We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great - with a few comments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Chestnut Ridge Road, Montvale, NJ 07645 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely great - with a few comments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel could not have been more accommodating on short notice for a small group. Thank you to Joe, Mike and the entire staff.

The property is relatively new and spotless. Our room was great: clean and fresh without any of the funky hotel smell. Everything in the bathroom was in good working order. Our visit was during the mid week, and it was quiet and comfortable. There were more than adequate locations for our small group to get together at the end of the evening. We will certainly come back to this hotel in the future.

Of my comments two things of note, neither of which should be show stoppers to anyone. The guest rooms are appointed nicely, but some have a double door entry to the bathroom with a 1 over 1 raised panel on each of the two doors. The upper panel in each door is opaque beveled glass of approx. 8"x30". It looks great! But as a bathroom door it's a little weird. Yes it offers privacy, but not what we're accustomed too. My other comment is about breakfast. The hotel operates a "bistro" for breakfast. It's supposed to be some altered version of a local NY Deli. It's OK, but I miss the standard unmistakable Marriot breakfast buffet, even if it did cost a few more bucks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back near the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Rad 1955,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel as well as our staff. We have just completed a whole remodel of the hotel as of June 2014. We are happy that you enjoyed all the new touches that we added to the lobby as well as to the guest rooms. As far as The Bistro, it is a great concept, everything is made to order, as well as you can get Starbucks coffee! Also, we offer Starbucks coffee 24 hours a day at the front desk, so after you get done with a hard days work, there will be a nice hot cup of coffee and smiling faces when you get back. Thanks again, and we hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
15
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Once again, Marriott did not disappoint. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom looked like it had been remodeled fairly recently with nice, updated fixtures. The beds were comfortable and despite having several wedding parties there, we never heard a peep outside our room at night which is unusual for our family of light sleepers. Really nice stay - we will definitely be back when we find ourselves traveling in this area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Tallyho123,

Thank you for your kind response. We have passed your comments about the room onto our housekeeping team. They do work very hard to ensure that each and every room is cleaned to the highest standards. I am glad that you got to see how nice the hotel looks after our recent renovation. We do hope to see you again real soon, if there is anything else we can do for you please do not hesitate to let us know. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you're seeking a comfortable business hotel in the Montvale or Woodcliff Lake area, this is it. Recently remodeled with great food. Pros: excellent service with a smile everywhere, great food and drink at Fire and Oak, comfortable lounge seating areas and upgraded rooms. Cons: parking not proximate to lobby, long walks to rooms (probably good for business types sitting at desks), and somewhat awkward and not highly refined bathrooms. All said though, a nice refuge at a great price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Theron. T,

Thank you for your kind response! We do take pride in such a great hotel that we have to offer. Having Fire & Oak on premisis is a huge advantage to us. It is one of Bergen County's finest restaruants and always has an active crowd. We appreciate the nice comments about our service as well. We have a dedicated team here in Montvale and we want to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant, enjoyable experience. If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to let us know. Hope to see you soon Theron!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a clean, well-maintained property in the company of some pricey neighbors like BMW of North America. The young desk clerks were efficient but the was a supervisor with them. The rooms are typical Courtyard-large: plenty of space. Ours included a nice couch. No minibar, but there's a nicely stocked snack nook behind the front desk with soft drinks, snacks and microwave meals. There's an attached restaurant/bar that was loud and hopping the Friday night we checked in. We didn't eat a meal there and our breakfast was a basic buffet affair for the wedding we attended so I can't say what the full breakfast bar is like. On our way back we stopped at the Garden State Plaza mall for brunch and stayed there the rest of the day.

Room Tip: If the weather is nice and it's a weekend, you might hear people congregating and talking outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontvaleGM, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Tommio,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel! We are conveniently located right off the Garden State Parkway on exit 172. We are glad you were able to service you as you stayed here with BMW. Thank you for your comments as well regarding our front desk team. We have a very seasoned group who are completely dedicated to providing the best customer service around! Thanks again and we hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked a room for two nights recently and the stay was rather disappointing. The hotel is somewhat typical of the Courtyard format, but the common areas have the potential to be much nicer. The welcome desk is larger, but the staff seemed to have difficulty checking me in. While I have had Platinum status for years, the system simply would not recognize the reservation and connected credit card. It literally took 15 minutes. While the staff was apologetic, it was a pain.

The room was adequate, but the AC unit ran constantly and was loud.

The common area has the potential to be very nice, but the restaurant (breakfast area) was draped in curtains, behind which were stacked boxes and supplies. Breakfast is served via a buffet which looked rather sparse. I did not partake, but would likely have opted out as the presentation was not well done. The coffee station was untidy and there was no unflavored cream anywhere to be found. I literally could not leave the hotel fast enough to find decent coffee.

I completed a survey on the Courtyard website and received an email from the property manager committing to improve the points above. Since I am a Marriott loyalist and generally favor the Courtyard format, I will give it another try. If there is no improvement, I will continue staying at the Hilton Woodcliff Lake.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 7/4-7/6-2014

1) Religious Conference taking place. Attendees converged throughout the whole hotel. Checked in and was given a room on the 2nd floor next to the conference room. Attendees occupied the hallway and the noise level was ridiculous. Went to management and was rectified immediately and given a new room.
2) Apparently, the conference attendees were a higher priority than other guests...they took over the lobby and pool area. They played religious music and left all their garbage behind in the pool area. When their wasn't enough seating they took it upon themselves to take indoor chairs out to the pool area. I was left wondering who was actually managing the hotel. The people who booked the conference or hotel management.
3)I was assured by management that the attendees would be checking out by noon the following day and was anticipating a quiet day after a day of chaos. However, when I woke up the next morning and noticed that the pool area was still a disaster. The pool water was murky and clearly not chlorinated for today. I immediately addressed this issue with management only to be told that they didn't know when facilities/housekeeping was coming in for the day(the lobby was also a disheveled clearly not tidied up). I also then found out that the attendees would not be leaving at noon that they were having a BBQ for a 100 + people in the pool area, which is a small area. Leaving once again other guests thrown to the wayside.
4) Clearly, there is a miscommunication from the owner of the hotel and middle management. Middle management was left in the dark just as much as I was as a guest.
5) My only positive experience throughout my stay was with middle management (behind the desk). Kudos go out to Michael and Irene. They did everything within their power to accommodate me.
6) The end of my experience is this....I wound up checking out and going to the Park Ridge Marriott, which was all the experience I expected from a Marriott Hotel. Lesson learned...beware of the franchised out Marriott Courtyard. They do not have to uphold the same standards as a corporate Marriott. As the front desk clerk at the Park Ridge Marriott said and I quote if you don't see a portrait of Mr. J.W. Marriott hanging in the lobby it simply is not a Marriott.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In mid-June, we stayed at the hotel while attending a convention at the Metlife Stadium. We reserved 5 rooms and asked to be in the same area. 2 rooms were on the first floor next to each other, 1 room was on the first floor, but down the hall and around the corner and down another hall, the remaining 2 rooms were on the 2nd floor. The first floor rooms had lovely patios facing the pool, but we were unable to sit outside as the doors were bolted and no chairs were available. Ants were the only things able to get in and out the patio door. The front desk staff were rude and did not even look up from the computer to look the customer in the face when checking in. In fact it took us almost 20 minutes standing at the front desk to be registered. I cut my leg the first night and got blood on the white duvet. I dabbed it with cold water, but the stained duvet remained on the bed during our 3 day stay. Sheets are not changed daily, but every 3 days. They ran out of room towels all 3 days. Breakfast for the convention crowd was served in the hallway, which was great for us, but disturbed the guests staying in the rooms along the hall. Breakfast was ample and fresh, but the powdered eggs were really, really bad. Disturbances of people running and screaming and playing in the halls during the early morning hours (1am, 2 am) on both the 1st and 2nd floor had to be reported. A cell phone was dropped on the floor in one of the conference rooms, and it was found the following day on the floor under the table. Were the rooms even cleaned? A purse was left in one of the rooms at checkout, but trying to obtain it was a nightmare and unsuccessful. The person we spoke to in housekeeping was extremely rude and did not listen to the fact that we had left the purse hidden under the mattress of our bed. They were too busy telling me that their "girls don't steal". Stealing was not the issue. As far as I know the purse is still under the mattress, which makes me question whether the sheets were changed even after we checked out. Air conditioning complaints got a "give it some time" response and we had to go out to buy a fan to keep the room cool enough to sleep in for 3 nights. We were told there were no other rooms to move us to. However, after we personally cleaned the units air filter, the unit did work much better, but still not adequate to cool the room sufficiently. While using the baggage carts, we were insulted by a man sent by the front desk to "assist" us. The occupants of the 4 rooms all arrived via 2 vans and luggage needed to be sorted out. After being told that the man was very busy and didn't have time to put the luggage on the cart according to the room it was going to, he just threw the items on the cart and then became frustrated when the cart wouldn't move correctly, cursed and stomped inside. We were then left with the mess he had made. The kids enjoyed the pool and since we had a handicapped child with us, the handicap access into the pool was a god-send.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale

Address: 100 Chestnut Ridge Road, Montvale, NJ 07645 (Formerly "Holiday Inn")
Location: United States > New Jersey > Montvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated hotel from the ground up. A very unique and contemporary courtyard with a signature restaurant, "Fire & Oak." We offer complimentary high speed Wi-fi in all guest rooms and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hotel Montvale
Courtyard Montvale
Montvale Marriott
Montvale Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott, Montvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.