We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We recently held our regional meeting at this hotel and had a wonderful experience! Linda was so great to work with, I never had to worry if things were taken care of. The price was great, and the hotel included all AV and breakfasts in the rental cost of the room, which is a nice and rare surprise. The hotel location is great - close to plenty of restaurants and things to do. We had a fantastic experience, and all of the sales reps were happy with their stay as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review . As you can see we make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay this should be like your home and always with a smile. I am very happy your meeting was a success, and you shouldn't have to worry about anything. I hope you come and see us again for your next meeting.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
21
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami,FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very nice. Breakfast buffet was good. They had eggs,fresh pancakes, fresh cinnamon rolls basically a lot to chose from. They also have a Cracker Barrel next door and a Dunkin Donuts so it is very convenient.

The down side was the AC seemed to make my girlfriend and myself sick. Our throats were hurting after we left. We spoke to other friends staying in the same hotel and they said the same thing. The beds were also to firm, and thats coming from a person who likes to have a firm bed. The pillows were annoying with the soft and hard labels. If you grab the wrong one to sleep on it makes your neck hurt.

Besides that it is not a bad hotel to stay in. It just needs some minor improvements.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We Appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. this feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction. We would like to apologize for the issues you experienced in regards to your room ,we will look into the AC as we have installed a new system our hotel is now green energy which helps our environment. as for the pillows and mattress this is a standard for the holiday inn so I apologize for your bad night sleep, I hope you will come back to see us again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The location is the best reason to stay here. Very close to NYC.

Reception Staff is sub-par and can use some friendliness and smile training.

The cleaning service was very spotty, the worst I've seen compared to other holiday inn X. Sheets were not changed as requested, sometimes service was not even performed, leaving us to request towels, sheets, garbage disposal, etc.

I don't see this place improving, based on some of the other negative comments placed on this and other sites. They say sorry, but I do not think they mean it.

Will I stay again, yes, because of the location. But maybe I will try the other motel across the street first.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the cleaning staff room. They are extremely loud in the morning and will wake you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We Appreciate that you took the time to share your review of your recent experience at our property. This feedback is very helpful to us as we establish our best path to providing successful guest satisfaction.

We would like to apologize for the issues you experienced in regards to the room you received . We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of the quality we are know to provide in our guests rooms.
As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, We want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our Management team to review and make necessary improvements accordingly.
Through we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When I read some of the reviews and saw Trip Advisor give this hotel a 2.5 star rating, I was nervous about staying here. I stay in hotels all the time and quite a few in the Newark area. This place is seriously underrated. I would put it as a solid 4 star Holiday Inn. The property is located in a very quiet area, maybe two blocks off the highway, less than 1/2 mile to the Arlington train stop. There is a Cracker Barrel literally a few steps outside the hotel door, Dunking Doughnuts in the parking lot and another quick eats place called Wingman which serves fries/wings. There is also a nightly manager's get together with food served and morning breakfast included.

I think some of the negative reviews on here were under old management given their dates. Multiple staff here everytime I was at the building. Building feels very safe, is very neat/clean and well maintained. Check in couldn't have been any easier. Internet is fast, no knockoff the entire three day stay.

I was on the third floor, large room, microwave, mini fridge with a freezer, fold out sofa bed, king sized bed, desk, and large tv. There's a nice divider between the couch and bed to give a little definition and privacy to the room. Also has a nice recliner in it. Room is not cramped. bathroom is large and well maintained with plenty of counter space. Room carpet looked to be fairly new as did the couch. Linens very clean and changed daily along with the towels. Bed was very comfortable, choice of hard pillows (4 on the bed and extras in closet). Another pet peeve, there were actually plenty of hangars in the closet. Normally you only get four or five, at least 12 here.

Heard no noise through the walls despite hotel being pretty full. If you want other things to do and are here with a family, this is very close to the large tourist lake, maybe 10 to 15 minutes. Also, CVS, Wal-Mart, shopping mall (Kohl's and other stores) are about 2 miles down the road. Come out of the hotel and turn to the left and that road will take you right to the mall and stores (highway 46). If you have business to do in Morristown, if you don't hit traffic, you are about 11 miles away. The highways around here can be a bit tough though so leave extra time. It's also about an hour 20 to NYC but would opt for the train just 4/10 mile up the road.

Plenty of restaurants within 2 miles. If you have kids, there is a Davy's Hot Dogs just up the road. Not bad, not great, kids will like it. Cheap - $2 a hot dog. There is also an Outback, Friday's and the typical fast food (McDonald's and Taco Bell) all within the 2 mile circle.

There are a few things I think could be changed to make this a top property, first - coffee. Holiday Inn insists on using cheap coffee and never gives enough creamers. It can't be that much more for a Starbucks coffee filter pack. The coffee is weak and tastes horrible. Second, the gym here is in serious need of an update. The gym consists of three machines - a treadmill, bike and cross trainer. The cross trainer was broken and I couldn't get the bike to turn on. The treadmill is out of sync, as well. It registers about 2.5 mph faster than what you are actually running. Rumor has it, they have access down the road to a gym, but I as a guest at the hotel don't necessarily want to travel down the road. For a small investment, they could upgrade this for the guests. It seriously needs help. Third, the shower heads are bad. They work, but could be much better. it looks like some upgrading was done but these never were. These are small things to complain about, but if you spend a lot of time in hotels like I do, you look for things to make you as comfortable as possible.

I would come back here again if I am in the area without hesitation. Was very surprised and very happy with the property and stay.

Room Tip: I was in room 312, close to elevator but not too close. Would avoid 214 or 314 as is directly acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you Very much for all the time you spent in giving us a great honest review. We are very proud of our hotel and work very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and Happy with a SMILE:). as far as the coffee I will check into the reason it was weak and creamers we try to make sure it's always full. We are in the process in upgrading thing in all rooms including the GYM. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had to cancel my reservation due to change in my business schedule at the last minute and received a full refund. The staff treated my with respect and helped me despite being originally required to pay for the room in full even if I canceled. Further, others at my company who stayed at the property have been pleased many times with their staff with no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We try to make our guests happy as much as possible. We all know there are time things change. So why make it more difficult, We want you to return and be happy and we will be waiting with a SMILE:)

Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Do you enjoy being driven out of your room at 1:30 AM by a general fire alarm in the hotel?
The night desk clerk scorched a pizza in the microwave in his back room which filled the entire first floor with smoke which activated the alarm system.By the time the excellent local Fire Dept had blown all the smoke out and re-set the alarm system,it was 3:00 AM.The desk clerk had initially advised everyone to return to their rooms while the alarm was still sounding and the first floor filled with smoke.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
First Please let me Apologize for your inconvenience, and everyone is ok (Thank God it wasn't a real fire) Sometimes traveling opens our eyes to everything that can happen in life. and make's us more aware of our surroundings. I hope you will be in our area again , please let me know and I will take care of you.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

everyone very friendly and went out of their way to help with everything. went out of their way to help us keep our dresses for the wedding nice and unwrinkled. Karin and Linda were especially helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your Wonderful Review. We are so happy you had a great stay with us, This is a very important day and we try to make sure everything goes as smooth as possible and always with a smile :) hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Linda Dora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area

Address: 176 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Mount Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt. Arlington, New Jersey is located in the hub of Morris County and conveniently located at exit 30 off Interstate 80 near Rockaway & Parsippany NJ. The Holiday Inn Express Mount Arlington is ideal for your travel needs whether for business or pleasure. Each of our guest suites features include free high-speed Internet and free local phone calls. Take advantage of our 24-hour business center then unwind in our soothing hot tub or relax in the sauna. Or just workout in our fitness room after a long day. Start the day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast including our signature cinnamon buns. Our meeting space and outstanding service makes the Holiday Inn Express Mt. Arlington's meeting center perfect for hosting that special event or business meeting. Whether your visiting Mt. Arlington, New Jersey to shop at the International Trade Zone or relaxing at Lake Hopatcong, the largest lake in New Jersey or visiting some of our local companies like BASF, M&M Mars, Lucent, Siemens or Rudolph Technologies the Holiday Inn Express will meet whatever your needs are. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express when you visit Mt. Arlington, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mt. Arlington
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mt. Arlington Hotel Mount Arlington
Holiday Inn Mount Arlington
Mount Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.