We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raymond's

Raymond's
28 Church St, Montclair, NJ 07042-2702
973-744-9263
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 177 Restaurants in Montclair
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The only negative that we had was a 20 minute wait to get seated. The service and food were great! It's the typical noisy dinner so might not be a good place for a business meeting. I will come here again when I'm in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    72
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have visited Raymond's a number of times in the last few years. I have always enjoyed the food, service is generally good. Last time I visited I had The Most Amazing spicy hot chocolate with homemade marshmallow. There were two problems firstly how had I never had it before -I had been missing out and secondly it was the last day of my holiday so I can't have another for a long time :(

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love Raymond's! Always can find something enjoyable. Actually had the asparagus and mushroom quiche for dinner Saturday night and it was terrific. Had the risotto balls also for appetizer...they are yummy with a kick. Love their lemonade and lime rickys too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We used to visit Raymond's for brunch and it was always delicious. Loud, but delicious. We had been there a few times for dinner over the years and it was good. Last week we went back and were very unhappy. I ordered the meatloaf which had very little taste. My husband ordered the fried chicken, which we were both excited about, but which also came with no taste.

Two friends of ours went two days before us and mentioned they had the same experience. I think we're done with Raymond's. There are plenty of other places in Montclair that have delicious food with taste and they're not as loud. I feel like Raymond's has jumped the shark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved this place. Had a great egg white omelet. The fries were too good to pass up. Wanted to try the deep dish blueberry pie but were too full to try it it looked amazing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond's also viewed

Montclair, NJ
 
Montclair, NJ
Montclair, NJ
 

Been to Raymond's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raymond's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.