We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pub 199

Pub 199
199 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856-1314
(973) 398-7454
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great seafood, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

No Credit Cards Accepted ..cash only..that being said steamed clams, lobster, snow and king crabs..excellent. side of baked potato or fries..Also have steak burgers salads. .This is a no frills type of place..huge bar area with at least 20 flat screen tv's. Themed room of Al sorts of fish hanging in one of room and wild animals on the other

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Clams, Clams, Clams...yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A local gem!

$10 for two dozen clams by themselves or $31 for two dozen clams, King Crab legs and a baked potato. Clams are succulent, cleaned perfectly; Crab legs are soo sweet and cooked perfectly....no dry pieces.

I come here when I am in the mood for clams and crab legs.

VERY casual - good for families.

Advice - come at odd times (middle of afternoon is the best time - 3pm).

I ALWAYS come back when I am traveling through north Jersey. It's one of my favorite restaurants!

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This restaurant has awesome food and a great atmosphere. Glad. To see them back. I know everyone goes for the seafood but the burgers n steaks are great as well

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cash Only for Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

For a table of 8, we sat and were served very quickly. The restaurant is huge. They certainly cater to the masses and are comfortable with large parties. The dining hall is very basic with lots of animal heads on the wall. The same can be said for service. The service is sweet and basic with a lot of great food. Our server was nice with just the right amount of attentiveness.

A small bottled water, the only form of water they serve, costs $2.50. So if you're thirsty; drink beer.

They will bring steamed clams as quickly as you place the order. I think the steamed clams are ready to go from a "steam table" in the kitchen, because they arrive fairly quickly and are lacking all their clam liquor when they arrive to the table. Nonetheless, they are piled high and a great share for table.

We ordered several combo platters to share including 2 lobsters platters, 2 snow crabs, 2 king crabs and appetizers like poppers and chicken wings. Afterwards, we added 2 more dozen clams. The poppers were previously frozen (think Sysco Foods), and the chicken wings were standard. Nothing special. The king crab was my favorite. It was sweet and more meaty than the snow crab. The lobster was good, but next to the crab, lobster took 2nd or 3rd place.

Go with a big party and get the seafood. Wash your hands really well, but they will probably still smell like seafood the rest of the day. Call it a souvenir.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“mixed opinion.. good, ok, and a so-so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

As usual, when looking for a restaurant in an unfamiliar area, we check TripAdvisor Pub 199 had rave reviews and we can see why. The portions are big, steaks huge and the service is fast and pleasant. On the other hand the large steaks could use a bit of flavor, or taste, they are broiled in an electric commercial broiler which doesn't char, a bit of seasoning, a little salt, pepper, season salt, or the like, would have been welcomed. Again, the Lobsters are big, but filled the plate with a half inch of water. The best part of the meal was the "appetizer", two dozen steamed clams with butter, perfect, I should have skipped the steak and had two orders. There is a one drink minimum per person (huh?) They only take cash and probably make a good buck with their ATM, which is ok, to help keep the prices down. Some of us had a few other nit picky things But bottom line we'll be back... want more clams.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pub 199 also viewed

Mount Arlington, Morris County
 
Mount Arlington, Morris County
Mount Arlington, Morris County
 

Been to Pub 199? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pub 199, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.