We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi / oriental food paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minado

Minado
2888 Rt 10 West, Morris Plains, NJ
973-734-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sushi / oriental food paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I truly miss this place. Used to live within 25 minutes of it and visited about 6 times a year. Yes it is pricier than other establishments but you can't enjoy the kind of foods like this anywhere else. I would definitely go here again just wish Minado was here in Florida, near Tampa area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanhope, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not just another Asian buffet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I love going to this place. We always leave uncomfortably full because we have to try everything. As far as buffets go, this is upper echelon. Sushi selection is varied, fresh and tasty. Plenty of interesting salads. Soups, noodle dishes, teriyaki, fried fishes round out a smorgasbord that leaves little to the imagination. Yummy crepes or soft serve green tea ice cream are my desserts of choice, but there are scores of others. You do need to bear in mind that it is a buffet and that the food is prepared in quantity. Don't expect every selection to be the perfect temperature or made to your exacting specifications and you should be fine. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You think buffet and then think buffet sushi and cringe right? Well at least I do. I absolutely despise a buffet but Minado came so highly recommended by a sushi enthusiast that we had to try it. Incredible! Fresh, fresh and fresh is an understatement. That sushi doesn't sit for 6 seconds, moves incredibly quickly. Great ingredients, prep and the options are overwhelmingly awesome. They have such a variety on the buffet line of other non-sushi items you won't know where to start in order to try a little of everything. The service and staff here are so friendly and pleasant! Super clean, beyond reasonable pricing and quite the value for the tremendous high quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love Minado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Minado is about an hour-plus from me but I take several pilgrimages per year. We celebrated Father's Day this year at Minado; three generations. Whether you like sushi or not there is plenty from which to choose. I like the specialty rolls, the salmon with cilantro and the oysters.

Considering my appetite for sushi, this place is a good deal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must for sushi lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Always make a point of dining here when I'm in New Jersey. The food is fantastic! Excellent value for money, and very friendly staff. Well worth a visit

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minado also viewed

Morris Plains, Morris County
Morris Plains, Morris County
 
Morris Plains, Morris County
 

Been to Minado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.