn't really get you anything, no updrades. No corner kings were available for my two week stay. They were available, just not for that long was the impression I got. So I have a normal room which is fine. And although it was a holiday weekend and I checked in on the Sunday, a room wasn't set aside for me so I had a really bad room initially. To me, a room should have been set aside considering I use them as a loyalty member. I don't like having to change rooms after I check-in but that seems to be the norm these days. Here are some of the notable things I've discovered thus far on my trip.

- Small bathroom but upgraded to granite. No drawers or shelving under sink. I normally like this for my longer stays.

- Gym - 2 treadmills, one elliptical, and one bike. One weight all-in-one that didn't have a pin to delineate the change in weights. I had to let the front desk know that there was no remote control for the gym TV and about the pin. There is also no free weight set which should be standard for any hotel gym imho. I was also told by another guest that when the air is warm (which is has been recently) that the gym gets incredibly hot and miserable. We'll see as it was a cool day today.

- I also had several things that were in need of repair in my room and normally if I stay a night or two I don't mention aanything but longer than that and they need addressing. So the drawers needed to be held open otherwise they would fall out. They were fixed in one day. The fan in the bathroom is incredibly loud and I think it should auto turn-off in time but I'm told it's like that. So I keep it to a minimum noise level by keeping the door closed. Requested a fridge and microwave and they were immediately brought to the room.

-Curtains are torn and quite dirty. They need to be replace. Carpet is new and nice. Bed is a bit soft and I prefer the harder beds but perfectly fine.

- Pool is quite large and goes to six foot depth. It is long enough to do laps if you are a swimmer. The spa is nice too.

- Very close to highway and train although the train doesn't run on weekends apparently so this is worth noting.

- Staff is very accommodating and friendly with the exception of the Gold loyalty treatment. I didn't even get my silly elite room key card.

- Lots of restaurants nearby and everything seems close.

First of all, it's a wall controlled A/C and Heater unit. I don't care for these because they are either always on or off. I much prefer the thermostat controlled so you can get some down time from the noise of the A/C.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I cannot understand how people gave this place a good review. The rooms are depressing, the complimentary snacks are cheap and mostly non-existant and the woman at breakfast asks for gratuity.

I was staying at the hotel with work colleaugues and we were given coupons for complimentary breakfast; but why does the woman at the breakfast area want a tip? She never offered coffee when we started breakfast but cleverly came at the end of our breakfast to ask if we wanted something! I think it is very rude that she can ask for gratuity when she does nothing to earn it.

The rooms are dated and though functional, are a sight for sore eyes... The cleaners/room maids stand outside your and stalk you so they can enter the room to clean, and they all stare...

The women at the front desk are nice though none of the staff mentioned that there is a complimentary shuttle bus that can be used at one's convienence.

I don't advise any corporates to stay at this hotel as it is in the middle of nowwhere, the 'restaurant' is not a really a restaurant as the food is pre prepared frozen the re-heated trash, it has paper thin walls and only one communal computer for people to use- not reallly set-up for serious working people: and it is hardly a place that makes you feel at ease...

It is however good for those on a budget and want a room that is just bare minimum.

It would be good if other people can comment on this hotel so corporate companys stop sending their employees to this below standard hotel. (apparently the hilton is $4 more but a much much better hotel).

  • Liked — pool/spa though very small
  • Disliked — 90% of nearly everything was below standard
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed here on business in early May, 2008. Marriott charges top dollar but backs it up with great service. The Courtyard in Mt. Arlington was no exception. The breakfast was outstanding (unless your company has a contract with them, it's $9) and the service was up to Marriott's high standards. The room was beautiful and the employees eager to help. One cannot really go wrong staying at a Marriott property if your willing to pay the fare. Highly recommended for business travelers, but for those on personal travel and sticking to a budget, I'd head to a Parisippany motel for half the price.

The Courtyard also offers an exercise room that had a confusing weight machine and three cardio machines. An indoor pool and hot tub were available. Free drinks were offered on one night during the week. Internet access is free of charge. A Cracker Barrel restaurant sits across the street with other dining just a few miles away.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

Our 12 year old girls softball team stayed here for the weekend for a nearby tournament. We had a group of about 30 parents and kids. The rooms were clean, the location was good, and the hotel threw in free breakfast (which was a nice breakfast) for free. We'll be back next year!!

  • Liked — Location to our event, friendliness, breakfast, pool
  • Disliked — Only 1 computer for guest use.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Decent hotel all the way around. Stayed for business and found it easy to do what I needed there.

  • Liked — accessibility
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington

Address: 15 Howard Boulevard, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Mount Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington Hotel Mount Arlington
Courtyard Mount Arlington
Mount Arlington Marriott
Mount Arlington Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Rockaway - Mt. Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.