We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel, staff was unprofessional” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel, staff was unprofessional”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was very cleans and the rooms were a great size. The room I was in had a King sized bed along with a pullout couch and refrigerator. Be warned that the rooms darkening blinds do not shut all the way, so if you like your room dark you won't get that here.

The staff here was so unprofessional, when I went to check into the hotel I had to wait 15 minutes for someone to come to the front desk. There was just no one at the desk. When the woman finally arrived she was unapologetic and she seemed like I was inconveniencing her. I was also woken up 3 times by housekeeping starting at 8:15 am. I kept telling the woman not to come back, but all she could say was "I don't speak English". When I finally called the front desk they said they would do something about it and hung up. Needless to say that I couldn't get back to sleep and left immediately.

Probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear dks61885,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving a review. We are happy that you found the hotel clean and room size suitable to your needs. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel check in staff and housekeeping staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Your privacy is important to us and it is unacceptable for anyone to enter your room without announcing themselves. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to mount Arlington.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    30
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
16
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well kept and clean Holiday Inn Express in Mt. Arlington NJ. Stayed there for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised. Very clean and large room. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was free. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Stay at the end of the hall. Hotel was very quiet. A/C stayed at one temperature only draw back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stop at this Holiday Inn Express. The room was immaculate, the bathroom exceptionally clean and plenty of hot water. The staff was well dressed, very cordial, and breakfast was a wonderful way to begin the next day. There was a great variety of warm and cold foods available along with a variety of warm and cold beverages, the serving counter area kept continuously clean, and the day manager visited with guests to ensure their needs were met. The hotel is well situated next to I-80 for people heading into and from New York City or, like us, heading up towards Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

After traveling all day and visiting with relatives this hotel was the perfect stop over. The hotel is located right off I 80 in a very nice area. There is some shopping and a good choice of restaurants nearby. check in was a breeze. Staff was friendly and helpful... Our king room had a jacuzzi and a working fireplace. It was very large and clean. Bathroom was a good size and had lots of nice towels.... The main areas of the hotel were clean and well lit....Breakfast is included in the price... There are hot and cold choices along with assorted breads and pastries. There was also a pancake maker..(which was fun). Coffee, Tea, juice along with Hot Chocolate is also available... Breakfast staff were again friendly and very helpful...I would stay here again if I'm in the area...

Room Tip: King room with jacuzzi and fireplace was very nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a great hotel and a great location. very nice rooms, internet works great, breakfast is great and evening reception is a full meal too. best part is the management and staff, very friendly and helpful. greeted me at the front desk by my name the day after check-in. i would recommend this highly for family or business trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

A group of friends and I stayed at this hotel before going over to the New York International Auto Show in New York City. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The selection they had for breakfast was pretty good too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This location is convient off the interstate with plenty of places to eat within a very short walking distance. The hotel is clean and very comfortable. The staff welcomes you with a smile and are very helpful. My only complaint is that the breakfast area is a bit small so get their early. Other than this it was great stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area

Address: 176 Howard Blvd, Mount Arlington, NJ 07856
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Mount Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt. Arlington, New Jersey is located in the hub of Morris County and conveniently located at exit 30 off Interstate 80 near Rockaway & Parsippany NJ. The Holiday Inn Express Mount Arlington is ideal for your travel needs whether for business or pleasure. Each of our guest suites features include free high-speed Internet and free local phone calls. Take advantage of our 24-hour business center then unwind in our soothing hot tub or relax in the sauna. Or just workout in our fitness room after a long day. Start the day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast including our signature cinnamon buns. Our meeting space and outstanding service makes the Holiday Inn Express Mt. Arlington's meeting center perfect for hosting that special event or business meeting. Whether your visiting Mt. Arlington, New Jersey to shop at the International Trade Zone or relaxing at Lake Hopatcong, the largest lake in New Jersey or visiting some of our local companies like BASF, M&M Mars, Lucent, Siemens or Rudolph Technologies the Holiday Inn Express will meet whatever your needs are. Stay Smart. Stay at the Holiday Inn Express when you visit Mt. Arlington, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Mt. Arlington
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Mt. Arlington Hotel Mount Arlington
Holiday Inn Mount Arlington
Mount Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.