We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuban Pete's

Cuban Pete's
428 Bloomfield Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042
(973) 746-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 181 Restaurants in Montclair
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish, Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nicely decorated restaurant with outdoor dining. Food very good with really interesting side dishes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    123
    62
    32
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It was ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a good time only because I was on my first date.....but I kinda felt awkard because I had to scream across the table to be heard by my date. Food didn't really have any flavor to it. And I felt like there was no liquor in the drinks ....and Im not really a drinker. Overall I will not be returning to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sangria and Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After my NJ-based sister N. saw our dinner pictures at Bairrada in Mississauga, she immediately suggested that we should try Cuban Pete's Restaurant in Montclair, which has a better concentration of good gourmet restaurants compared to Livingston and East Hanover, the area where she lives. Cuban Pete's has a very nice setting that makes you feel like you're at the same time in Havana and inside a theme park restaurant.

I don't think it was just because it was Mother's Day the day we went, but Cuban Pete's was packed. There were many waiting to get a table and we finally got ours after waiting for 30 minutes. That's actually not bad.

We ordered Cuban Pete's signature Sangria to drink. It came in a pitcher with apples, oranges, and citrus and we had to stir it. The alcohol content of the drink is only 0.5% so it was good for my parents and niece.

We opted to just order three main courses so that we could try more of Cuban Pete's signature tapas. This way, we would be eating just enough at the same time be able to sample the specialties of the house. By this time, we were already fully aware how enormous American servings are. For tapas, we ordered Chicharon de Pollo (chicken lollipop), Bocaditos de Sandwich Cubano, Masitas de Puerco (Crispy pork), and Chorizo al Vino. For main courses, Nor highly recommended the Churrasco, which is Guarapo-marinated skirt steak, whatever that means, Havana-style Suckling Pig, and Paella.

We fully enjoyed this meal, perfect taste, food servings just the right quantity to avoid overeating, and in a cozy setting. This is one of the better meals in our entire trip, much, much better than Bairrada in Mississauga.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Novelty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Novel type place. Food was pretty good, wait was ridiculous. This is they type of place you go to one time and say gee it was good, it was fun but nothing is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“At Least it's Open Late”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food is so-so, but relatively inexpensive. It is incredibly noisy and crowded, but the service is good, if not attentive. If you are looking to eat after 10:00 on a week night in Montclair, it is one of the few non-diner options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuban Pete's also viewed

 

Been to Cuban Pete's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuban Pete's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.