We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Salbuen

Le Salbuen
97 Walnut Street, Montclair, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 177 Restaurants in Montclair
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It has all healthy and organic foods grown or raised locally. The food is excellent and I treat myself to a cup of hot coco and a macaroon every time! Great. They make homemade marshmallows and have good duck bacon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Menu poorly executed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The menu had an excellent selection of very interesting local and healthy alternatives. My wife and I both selected the lamb sausage with quinoa plate which included a serving of local vegetables sauteed. The leaflet on the table stated they cooked with both coconut and olive oils. When our plates arrived the only flavors that we could taste was coconut oil with the quinoa and vegetables. I ate the sausage but the veggies and quinoa I left behind. The wait person neither asked if the meal was good in general, nor commented when the plate was not eaten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do your tastebuds a favor and come here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing one of those most delicious, fresh lunches either me or my boyfriend have ever had (and we are real foodies). Everything was so flavorful and thoughtfully prepared. We had a pulled duck on mini croissant dish that was to die for. We ended the meal with an empanada with peach and red currant that the chef hand delivered to us. Lets say it didnt dissapont. We will absolutely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Today was my birthday and our daughter was taking us out on her dime!,,,we drove by Le Salbuen on the way to pick her up from the train station and said why don't we go to Le Salbuen. How happy were we. The food was fabulous . We shared an artisan cheese platter...great selections and the raisin bread Nd currant jam was a perfect combo. Two of us had the pappardelle with organic mushroom (oh my!) and my daughter had the chicken . We All shared. The plates were clean at the end of the meal. Need I say more!! Dessert trio was a bit a skimpy but delicious. A bit more would have been appreciated.

Ambience was lovely. It made you feel like you were in a little cafe in Paris.

Great find...will go again and again just for the pappardelle .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rainy afternoon delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived late for lunch, which was great, because this tiny restaurant is one busy place! The menu had one great choice after another, so my friend and I split two different sandwiches. Both were very delicious, unique creations and so satisfying. We lingered over coffee, since the lunch crowd had thinned out and made plans for returning one evening soon for dinner with our husbands who are sure to love this European-inspired restaurant as much as we did. The prices are fair, the food is fresh, fresh, fresh and so tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Salbuen also viewed

 

Been to Le Salbuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Salbuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.